Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
73
4.7 out of 5 stars
Muscle Shoals [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 March 2017
Great piece history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Stunning documentary on the birth of Southern Soul, at Muscle Shoals
A 'must see' for every soul fan across the planet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
I'd already seen this on Netflix and bought it for my Father in law for his birthday. One of the best and most interesting and surprising music documentaries I've seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Great documentary about Rick Hall , his recording studio in Alabama and clips and interviews of some of the artists who recorded there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
good music and history of southern soul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Arrived in good time and very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I saw this film twice in small cinemas and it still holds as a film. There's so much to take in, so much background to divulge and if you don't want to hop on a plane and visit Alabama then you must be mad! If you love music, and particularly the likes of Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Percy Sledge etc, then this film will entertain you. For those who don't or, like me, don't know the background and influence of this small recording mecca on music, it serves as a wonderful form of education.

Slightly disappointed that the DVD extras didn't extend to a 2-DVD set given the obvious depth and amount of interviews that must have been conducted. The extras amount to just 33 mins. However, there are two interesting commentaries from both the director and the key characters of the documentary - Rick Hall and the Swampers.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 June 2014
What is it about Muscle Shoals that has made it on the map for musicians? This small Alabama town on the banks of the Tennessee River has two music studios, FAME Studios and Muscle Shoals Sound Studios. The man with the last name of Hall is mentioned often for the success of Muscle Shoals, and we hear him talk about his life and success. One musician likened the water of Mersy in England tonged water of the Tennessee for making the music what it is. An old folklore has the river singing like none other.

The list of musicians appearing in 'Muscle Shoals' who tell us of their experiences include, Gregg Allman, Etta James, Alicia Keys, Keith Richards and John Paul White of the Civil Wars. Aretha Franklin speaking of its allure. We may never know, but the sound of rhythm and blues is long associated, and this documentary is excellent. For lovers of music, this us a film to see.

Recommended. prisrob 06-01-14
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This is a wonderful film . So many insights into how musical magic happened. I would have been happy to have seen more of Dan Penn and a lot less of Bono but that is a personal preference . Highly recommended regardless of which form of music you have interest in.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)