Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Like everything I own hat's Belkin this cable is built very well and using good materials, it's a huge step up from any second-rate copy products that still flood the market.

Anyway, all the important things work excellently; the connection is great and the strength of the outer protector is also nice and tough so it looks like it is built to last, especially the actual connectors themselves. It's only 1M long but if you have a standard set up it is perfect, with no cable clutter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Thunderbolt technology is excellent, but I think there's a reason it still feels niche rather than mainstream. It's very common for thunderbolt gadgets to ship without the cable, then the cost of the cables are jaw-dropping. This Belkin one is A1 in terms of performance, it's black which goes better with my peripherals than the Apple white, and importantly it's also cheaper than, for instance, the apple version. It's still irritatingly costly, but just not so much as the competition....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Wonderful! Delivery was prompt and as expected. The cable serves its purpose excellently. I wanted to use my work iMac as a monitor for my laptop (work aren't a fan of my cloud service and won''t let me download it). Easy to do: plug it in to thunderbolt on both machines, push cmd+f2 on the iMac and it becomes a second monitor. Can then press cmd+f1 to switch between the iMac either being an exact copy of the laptop or being a a second workspace that you can drag programs over from your laptop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Slightly cheaper than the Apple version and in a more suitable length. Plus it comes in black. Now have 2 of these cables and they work exactly as they should.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Belkin 1M Thunderbolt cable is a new and slightly cheaper option for thunderbolt users. Hopefully it is the start of a trend of thunderbolt device prices dropping; which in turn will hopefully bring Thunderbolt to the masses as the performance benefits it offers are staggering over USB3 and Firewire 800. At the moment a lot of thunderbolt accessories are priced for professional rather than home use.

Out of the box the first thing you notice is connector has Belkin written on it in bold White which you may or may not like but that aside it feels as well made as the Apple cables do. The wire has a decent wrapping and the connectors feel solid and solidly anchored to the cable.

Using it with my Belkin Laptop Dock the cable performed flawlessly; using it with an external SSD drive it performed as splendidly as Thunderbolt ever does. Watching a 200Gb copy in 20 minutes always brings a smile to my face. Using the connectors for this big file copy; they do get hot; as all thunderbolt cables connectors do - this doesn't seem to be something to worry about.

The Belkin Thunderbolt data transfer cable gives you all the benefits of Thunderbolt for slightly less money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
I agree with some of the other reviews, technically, this cable is 1m, but that is from tip to tip, the actual cable seems small. However, this works great, I actually bought it for use with the dock pictured in the item's description. I get good speeds, really I don't even notice it is there! It is of good build quality, ends seem sturdy and the rubber strain reliefs do their job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Belkin are a reputable company, and the cable lives up to standard - excellent build quality, unlikely to split, though albeit if 1 metre is a little short.

Though thunderbolt isn't quite in the mainstream yet, it's one that's slowly creeping in. With all new macs having a thunderbolt port, this makes connecting your macbook to a thunderbolt display incredibly easy - a lot of universities and colleges that have the new macs can now have these used as super fast external monitors, that will also charge your macbook at the same time.

Thunderbolt really comes in to use though for video editing, with the Blackmagic Ultrastudio and blu-ray disc burners. It all gets a bit boring and confusing with compression rates and such, but very basically, thunderbolt will transfer information a lot faster than USB 3.0 connections. It's a pity it's so expensive currently, but with apple promoting it as a standard, soon it will have more uses.

Overall, if you need a thunderbolt cable, this one is worth getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 May 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I don't have any thunderbolt hardware, but I do know that Thunderbolt as a connector is going to be big, so why not future-proof oneself now.

This works find as a current cable to connect devices such as macbook air to and output such as my Dell monitor at home. The monitor has a mini-displayport which if you're looking at this product, you likely know means thunderbolt is compatible, since these ports and cables are near physically identical.

The main difference being that mini-display port can only handle one device at a time, whilst thunderbolt is essentially like usb, in that you can daisy chain a limit of devices together using one port (and ensuring you have enough connectors!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
I bought this and already have an Apple version of he cable.
This cable does not fit tight into the Thunderbolt socket on a MacBook Air. It works but if you move the connector even just slightly you will lose the connection. Since I use a Belkin Thunderbolt Express Hub, I have just about everything connected via Thunderbolt. So this is a real problem for me. This "never" happens using the apple version. You can shake the Apple version in the socket and everything is fine. Will be sending this cable back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This cable appears to be of good quality and it certainly works fine when testing it the only way I can, which is using it to couple a Macbook Pro to a WD My Book Thunderbolt Duo external RAID device. For that purpose a one meter cable is long enough because the Duo sits next to the Pro on my desk, and I expect the length will be adequate for most users, especially because it's cheaper than the two meter Apple lead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)