Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2017
Great to watch something in excellent detail that I first watched in London when it was released in glorious sensurround in the 1978. Brilliant even now. No need to write anything else here as others give a more in depth review regarding content. I knew what I was getting I just bought it for the memory and it was a great choice and purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Excellent Film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Couldnt watch the dvd as it was from Canada region. Cost to return almost same price as the dvd. So Im stuck with a dvd I cant watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great stuff, 125 minutes of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
As an avid fan of all things Galactica, I have given this a 3 star rating for the following reasons.
Picture quality is overall very good when you consider the origins of this title {ie] this was not intended for cinema release to begin with, hence the 1970's tv look re this print. There is some scences that are grainy and others that are a delight. My main concern is the length of the feature, which I would have prefered to have been the 180 min tv pilot version..who know we will probably see it turn up in the coming years as an another anniversary editon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
A few points about this disc. One there are no extras whatsoever. I am saddened that with the popularity of the show not even a commentary could be included from the surviving stars or producers.

The film itself is a condensed version of the initial three episode story from the TV series - Saga of a Star World. About 30+ minutes were edited from these episodes and a few extra sequences added (the death of an ongoing character in the show for example) and the film reframed to (a rather pleasing) 1.85:1 rather than a 1.33:1/1.37:1 depending on whose idea of TV ratios you accept.

This bluray features what can only be described as a wonderful transfer at full 1080p resolution which showcases the TV budget FX to the max. Whilst they could never compete with Star Wars what the team did on that reduced budget is shown here to be very good for its time. The model ships are fantastic although constant re use of the same shots in later episodes diminished their efficacy somewhat (but thats for a full series review if it materialises)

The story begins very well although the deleted material is missed. The story becomes quite choppy in its middle section before coming back for an explosive climax

I would be tempted to give the disc 5 stars for its sheer entertainment value but the lack of any extras knocks it down a point. However if you simply want to enjoy the film for the first or twentieth time it is a solid purchase especially as it was in the three for £17 offer from day one!
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Loved this film when I saw it in the 80s still love it now. Worth it for the nostalgia. Much better than the remake
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Looks about the best it ever has with the model shots appearing very clear. It's weird watching this now and remembering it was made for TV as the model and effects work was of a very high standard for the time even in films. Looks a bit creaky in indoor scenes and some of the photo backdrops are very obvious in 1080p. But to be honest you probably know that and if you're here to knock it for being made in the late 70's you probably shouldn't get this. It's very of its time, but with some great ideas and concepts, and not so great haircuts and space discos.

Really hoping they will release the whole series now in HD as this is the movie edit of the pilot which is about half an hour shorter than the TV version. However that will be in 4:3 and this is 16:9, loosing part of the top and bottom of the full frame pilot, but what we see should be of higher resolution than a full frame release if they've scanned it right - looks damn clear in most places to me.

The Sensurround soundtrack is really bassy especially if you have a sub hooked up - but that's how it was shown in cinemas.

Think of this a nice companion piece to the series if it is ever given an HD release.

It's region free and plays fine on a UK PS3 and BD player.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2000
It was always going to be difficult for the 1978 Battlestar Galactica movie (and ensuing TV series) to follow in the footsteps of Star Wars and get any kind of credibility.
Many thought this was an inferior production purely for the sake of bandwagonning the sci-fi revival. True, Star Wars 'was' better, with quirker characters, fabulous production design, a slim but gripping storyline and fantastic special effects, courtesy of ILM's John Dykstra.
Dykstra was brought onboard for Galactica and his technical proficiency shines throughout. The spacecraft are all as memorable and original as those in Star Wars (The Battlestars themselves, Colonial Vipers, Cylon motherships and attack craft), although today you'd be hard pressed to find the man-on-the-street remembering Commander Adama, Captain Apollo, Starbuck and Boomer as popular icons of the late-1970's. Moreover, the Cylons were far too corny, and even more useless than Imperial Stormtroopers.
The plot (a lost human 'tribe' looking for their Earth-based cousins) is actually pretty good and quite believable, with their nemesis being the automated Cylon Empire, dedicated to total human genocide throughout the galaxy.
Although the overall franchise had lost the plot by the time of Mission Galactica : Cylon Attack in 1980 (which was awful), the first film still stands-up as a very good example of late-70's sci-fi, but it would be unfair to continually compare it with Star Wars, which is one of the greatest films ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
The Original you might say. I've always liked this film (splicing of the first three episodes of the 1970's TV series). The characters are likable, acting is slight but well played. the special effects hold up remarkably well. It's a movie that has hardly dated yet is typical of it's televison heritage

This 70's galactica has cleaned up pretty well but suffers from no blu ray extras. It is possibly a little bit long long, sagging slightly in the middle and you can almost see the join between the episodes (The dvd has the full length 3 episode compilation), but then again The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi (and the 21st century Galactica mini-series) all have episodic parts to them. I love new (2000's) Galactica but this has a longer lasting memory for me. It also feature a host of familiar Film and TV veterans.

It wins out over the new series (just) with:

The Cylon Centurions
The Cylon Ships
The Vipers
The Battlestar Galactica (just edging it)
Muffett (& Daggett's in general)
Physically alien races
Humour
The Theme Tune
Bubble Gum Trading cards
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse