Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 April 2017
This book is a revelation and an eye-opener. I strongly recommend it. Annick Cojean did the painstaking and painful research in the wake of Gaddafi's demise. What her eye-witness accounts reveal is the cruelty and depravity of the man who was all-powerful in his country and subjected his people to his perversion and barbarity for forty years. The testimony of the woman whom he abducted from her school as a mere child at a young age and held against her and her family's will as a sex slave is very moving. There is grim satisfaction to be taken from the fact that this beast is dead and his family removed from power.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Cojean has cobbled together an account of Gaddafi's awfulness which carries conviction - though in fact it is probably not only about the life of one young woman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Good book what a monster Gaddafi was!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
A book that needs more world awareness.
Leaders of all countries should be questioned on how much they had known and were thereby complicit.
I holidayed in Libya a couple of months before the uprising and was surprised to see that most women in Tripoli only wore the scarf and not the veil.
However discussions with our driver showed complete hypocrisy. He bragged about his wild life in Spain but was not prepared to even let his brothers see his wife without a veil.
Sadly corruption will succeed and, as we see, 'democracy' will only be a path used to reinstate the next pig at the trough.
Is Libya now a free democracy. Soraya, unfortunately, will never get the justice or recognition for her bravery that she deserves.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 October 2013
For many years we heard and saw words and images depicting a country under the control of an erratic dictator, who controlled Libya with a rod of iron, and hatred filled rhetoric, and most of the world seemed to offer little support, comfort or physical assistance to save him and his regime from an internal uprising fueled by Western Allies. I cannot recall much worldwide sorrow when Muammar Gaddafi was dragged from a sewer tube like a frightened rat and crudely executed by his own people.

In her book "Gaddafi's Harem" special correspondent for Le Mode, and one of France's most admired journalists and author, Annick Cojean, reveals her meticulous research into another not as yet generally widely known aspect of this horrific man's evil characteristics namely his extreme sexual appetite fueled by massive a consumption of cocaine and viagra. His perverted actions knew no bounds of decency, or compassion, only excessive cruelty and brutality to scores and scores of young women and girls who were unfortunate enough to be 'ordered' and normally forced by his pimps and procuresses to his bed. Many of the unfortunates were very young girls whom he like the look of on visits to schools and universities, and were later rounded up by his lackeys, and taken to Gaddafi's compound, palace, tent or wherever this despicable dictator was staying.

The book tells the detailed and shocking story of one such girl called Soraya who was ripped from her family having been 'touched' by Gaddafi during a visit to her school when she had just turned 15, and was brutalized, raped, frequently urinated on, and kept a prisoner who was forced to 'surrender' to 'The Guide' as he was known by his sycophants, whenever called and this was frequently. Gaddafi did not limit his demands to her, but had many such poor girls on tap to satisfy his seemingly unsatisfiable sexual perversions. His desires were not restricted to females, as he kept a 'stable'of young boys for frequent visits, very often at the same time as one or more of his female 'sex slaves'.

He was totally obsessed with sex and the submissive control of women maintaining around him a large coterie of supposed personal guards known as The Amazons, but were also expected to perform other 'duties', high ranking people in his group who acted as arrangers of girls and women for his delectation, and many other accomplices and providers.

After Gaddafi's regime had been dismantled, the author spent a great deal of time searching out others who might have suffered similarly to Soraya, not only for collaboration purposes but to paint a fuller picture of this evil man's malign influence, and she also relates many of their stories.

This is a most harrowing story of unbelievable cruelty carried out on mainly young girls, where the threat of imprisoning and torturing brothers of girls who tried to resist Gaddafi's desires, was often made and carried out, until sexual submission was forthcoming. Gaddafi also extended his 'net' to the wives and daughters of other Heads of State, and their senior people, and by offering huge riches for favours seemingly had quite some success although on more than one occasion some very potentially damaging diplomatic incidents were brushed up against.

There cannot have been a more repulsive leader of a nation ever than Gaddafi, and I commend Annick Cojean for producing this excellent account, and whilst it makes the stomach tighten with revulsion it, perhaps appeases our consciences for the military action that erased this man from our planet.

A very good, highly readable but disturbing, excruciating book.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I love human interest stories from the woman's perspective in the far/Middle East and Asia. As well as offering a very poignant, courageous account of brutality at the hands of a monster, this book offers readers a little bit of insight into a country at a time when the abuse of position of someone in great power was rife and disastrously undetected (or worse still) ignored by the worlds leaders. Such abuse of power and seemingly ongoing blasé attitude towards such torture is unbelievable and I hope that with accounts such as this will move justice to be served. A very good read that just scratches at the surface of a much much bigger issue of abuse of women in male dominated countries. In Libya and many other countries....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
I read this book with interest to start with but my anger at the sadist swine, grew page by page.
Incredibly descriptive of the appalling situation that exists for women in Libya, and the attitudes of their families when the poor women (and girls) have been sullied by any man. It was a good read and a great exposure of how horrendous life can be for the sunservient in such regimes. I am not sure that much has changed since the demise of Gaddafi.
Generally easy to read and written to keep ones interest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I enjoyed reading this book while on holiday and although the content is shocking and disturbing, the writing is not as good as I had anticipated even though it is written by a top French journalist. The book is repetitive in parts but I think that just reflects the fact that all the dictator was interested in was sex, violence and drugs. I recommend this to people interested in the middle east and tales of human suffering. If you liked the 'Princess' trilogy by Jean Sassoon you will enjoy Gaddafi's Harem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
You could actually visualise the torment and torture.
How could anyone let alone millions of people have been duped by Gadaffi. Why didn't anyone help these people.
At the end of the day it wasn't only women he abused but their families and men.
Due to their beliefs they were even outcast after all they had been through due to the shame they had brought on their families. They should have been nursed and praised for they put up with. Their suffering continues
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Very rambling and often repetitive. However a truly awful account of how vile Gaddafi was and what a corrupt human being he was
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)