Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
252
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2014
Bought this DVD for my son, although we are both fans. This is the only concert of Madonna's that I have not been too, and we both thought the DVD was brilliant. Even all the extras are an amazing insight to what goes on behind the scenes. Don't know what all the negativity is about. Really glad we ignored the bad reviews.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Madonna herself has acknowledged that there is a problem with the disc and it's being looked into so i'll just review the concert itself that i bought in HD on iTunes. The grain, digital artifacts and occasional blurred shots are also on the iTunes version and so i'm guessing it was either intentional or the raw footage they had to work with wasn't great. I personally don't think it works but 'i see what you tried to do there' :)

Her voice is overly processed especially at the beginning of the show and it doesn't feel live at all. I'm guessing the audio was recorded in a studio and they attempted to make it sound live - i don't know what they did but that was surely not her voice on the night! She sounds completely different on amateur YouTube videos (and better imo).

But the thing that i find most offputting is the crazy editing! It's headache inducing, you never get to see a still shot of her for more than a few seconds and i'm guessing that this (combined with the over the top airbrushing of her face) was done as a vanity thing. I understand she spent 6 months personally on the producing and it's like she doesn't want us to focus on her face for too long. In Vogue she looks like a hologram.

It's a shame because the show itself was great and there are a load of YouTube videos that caputured the magic of it far better than this official release both visually and sound wise. The opening of the show and Girl Gone Wild look much better on YouTube as you can see the incredible screens more which were a huge part of that part of the performance.

Like A Virgin and Love Spent are awesome and i really like the cheerleading section. The rest i find uncomfortable to watch because of the bonkers editing. A shame. This show deserved a much better release than this.
77 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
As a year long fan, i think that this DVD+2 CD pack recreate the live show perfectly! Recommend it to every music fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
I saw the MDNA tour in Hyde Park and was really impressed with the show - great setlist, choreography, costumes stage design etc. With this in mind I couldn't wait for the DVD and put my pre-order in as soon as it appeared on Amazon, hoping to relive the concert for posterity. Well, how wrong could I be...

I have been a HUGE fan of Madonna since I was a kid and have followed her career since the mid 80s. I have loved all her previous tour DVDs... Yes, I was a bit disappointed the Sticky and Sweet tour DVD as the sound was clearly "improved" (overdubbed) and isn't correctly synched... but it's a minor gripe compared with the mess that is this release.

Sadly in the case of the MDNA tour, the show has been hyperactively edited to the point where it has become an unwatchable mess. Instagram style filters and an inability to let any shot linger more than a few moments gave me a total headache. It's hard to make out what is happening on stage and for a show with such creativity, so much detail is lost.

How did they allow this on such a high profile release?! I do hope Madonna leaves the editing to the professionals in future. Also, minor point - it would also be good to hear her sing in a slightly lower register to suit her older voice as it sounds strained in a lot of the songs.

One for die hard fans only, but don't say I didn't warn you!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Difficult to review the whole package as it has great points and frankly truly terrible points.

The set list is great, Madonna & the crew work extremely hard and it's visually stunning, but the very obvious
"Enhancements" are awful.

Madonna isn't the best live vocal performer, but her voice on opening track "Girl Gone Wild" is very odd and very obviously enhanced or re-recorded, and the editing is really a lesson in what not to do. Did no one watch the final cut before it was pressed?

A fabulous show, but not a fabulous record of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
The quality of this release is terrible. Both image and sound are horrible. VHS-like grain and blur everywhere. Sound levels are uneven. Had problems playing the disc on Playstation 3. Not worth buying the Blu Ray edition at all...if you still intend to buy the concert despite all this, go for the DVD release.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Was lucky enough to go see her in concert in london hyde park,been everyone of them for past 14 years and she still gets better and better, brill concert brilliant songs my fave is bang bang just live it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
I've been a fan since the early 80's and can't believe this item was released in it's present format. The sound is not good enough and being a tour DVD this is disappointing and unaceptable. Technology should be improving content not imparring it. If the format was recorded for cinema release and not right for DVD don't just release it and hope no one notices. Madge needs a new record company - but being the best paid musical artist of 2012 (due to this tour) isn't going to change things. Fans miss out...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I've always found that no matter how much I've enjoyed a show, the recording can be a tad boring as there's no way you can get the same experience of the live event. This however, is excellently edited to maintain interest throughout the the entire show. The downside is that the picture quality is more like an old vhs tape than a blu-ray. Given Madonna's quality control in recent years, this is no surprise and it's a total inconvenience having to send it back.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
The show itself is spectacular but this is the worst concert release by madonna. It's too edited and you're lucky if you see her face close up because everything is moving too quickly! This was obviously made up of more than one show too as madonnas sleeves keep mysteriously disappearing during turn up the radio, which personally I find silly and off putting.

I am a huge madonna fan but unfortunately I have to be honest. It didn't help that there was an issue with the manufacture of the Blu ray version of this release which left many fans cursing! Overall. A bit disappointing really.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)