Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
129
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£27.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Brilliant Metal Group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
They Progressively Rock!::!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
cd are been mastered so not original. all songs stopped after 1 or 2 mins playing. cds were without case and booklet is been fotocopied. Very dissapointed for the money spent. I will never buy anything else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 November 2013
So, how long has it been since the last studio offering from DT? A little longer than I would have thought, in view of the fact that they have to prove (all over again!) that they are still worth the listen minus Mr Portnoy.
Again, I found myself hanging back before I lashed out the cash and purchased my own copy, but seemingly reviews were mixed and, upon receipt, the self titled album was introduced to my player. However, being interrupted by my younger son, I wasn't paying the album all that much attention on first listen and just thought "well, it's alright...!"
So it wasn't until I had a little round trip of around 100 miles in the car that I actually got around to playing (and listening!) to this properly and although it took until the third run through for it all to click into place, I now think that it is indeed an excellent album - but not necessarily their best!
Certainly, it is not as immediate as IMAGES AND WORDS or as heavy as AWAKE - probably more akin to FALLING INTO INFINITY with a nice balance between the two extremes that these boys can accomodate.
Mr Petrucci's blistering solos are scarce though, and while Mr LaBrie's vocal chords remain as strong as ever, and Mr Myung's bass thumps along nicely and Mr Mangini's drums remain unlike Mr Portnoy's, it's actually the fact that Mr Rudess is given far more rein than before, giving this album almost (I SAID ALMOST) the feel of an early Yes album - no bad thing, but not what you expect from the DT boys.
Is it down to Mr Petrucci taking on so much that he no longer has the time to also fly in with the solos anymore? Who knows but, notwithstanding, this is an album that needs (and deserves) a lot of hard listening, rewarding the listener with a very powerful soundscape indeed.
Favourites are "Along For The Ride" - just one of those little ear-worms that get into your head and you keep finding yourself humming, and the complex and startling "Illumination Theory" along with it's harmonies and counterpoints with orchestral soundbites for good measure.
Yep, as they say in footballing circles; "the boys done good" again!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Musically brilliant, fabulous riffs and melodies all delivered with power and drama in a musically theatrical style with each member of the band pushing the boundaries of their formidable talents..... my only gripe would be that it doesn't go over 70mins. I'm sure there was room for one more song, but maybe I am just too greedy for more.
I love it though, as I have done with any Dream Theater release, but even if this had been my first experience of the great quintet it would inspire me to start buying the rest....... Enjoy and crank it up.....
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
With their 12th release, Dream Theater finally make a self-titled album. This is the second album to feature drummer Mike Mangini, but this time he gets writing credits. The production is very polished which makes a change from the rougher approach on their previous 3 albums. An epic but short instrumental ("False Awakening Suite") opens the album which shows their intent; their most accessible yet. The tracks that follow are also short compared to Dream Theater’s usual standard (4-7 minutes). However the album’s closer, “Illumination Theory” is extremely long (22 minutes! Although there’s 30 seconds of silence on here with a hidden track at the end) which makes up for the shorter songs earlier on which takes the running time to 68 minutes. Just like previous album “A Dramatic Turn Of Events”, the album slows down towards the end with mellow songs; “Behind The Veil”, “Surrender To Reason”, and “Along For The Ride”. Overall, this is a brilliant album and a good starting choice for a newcomer to the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2013
I'll cut to the chase,i've got all the albums but i wouldnt class myself as an 'uber 'fan,i dont spend hours analysing one album against another ,to see where they've repeated themselves etc,if i like it then great if not tough.

Its not a classic but its a decent release,in my humble opinion,the most immmediately likeable release since 'Awake' (1994) and 'Scenes from a Memory' (1999),to these ears its a vibrant upbeat release and it's a pleasurable aural experience from the first listen.

Both Portnoy and Mangini are excellent drummers so its business as usual on the drumming front,with Portnoy's lyrical input missing,i felt this and ,indeed ,the previous album were less 'dark',i like both experiences,so again no worries.

Star of the show definitely Petrucci,superb soloing,here there and everywhere,it would be fair to say ,occasionally La Brie's vocals ,waver and he does sound ever so slightly less than convincing,it happens.

Star moments,for me,plenty, the opening trio perfect,'False Awakening Suite' is big bold and cinematic,"The Enemy Inside" is an excellent rocker with stun guitar, whilst 'The Looking Glass' has a perfect commercial sheen,harking back to the early days.

Follow that if you will,well they do,with a superb instrumental 'Enigma Machine', its round about now that a couple of tracks dont quite hit the spot,namely
'The Bigger Picture' and 'Behind The Veil',thankfully they have another modern day classic in 'Surrender to Reason",next up another decent if not outstanding track 'Along for the Ride'.
'
So that just leaves the 'epic', well for the first 18 mins or so 'Illumination Theory' is excellent,possibly one of the best epic's they've done,then its just stops,the last couple of minutes at odds with the rest,it may grow on me,i'm not sure.

All in all its a pretty good release,far more immedate than the previous album 'A Dramatic Turn Of Events',although i suspect in the long run the former will be held in higher esteem,me? i like both. 4 stars
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Very dense sound and rather cluttered to these ears. Memorable songs thin on the ground. Yes its Dream Theater but without Portnoys influence I just get the impression they are losing their way slightly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)