Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

  • H.Q.
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2002
This is imaginative, free-spirited rock music at its very best. It sits alongside 'Stormcock' as Roy Harper's trio of classic lps (I'd have the live set 'Flashes From Archives Of Oblivion' as the third). It carries the same lyrical, musical and mystical weight as Pink Floyd's 'Wish You Were Here' - released in the same year. I'd give Roy Harper the edge here for the purity of the intention behind this work. An intention that is realised. Very well done, Mr Harper.
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
This is Roy in a more rockier band with a range of different types of songs that all gel brilliantly. This is often my second favourite Harper album after Stormcock though it is pushed hard by Lifemask, Bullinamingvase and Flat Baroque.
I love the band and saw them live a number of times. Roy is just at home with a band like this as he is solo performing in his 'one man rock 'n' roll band' persona. The songs are brought to life with the heavier backing.
Once again Roy marries great insighful, thought-provoking lyrics with excellent melody and musicianship. You can't get better musicians than he gathers around him. The Game is probably his second best song and takes its theme of life and society to great heights. He loves getting his teeth ino things on a longer epic. He certainly gets his teeth into Christianity and Politics. But then there are the love songs to balance it up. What better than Hallucinating Light. Cricketer has got to be the best song about death that's ever been written. Life is a game and this albums certainly enriched my life. One day it will be recognised as one of the greatest.
1313 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
I had this album on vinyl years ago and have not been able to find a CD replacement in any retail outlet. No joy with iTunes but the Amazon site came up with the goods. Great LP, fantastic memorable tunes with a couple of "live" extras thrown in at the end. Also worth listening to for the contributions from the likes of J P Jones and David Gilmour.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
This is a replacement for the vinyl version, because the truth is I never play vinyl any more... Roy Harper if you know hgim is on good form on this disc - to my mind the best of his early ones. I bought it initially for "When an old cricketer leaves the crease", which is not typical of him or of the disc. It's the authentic brass.band version of the track. Recommended to Harperists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I first used to listen to this soon after it came out. I don't remember too much about the rest of the album but the track 'When An Old Cricketer Leaves The Crease' was played almost constantly. I never tired of it, and the imagery it evokes still makes me shiver to this day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Forgot how great this album was, brings back good memories of Knebworth when Pink Floyd were the headliners, Roy was one of the class acts there, backed by Chris Spedding.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Having seen Roy Harper touring this album back in the 70s, this brought back memories. There are some stunning tracks on here, Hallucinating Light and When An Old Cricketer Leaves The Crease, incredible musicianship and Harper's very personal take on the world. He is a great artist who deserves further exploration. Excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Reviewing music is always a bit more subjective than reviewing a TV or lawn mower but, if you like the Roy Harper style, this is an excellent example of his craft. Wish I'd got it years ago. Man and Myth is also a good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
The music itself is sublime, one of his best. However, the packaging is awful. It's cardboard, with a slight indentation which is supposed to hold the disc but doesn't. For this reason it can only get 3 stars: if I could have rated the contents and the packaging separately I would have given the former 5 and the latter 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
One of Harper's best albums . With much of it characterised by a straight-ahead rock delivery, also one of his most accessable. Great value, but I'd be happier to pay a bit more if Amazon paid corporation tax in the UK and not avoid it by being nominally based in Luxemburg.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)