Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Created by Geoff McQueen, Give Us a Break was a BBC comedy drama from 1983 that centred on Snooker, and the series was followed by a Christmas special in 1984. Robert Lindsay starred as Micky Noades who describes himself as "an overall concepts man". He is an ace promoter, but the only problem he has is that he has nothing to promote. Enter his brother-in-law Mo Morris (Paul McGann), with one redeeming feature: his outstanding talent at Snooker.

Despite the fact that I had never seen Give Us a Break before buying it on DVD, I really enjoyed watching this series and the 1984 Christmas special as it is full of great humour as well as very good storylines for each episode, and it's the sort of show I would gladly watch again in my lifetime. What I believe helps with the enjoyment of this show is being a fan of Snooker, a game that I have watched on the telly since childhood and I still watch the game now whenever it's on.

There are two things I ought to point out for this DVD release of Give Us a Break. Firstly, the episode titles and descriptions are not listed on the DVD sleeve: the first four episodes "Heaven Sent", "A Flagpole Painter from Liverpool", "Street Wise and Nancy Free", and "When It Rains, It Pours" are on the first disc, the next three episodes "One Good Stroke Deserves Another", "Business is Business", and "Right Bad Company" are on the second disc, and the 1984 Christmas special is on the third disc (this episode doesn't have a particular title so it's titled the same as the series itself). Secondly, when the menu comes up you need to go to the "Subtitles" section to switch the subtitles off before you play the episodes if you don't want the subtitles to appear on the screen.

Overall, Give Us a Break is a really good show that gave Paul McGann his breakthrough role as Mo Morris, and also relies on great acting from Robert Lindsay as Micky Noades and all the other actors who appeared in the series and the 1984 Christmas special including Shirin Taylor as Micky's wife Tina (also Mo's sister), and David Daker as pub landlord and former policeman, Ron Palmer (David Daker's character does not appear in the Christmas special). Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Great series I am really enjoying it. it's similar to " Big Deal " with Robby Box, I am still waiting for series 2 of that to be released, but getting back to big break, well put together with lots of method actors which most will recognize from other hit tv series and films. Was'nt sure when I ordered this a bit of a shot in the dark because nobody remembers it, but its better than I thought and well worth the money. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Wow took me back to bein a teenager again. I hoped this hadn't dated and to be honest it's still a great series. I love snooker and really enjoyed it all over again, some of those tables were shocking though lol. Considering it was the first tv show Paul McGann did he was a star in the making. I'm not a lover of Robert Lindsay but his character Micky is a mix of Delboy & Arthur Daley and they both bounce of each other very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Recently bought this and thoroughly enjoyed watching it again. Can remember seeing this as a kid and was a fan of Robert Lindsay's anyway from his Citizen Smith days. Vaguely remember i think that they didn't make another series because Paul McGann didn't want to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Very happy with the quality of the recording. I only wish the series had been extended to another set of episode s!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
This is a gem I had forgotten about, I had selected episodes of this on v.h.s, and once the video gave up, it was consigned to the attic. This is a Robert Lindsay classic. A post Citizen Smith feature with Lindsay as the man who uses Paul McGann's natural talent as a snooker player to make money by taking bets against punters in the snooker halls. Don't be deceived into thinking it is all about snooker , there is always a different plot line developed in each episode. If you only know Robert Lindsay as a comedic actor, this shows a fine mixture of comedy and drama, backed up with a sterling performance from Paul McGann as the gifted player who Lindsay takes under his wing. Not in the same off beat comedy genre as My Family, but well worth a look, the clothes may have dated, the comedy has not.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Great series with great actors I never thought I would see this again but how glad I was to see it released on DVD and not just for people who like snooker this is all round fun stuff and Robert Lindsay as Micky Noades is the business.
The only thing wrong, was they never made more episodes, shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
very good series great acting from robert lindsey and at the time a new commer too tv paul mcgann . enjoyable watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
I remember watching this when i was just a lad...
It is kinda like MINDER meets BIG DEAL, and made around the same time.
Great 80`s clothes and London scenery...

Wheeler dealer Micky gambling it all on Mo`s snooker skills,
One does the work the other picks up the profit...or not.

I just cant understand why the never made more, it was set up for it.
The christmas finale ends with Mickey giving up the snooker business and eyeing up a pop dance group...

So why didnt he become their manager in the next series ??

Oh what they could have been... Uncle ;)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)