Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
Bach: Sonatas and Partitas, Vol. 1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99


on 12 January 2014
Chris Thile is a wunderkind...one of the most flawlessy perfect instrumentalist alive...his Bluegrass and Fusion stuff is astonishing...however, the Bach is very one-dimensional, I think largely because of the material, it's rhythmically homogenous for a large part of the record, and as such can get a bit monotonous...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2013
Chris Thile is a master of the Mandolin and his incredible playing is shown off her to an astonishing degree. I have these pieces both for violin and guitar and have always loved them. These versions are every bit as beautiful and really recommended if you are a Bach fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2014
Have always loved these pieces of music by Bach. Came across them being played by Chris Thile on the radio one morning and wanted to hear more! Truly amazing!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Very relaxing mandolin music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2016
Top banana.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2015
Once more Chris shows his dexterity on the mandolin playing with masterly control on tone and tempo. Can't wait for Vol2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2013
Great disk by a superb artist - nothing more to say. Looking forward to the remaining volumes in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
The brilliant amazing Chris Thile. And even better that younvpcan listen almost instantly on Amazon Cloud whilst waiting for CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
As a mediocre mandolin player, after listening to this I am considering taking up bricklaying!
This must prove that Chris Thile is not of this world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
I am not a classica music buff, my interest in this album is a result of my love mandolin and Thile's paying on other recordings. I have bought other CDs on the basis that they feature mandoin and have given them very little play time, but this one is different. My own taste is bue grass and American roots music but this album is just stunning. I have istened to it four times in two days and it has just grown on me with every play.
Unlike so many classical musicians Thile sticks to his Loar Gibson which immediately brings a distinctive sound that will be familiar to blue grass fans. I would dare to say that Thile has a recognisable style of playing which is evident here despite the repetoire. There may be classical experts who can spot divergence from traditional or accepted ways of playing these pieces, but as someone who didn't previously know them I found his interpretation beautiful. Put simpy, there is nothign I could find to criticise about these recordings, they are moving, inspiring, full of emotion and leave this listener with a desire for more. I'm already looking forward to the next volume.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Bach Trios
£10.99
Chris Thile & Brad Mehldau
£11.99
The Goat Rodeo Sessions
£7.99
Sleep With One Eye Open
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)