Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 December 2017
Fine recording of Verdi's Requiem on CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2016
Excellent cd and excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2016
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2015
A great and sensitive performance ... wonderful soloists and "perfect" conducting ... is being much enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2015
I listen for pleasure, not technical perfection - and this is pure pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2016
My mother loved this cd and has heard a number of different recordings and been to concerts.
Must say in my opinion this is the best rendition I have heard, all four soloists are superb and blend together superbly,
Daniel Barenboim's interpretation is excellent, so many conductors take the opening far too quickly, but DM is sensitive to the music and it is breath taking in parts
If you are looking to buy a CD of Verdi's Requiem then this is the one to get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
Phenomenal Kaufmann and Harteros !!!
Barenboim and La Scalas orchestra and choire are better, than ever .Near-perfect perfomance !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2013
With Harteros and Kaufmann amongst a stellar cast of soloists, and a chorus singing, in it's native tongue, music by a composer that is in its blood, this recording is one of the most exciting, moving and 'operatic' recordings of the requiem that I've heard. I'd never have put Barenboim down as a Verdian but it is a most impressive performance that is well worth hearing / owning, and the recording is atmospheric and dynamic.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2013
Among other Requiems, Verdi's composition has always seemed like a sort of noisemaker. Interpretations have tended to display the work's extrovert nature, sometimes to the point of vulgarity. Daniel Barenboim's previous recording of this work, with the Chicago Symphony, was a true exemplar of this tradition, with blaring brass and definite extrovert nature.

From the first bars of this new La Scala disc, we hear a big difference. There's actually tenderness to Barenboim's phrasing, which builds with natural emotion that is quite moving. We notice how fresh and clear the choir sounds, caught in very good sound. Things get even better when the soloists enter. Jonas Kaufmann is full of passion and commitment that should make a casual listener stop and take note. He goes on to deliver an Ingemisco that is heartbreaking and virtually beyond compare. The rest of the soloists, Anja Harteros, Elina Garanca, and Rene Pape, are also top of the line. Listening to the quartet is the kind of vocal experience that is rare these days. I can't over-stress the conviction and sincerity each singer displays, though it's clear that Kaufmann represents the very height.

Moving through the work, we realize just how many layers of varied emotion are waiting to be uncovered. By removing the usual hysterical style, we no longer feel exhausted by over an hour of choral frenzy. Instead we witness just how much beauty and grief are in the work. I feel we are actually listening to a requiem, which is a true compliment. That's not to say that the excitement has been drained. It's simply that instead of making impact through volume and power, Barenboim makes his point by moving with a feeling of near-spontaneity that deftly maneuvers through the tosses and turns with hushed expectation. If anything, the experience is more intense, actually. There's none of the self-consciousness or gaudy phrasing that can afflict Barenboim.

In all, here is a recording that combines the height of vocal powers with conducting that makes the score sound fresh and altogether new. It's hard to countenance higher praise.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Verdi: Requiem (2 CDs)
£12.99
Verdi: Requiem
£7.49
Verdi: Requiem
£8.99
Mozart: Requiem
£6.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)