Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Fuzz
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
Fuzz
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 5 July 2015
One of my favourite finds of the year. Cool, gritty but 'sensitively' produced album. Solid, cohesive 'fuzx' of a sound. The new USA sound if DIY. If you like this, track down the other projects of Ty Segall. You can hear that the band loves what they are doing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2016
Not many albums deserve the 5 stars in my book. This one deserves 6. A proper kick up the back side your record collection needs. Riff after fu***ng riff of distorted bliss. They're influenced by the best, They are the best. Ladies and Gentlemen I give you . . . 'Fuzz'!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
A refreshing effort from Ty Segall. It's a little heavier than his usual stuff as he and Charlie Moothart draw heavily from Black Sabbath. Standout track is definitely 'What's in My Head?'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2018
fuzz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2016
Fuzzed out psychedelia from beginning to end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2016
love the album art
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2014
This album is the real deal! Not a bad track on it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
O.K. Let's look at the cover - a docile looking demon clutching a crystal ball, all face-melt hyper colours bleeding into the legend 'FUZZ'. In space. We're not talking Coldplay now.
Ty Segall and pals play it hard, fast and low end; the afterglow of late 60's/early 70's hard blues rock. Yes, there are strong whiffs of Sabbath and Blue Cheer, but also the odd hint of Zeppelin and the more psychedelic licks of Hendrix.

As with everything Segall blesses, there is enough magic weaved to stop you from just going back to the source material. A highlight for me - the Nirvana-worship of 'What's In My Head?' descending into cavernous echo then leading straight into the brutal, bludgeoning riffs of 'HazeMaze' - you can almost see the snarl on Ty's face as he sings/sneers with Ozzy-like menace. And who knew Segall was so awesome with a pair of sticks? Is there nothing he sucks at?!

The one improvement I would recommend is a little lightness in the mix to emphasize the heaviosity - their own 'Planet Caravan' if you will. All in all though, this is an excellent selection of 100% committed badass blues rock ramalama - melodic but heavy and never aimlessly meandering like a lot of nostalgic stoner rock. Highly recommended.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2013
It appears you just can't stop Ty Segall!

Not content perhaps with the more mellow track taken by his latest solo release he appears to have found an outlet for his more fuzzy side with the aptly named Fuzz.

This collection of tunes is fantastic. Musically it reminds me of early Mudhoney with a generous dollop of Sabbath psyche. Add the good old helium vocals into the mix and you've got an explosive cocktail of Segall based magic.

If you're a fan of Ty Segall but weren't fully satified with Sleeper and wanted something more rockin' buy this record or at the very least download 'Whats in my head'.

Amazing fuzzed out bliss!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2014
I heard 'Loose Sutras' track on Radio 6 and immediately Googled the band and the album.

This is excellent. I hope they grow in popularity to the size they should be.

If you like 70's style 'heavy metal' and lots of raw guitar and drum sound then this is for you.

Thoroughly recommend. Hoping this band will be omnipresent by this time next year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Melted
£11.71
IV
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)