Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2016
Malala tells her incredible story, painting a clear picture of her normal life in Pakistan before the shooting and detailing with wonderful honesty her emotions and commitment to her goals in the aftermath of the attack. It is an inspirational story, written in an easy and accessible style that should be read by everyone. Young teens would gain much from her writing where she admits to typical traits like laziness in the mornings, quarrels with her friends, a taste for junk food alongside her incredible drive to promote the right to education for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A very interesting glimpse into what for me is a totally unfamiliar culture.
Obviously a remarkably thoughtful family within that culture - and certainly not an advert for all things western!
The book is not of course a great literary work, but it is beautifully written by the co-writer and very convincing as the voice of a young girl whose first language is not English, but who can express herself with enormous clarity.

A very good read. Very touching but quite restrained - and not at all sentimental or self indulgent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
What can I say? Malala is a great heroine of the campaign for girls' education in the Swat Valley of Pakistan where the local Taliban sought to deprive people of their freedom and often too their lives. Malala pays due tribute to her courageous father who gave her the principles and courage to stand up to religious bigotry. The tone of the book preserves her youthful and optimistic voice. So far as I am concerned, after reading this book, she is in my 'pantheon' of heroes and heroines. And I thank God for such a wonderful person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
My words could never be enough. Read hers instead. A beautiful, uplifting and inspiring book filled with both sadness and unlimited positivity and hope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This young women should be forever admired,her story is both well told from a personal and historical perspective. I now have some insight into Pakistan's struggles , and problems.
I feel every teenage girl should at some point read this book,then only will they understand the privilege of free speech and education.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
This is a must read for every one. Having been to Pakistan in the 1980 & 1990 I can honestly say it is a very accurate picture of life in the N W F P.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I feel bad giving this book only three stars, I admire and respect Malala and have done since hearing of her attempted murder but having read similar books relating to Pakistan and Afghanistan I found much of the content to be old news. I was actually reading "Three Cups of Tea" around the time of the shooting, which also battles for girls education in this part of the world, both books are good in their own rights, however given the choice I feel Malala's book is more interesting and gives more background history of Pakistan/the taliban.

Nothing particularly wrong with the writing style, although the first 2/3rds of the book didn't engage me that well, and included a lot of Pakistani history of which I was already aware of having read similar booked before. It seemed as though after the shooting, Malala had more of an input and the writing definitely came across more as though she had written it.

I would still recommend this book, but to those who haven't read similar books before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
This is an amazing book, written by a girl,young in years yet mature in thought. It gives a clear picture of the life and hazards for a free thinking female in a restrictive culture.It also illustrates just what can be acheived against many seemingly insurmountable obstacles..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is an incredible story of an awesome young girl... also the whole of her family... and their life in Afghanistan .. and what it was like to live under the strict regime of the Taliban... It is truly an inspirational account of Malala's courage in standing up for her beliefs in the face of unbelievable adversity..heartache and down right hatred of the beliefs of others..

This is a thought-provoking..poignant..Heart -Rending book.. everyone should read this book.. I highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Great book which opens your eyes about the situation in Pakistan and neighbouring countries. Malala is a brave girl who had the support of her father. I guess, she was a lucky one, her father encouraged her to be an educated girl and did not marry her with an old guy as it happens in most cases. The book is an autobiography and describes Malala's life in Pakistan but also her life in Birmingham, UK. I am very satisfied with the purchase of the book, the price was extremely low so i recommend it to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)