Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Blakroc [Explicit]
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 8 August 2015
Over produced rock rap that's a bit pap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
There's no way when I first saw The Black Keys perform to a small, half-empty room above a pub in Brighton shortly after the 2003 release of their second album 'thickfreakness', that I would ever have predicted this latest artistic detour. Anyone who's followed their career and seen them live will know what a force of nature they are on stage, but until very recently the music stayed pretty firmly rooted in the blues. Maybe it was a result of working with Brian 'Danger Mouse' Burton on the 'Attack & Release' album that turned them on to Hip Hop or perhaps they were privately into it anyway, whatever - they've now teamed up with a cracking line-up of authentic Rap aristocrats and produced this gem of an album.

At just under thirty-eight minutes, it doesn't overstay its welcome but that means there's not a dull moment here. The slightly old-school rap stylings and Auerbach's finely-judged guitar playing mesh brilliantly and avoid the tiresome cliches that usually abound on other rock-rap crossover projects. There's a sense that these blues boys have a genuine feel for hip-hop and all concerned sound to be having a ball. I might be showing my ignorance of recent developments in hip-hop here but I hadn't heard the rapper NOE before and his similarity to Jay-Z is absolutely remarkable. Another revelation for me is the contribution of vocalist Nicole Wray, who I'm ashamed to say is another artist I was previously unfamiliar with and who brings an extra touch of class to every track that she features on. Also listen out for the excellent Q-Tip on 'Hope You're Happy' which makes me want to punch the air every time I hear it.

This album has single-handedly revived my flagging interest in hip-hop and I would unhesitatingly recommend it to any fan of the Black Keys, Wu-Tang Clan or old-school rap generally. Wonderful stuff!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
What surprised me the most about the 'Blakroc' album initially were the hip hop features it contains. No fake MCs that you see on the TV and hear on the radio every day, but some of the most legendary and talented hip hop stars ever including the RZA, Raekwon and the late Ol' Dirty Bastard who are all 3 of the most notable members of the Wu-Tang Clan (the best hip hop group ever), and also alternate hip hop stars like Mos Def and Q-Tip. I highly reccommend this album for any fan of either the Black Keys or Real Hip Hop. It is an excellent album.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
Ok, firstly the 1 star review is misleading. I bought the 'original' verison of this and would have given 5 stars had i done a review. Absolutely brilliant! (read the reviews for it)
I gave that CD away as an emergencey xmas present (someone id forgot!)and bought this 'new version' for myself.
As far as i can tell, its exactly the same as the original version... but the tracks are in a different order and there is one track 'Coochie', missing.
So the 1 star review is really just to say DONT buy this, but DO buy the original!
If im missing something then please let me know.
More Blakroc to come this year apparantly. Great news!
Cheers
Rich
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
When I first heard that blues rockers The Black Keys were making an album with a load of rap stars (and they are stars, we're talking rappers like Q-Tip, Mos Def, RZA, Raekwon and ODB) I wasn't sure if the collaboration would work. Yet work it most certainly does, because of the high calibre vocal contributions and equally the fact that Dan and Patrick are fantastic musicians, able to put down some dirty grooves. The first track, 'Coochie', with the late ODB and Ludacris, is the best on the album, and reminds me of New Kingdom (great but totally forgotten 90s rappers). 'On The Vista' with Mos Def and 'Dollaz And Sense' with Pharoahe Munch are other standout tracks. It's not all rap meets blues, though, as Nicole Wray makes some more soulful contributions, and 'Ain't Nothing Like You' is a track that would fit most comfortably onto a conventional Black Keys LP if Dan was singing it and not Mos Def. 'Blakroc' doesn't overstay its welcome - it's less than 40 minutes' long - and there isn't a weak link on it. In various ways, it all works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
quite simply magnificent. no fuss, no samples, all recorded in 11 days. all sounds made by the black keys, who
excel ,as always, at laying down a great musical canvas for the more celebrated rap artists to strut there stuff. check out the 11 episode making of on youtube.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
For any fan of The Black Keys, and or hip hop, blues/rock. Blakroc is one of the more inspired fusions of two genres of recent times. The Black Keys blues guitar fits well with the different rappers' styles, and we still get the pleasure of hearing Dan Auerbachs soulful voice. This album is a real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
If you like the Black Keys....you will love the genius that is this collaboration with a series of rap singers.... listen to the tunes - the Keys come blasting through... a VERY under-rated masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This is a great CD for those who love listening to jazzy rock music alongside hip-hop artists. Gone are the days of Public Enemy with Anthrax, this is nu rap with a twist. The tracks are meaty and contain great samples. Some really good baselines and lyrics along with usage of real instruments, such as jazz guitar, drums and bass guitar to name but a few.

My only gripe with this is that there should be more tracks on the album. Its a great idea but would like to see more of the same available to buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
well i wasn't expecting my two favourite music types to collide on a black keys album..but they did. lots of top guests on this, and a diverse album as a result, but certainly not weak!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)