Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 June 2017
It's strange, when I saw this film at the cinema I thought it quite awful. Yes, the special effects are spectacular and Sandra Bullock was her usual gorgeous self but, at that time I wasn't ready for it and went into visual overflow, walking out on the film after about 30 minutes.

This was really unfair because I didn't give the film enough of a chance and so I watched it on Amazon once or twice and then decided to get the Blu-ray so that I could view it in UHD. On the visual aspects of the film there is nothing I can possibly think of that can detract from the magnificence of this film, nor can I be critical of the actors, and I am not a great fan of George Clooney.

This is a film I shall probably watch 2 or 3 times a year and one which I will enjoy each time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2015
This is a very original, and tense film, it's only short (about 85 minutes), but, it's got some really
brilliant CGI and a great sense of peril, in it, that makes you feel quite thankful you
didn't become an astronaut.. When you always wanted to be one as a child... Well worth getting this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
A masterpiece, in my opinion. Beautifully written script, says a lot about the human condition, but is never over-stated. I really like the music / sound-design, as well as the outer space settings. Clearly the audio people worked hard on this. Clearly everyone did. A great great film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Gravity is not a Sci-Fi, i.e. science-fiction film. Because there is no fictitious science here, like alien invaders, plasma beams, time machines, cryo sleep or faster-than-light space craft and whatnot.

Instead, Gravity is a disaster movie set in outer space - in low orbit, that is, where setting locations like the Hubble Space Telescope, the (now decommissioned) Space Shuttle and the International Space Station are used. What makes Gravity interesting is that it aims for a high degree of scientific accuracy. The most obvious application of this is that there is no sound in space. So when half a setpiece gets torn to shreds when hit by space debris, you don't hear the devastating explosions at all, but rather a dull reverb in your space suit. Another obvious highlight of this movie is the lack of gravity. While other films set in outer space usually only had zero G sequences for minutes at a time, in Gravity this is the de facto environment for 90 minutes. Executing the state of weightlessness (actually micro-gravity) for not just the protagonists, but also for the entire surrounding environment which consists of a ton of stuff from the many hoses, nets and debris in space to the interior inventory of the ISS living quarters is what makes this film such a technical masterpiece. And then see all of that realistically get flung around when the impacts happen. Another bonus? How fire behaves and spreads in zero gravity.

The film also explores many themes, from the feeling of utter helplessness when free falling in space, over the sheer impossibility of trying to get back to Earth which is right there, looming all across your visor but you know you'd burn up unless re-entry happened inside a suitable space craft, to the ticking time-bomb that is the recurring debris field stuck in orbit, there's both a sense of isolation and of hectic in this movie.

And this brings us back to the main moral lesson contained in this film, which is that of informing the public that we need to do something about the space debris. The idea of a sudden wave of debris materializing seemingly out of thin air isn't fiction at all: It is a scientific phenomenon known as the Kessler Syndrome, whereby one collision creates hundreds of new particles which fly (thanks to lack of atmospheric friction to slow them down over time) with the same speed which they gained during the moment of collision and are now even likelier to hit other objects in orbit and when they do, even more high-speed debris is created until low orbit becomes a death zone making things like weather satellites and GPS unusable for generations.

So while these are the strengths of the movie, the downsides are that it is essentially a two-person show with half of it actually ending up being a one-person movie and therefore lacking in dialogue and exposition. Compare this to great space classics like Apollo 13 which were powerful in narration from start till finish and featured many locations, and you'll realize why Gravity cannot compete in the same league. The film is also overladen with allegory, from Ryan needing to "let go", over curling up to an embryonic fetal position once she has reached the safety of the ISS airlock, the Deus Ex Machina moment saving her from a suicide attempt, to her "baptism of fire" and rebirth coming crawling on all fours out of the fluids of the ocean, I felt like a lot of this was artificially imposed over the script to give it more depth.

One scene I felt was completely ridiculous was when Ryan gets mocked by an Inuit fisherman on the radio but then hears his huskies and proceeds to bark along. What the hell was the director thinking? All in all though, Gravity is a must-have on blu-ray, especially for any person interested in science and space, simply because of the technical accuracy of this movie. While I find 7 oscars to be a complete exaggeration (there's tons of good movies out there that have gotten 0) apart from rewarding the technical milestones achieved during the filming process, I still think it is a solid piece of cinematography worth not just watching, but owning. Therefore, a solid 4 out of 5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 5 March 2017
George Clooney has a fairly easy role in this film as Matt Kowalsky, a seasoned astronaut on his last scheduled shuttle flight. Most of his performance is just speech and facial expression behind an astronaut’s helmet with CGI in the background.

Sandra Bullock plays Dr. Ryan Stone, a medical engineer on her first mission and, although the first half of the film has the same acting demands for her as for George, she does get to take off her space suit later after the shuttle is destroyed and the two have to try to survive.

The story line is rather basic, but it is still nevertheless probably the stuff of one of my worst nightmares – lost in space, darkness, miles above the earth, freezing conditions, no air pressure, weightless, spinning with no control, running out of oxygen (did I miss anything on the plus side, apart from the beautiful view of the earth?!!)

Sandra’s preparation for the weightless clips in the film was probably extensive and, although probably not a high budget movie overall, it was well worth the effort for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2017
I can't understand all the comments about the weak story line. I thought for a movie with only one actor and one actress all the way through it was excellent. Yes there were parts that were obviously fiction and could never happen in real life but if they had got wiped out at the start when that debris first hit the station then it wouldn't have been a very long film. The special effects were great and probably the best I have seen in a film. The best part for me was that sound track that plays at the end when Stone hits down to earth and ends up on the beach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2017
The tension and claustrophobia of this film never leaves you. There is no point when you know what is CGI and what is 'real'. So, unlike so many CGI films where flawed SFX can ruin the sense of reality, this one feels like they sent a cameraman into space and filmed it live. Apparently there are scientific inaccuracies but frankly I haven't the first idea what they are - every survival step is nicely explained and it all makes perfect sense. I can image in 3D or on IMAX it was breathtaking but even on a home TV it really looks impressive. Fast paced and riveting - go with it and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 October 2017
I liked this; it's a space-thriller full of set-piece, special-effect loaded scenes which work fantastically well on a large screen – it must have looked good in the cinemas – I only saw it on my TV, but even without 3-D it's visually impressive.

The drama gets by on a fairly relentless series of catastrophic events caused by a sudden storm of space-debris; the accompanying 20 minute documentary on the DVD does a good job of explaining the very real threat astronauts face from this growing problem.
The film is best approached as an entertainment; although there is some real science and a degree of plausibility in the main, if one stops to think about some episodes there are credibility gaps – but it doesn`t stop it being a thrilling roller-coaster ride if you're willing to enter into the spirit of the drama.
The small cast haven't that much acting to do in such an action-led film, but Bullock carries the lead very well indeed.
A word on the music – authentically, there are only the sounds the astronauts would actually hear, so the incidental music provided by Stephen Price racks up the tension with menacing, rasping orchestral brass during the action scenes which is most effective.

This is a very entertaining film that most viewers will enjoy, especially those into space films and science fiction.
The DVD offers a good sharp picture and the subtitles stated on the product page above; another extra is a short film which helps provide background for a key scene in the main feature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2017
Well made, although like all other space survival film. Problems being a lack of urgency in the lead at any point, constant high pitch beeping throughout, and a few general flaws in the science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse