Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
40
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2014
I own almost all Stacey Kent's albums and this is possibly my least favourite. However her voice is sweeter than ever on this recording. The first five songs are pure magic maybe the choice of material after that is questionable but with her voice and some excellent arrangements it is excusable. A wonderful vocalist.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This is a collection of beautiful songs. The covers are carefully chosen and the originals have great melodies and clever, incisive lyrics. The arrangements are tasteful and the instrumental playing is sensitive and very professional.

But it's Stacey Kent's singing that turns this from a good jazz album into a great one: she is SO good at this. Her diction is absolutely perfect - you can hear every word clearly - and her intonation (tuning) is spot-on. Listen to her articulation of the quick passages in One Note Samba - it's very difficult to produce the words so accurately and still sing all the correct notes, but she does it beautifully. On top of it all she manages to inject just the right amount of emotion into every song - no over-the-top histrionics here, but neither is it ever dry and dull. It's just perfect.

Stacey Kent is not just a singer, she's a seriously good musician. Any aspiring young jazz singers - or any singers, for that matter - should study her technique.

I can't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Stacey's last studio album, 'Raconte-moi', was a massive risk which paid off in spades. Let's face it, releasing an album which only contains songs sung in French was a very brave thing to do. How many other musicians at the height of their careers, jazz or otherwise, would do such a thing? But 'Raconte-moi' is a beautiful album & is one of my favourites from 2010. So just when I thought Stacey had released the perfect album out she comes with yet another: 'The Changing Lights'. What I love about this, her tenth, album is the return of the Stacey Kent, Jim Tomlinson, Kazuo Ishiguro partnership. They first collaborated on Stacey's wonderful 2007 album, 'Breakfast on the Morning Tram'. And on 'The Changing Lights' Stacey's crystal vocals, Jim's beautiful arrangements, and Kazuo's narrative-style lyrics are a joy to behold on tracks such as 'The Summer We Crossed Europe In The Rain' and 'The Changing Lights'. "The Changing Lights' has now replaced 'Breakfast on the Morning Tram' as my favourite Stacey Kent track. Yes, it is that good.

I recently went to see Stacey at Ronnie Scott's in London. It was a fabulous night. Stacey has such a great band of musicians backing her and the camaraderie amongst them was a joy to behold. Long may it continue to produce excellent albums such as this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Had never heard of Stacey Kent but the song list on this and her other CDs looked interesting.
Really pleased I bought it, like a cross between Astrud Gilberto and Blossom Dearie, with bossa nova arrangements and an excellent band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 October 2013
Stacey Kent's latest recording again demonstrates her vocal mastery. The immaculate intonation, timing and diction are flawless to the point of sheer purity. Her voice becomes an instrument with impeccable clarity and minimal vibrato. Her focus on this album is largely Latin numbers switching English with clever changes into Portuguese, and French imperceptibly. There are covers of bossa nova numbers from Tom Jobim and two songs written by novelist and lyricist Kashou Ishiguro; namely the title song 'Changing Lights', a sublime number, and 'The Summer We Crossed Europe' a story gracefully sung by Ms Kent. 'Waiter, Oh Waiter' is a neat request for help in choosing from a foreign menu. 'How Insensitive' is quite the opposite. The Brazilian 'One Note Samba' is a difficult number to handle at such pace with the short-spaced almost staccato notes; Stacey effortlessly takes the scale runs in her stride.

The arrangements and accompaniment of husband Jim Tomlinson are outstanding. The rhythm section is wonderfully subtle with particular praise for the percussionists, pianist Graham Harvey and the Latino guitarists' phrasing. However, this is Stacey Kent's record first and foremost; impressive and top class. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love Stacey Kent's blend of almost-monologue delivery of some of her songs, which I first heard on the album 'Breakfast on the Morning Train' and which she develops more fully here. Her command of European vernacular widens to include Spanish songs as well as French (at which she also excels) and this album is a lovely combination of all the strengths and originality of Stacey's approach to what is partly jazz, partly classic popular, with the European overtones which make her renditions extra special. A thoroughly enjoyable album to be relished in the quiet of the library or music room (or corner of the sitting room, away from distraction). Not recommended for the car as its subtle and low delivery is spoilt by engine noise. Listen alone and enjoy a unique relationship with this unique singer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
I have seen Stacey a couple of times in Newbury, and really like her music, especially the more swingy numbers. My favorites on this album are One Note Samba, and Waiter, Oh Waiter. Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
As always Stacey has provided us with absolute musical pleasure, glad to see you are now recovered.
We remember that memorable evening a few years ago at the Pizza Express in Dean Street, London where we shared a drink, bought autographed copies of more of your albums (and Jim's too)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Stacey Kent is a recent addition to my CD collection although I have been aware of her for a while. This is the fourth album of hers I now own & I couldn't be happier. Her smooth delivery of the lyrics is like pouring honey into your ears (though not as sticky) & it doesn't matter what language she sings in, the gist of the meaning is clear. I only wish I had found her years ago.

This album is well worth giving a chance if you have a love of smooth jazz, hell if you don't like jazz this may be the album that converts you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This is one of my favourite albums of the year from the best voice in the world. Stacey makes singing sound so effortless, and this is a collection of songs, some written by her husband Jim Tominson which I and all my friends love with a passion. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£25.11
£11.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)