Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2013
This album is sublime, ethereal, witty and moving and makes me feel at peace and at home and reminds me of my connection with nature. His voice is deep and beautiful and sounds amazing alongside the dreamy guitar sounds. I wish I had discovered Bill Callahan years ago, but now I have I am just going to have to buy his whole catalogue. Thank you and well done on making such a masterpiece. Five stars easily.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Bill sings beautifully in his rich, low, warm voice, which seems only to get better with time. 'You look like worldwide armageddon,' he croons at one point. As always, there's a beautiful melancholy tinged with witty, mystical-philosophical observations about life and nature (the recurring rivers and eagles will be familiar to BC fans). Musically it's no major departure from his previous solo albums (although probably a sweeter affair than most Smog LPs) but there's a welcome flute and a few other surprises. Another great album (album of the year so far?). He makes it look easy. And when he sings 'I really am a lucky man', you can believe him.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Callahan's resonant baritone mixes perfectly with his economic lyrical style and well judged backing music (even the jazz flute) to leave me in mind of Astral Weeks. An excellent record which continues Callahan's interest in themes concerning the natural world, birds and flight and of which he draws parallels and metaphorical allusions to his personal life. In this way he reminds me of DH Lawrence, particularly around the time of 'The Rainbow". Callahan is an artist worthy of serious consideration and is not in anyway a poor man's Cohen etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
this is music for grown ups - no cliches no easy crowd pleasing riffs, but trust me if you like it ( and you should) then you will never never tire of it. You know the feeling- when you get some great music and it rocks your boat, but after the 10th time of hearing it suddenly you can't stand to ever hear it again? - well that doesn't happen with Bill Callahan. Play it a hundred times and on the 101st, you'll still be delighted by it. it's subtle poetry that keeps on opening up meaning, and the music is beguiling, all topped off by Bill Callahan's idiosyncratic and great voice. You owe it to yourself to take a slow ride down this river
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I bought it beacuse it was voted the best record of 2013 by MOJO. It's really very good. Has special atmosphere, has "real" lyrics" and music. Melodies seems like being the same, so why I think about this records like a symphony.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Simple yet intricate songs, with an abilty to freeze time and space.
Probably not everyone's cup of tea, as you could dismiss it as slow country, but this is so much more.
Beautifully produced and recorded (I would say mostly one-take with minimum additions), this is probably more stripped than 'eagle' but no less enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
I've followed Bill for a number of years since he was (smog)/smog.
His 'solo' career has been a steady improvement (except 'Eagle' which was a significant leap forwards) and I think this is his finest work to date.
I heard/read a review where Bill talked about being greatly influenced by Lou Reed and these songs are real 'conversational'.
Small Plane stands out for me, beautiful. Having been up in a small plane a couple times this brings back the experience perfectly.
About time for a new one now though Bill!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
I've owned this album for a couple of years now and it is played regularly still, a ringing endorsement. If you enjoy poignant lyrics about life and the wild world and subtle tunes, I recommend. It is very American, it strikes that big country feel of rural USA. It is also deeply personal. You'll need to listen a few times to get in to the vibe, but Bill takes you to a place worth getting to know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I don't like everything he has written but every track on this album is excellent. He has the rare talent of writing words that are moving but at times also very funny. The melodies are up there with his best and there is nothing on the album that didn't need to be there... really impressive. Congratulations Bill Callahan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Apocalypse marked a looser, lighter feel for Callahan, it also sounded more like an album as a whole. Dream River required harder work from the listener but it repays the effort over and over again. Summer Painter is my personal favourite, but the lyrics are really where Callahan stands out and Dream River easily stands among his best work either under his own name, or recording as Smog.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)