Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2013
This has been on the 'to watch' list for ages, and for some reason I kept putting it off. Perhaps I thought I was too old to enjoy this kind of film anymore (I'm 30) but when there was nothing else to watch I finally gave in and put it in the player; why did I wait so long? It is exceptionally funny with many, many laugh out loud moments. I actually had tears in my eyes more than once and that just doesn't happen often.

The casting is spot on and Jonah Hill in particular manages to nail his character. His delivery and mannerisms are excellent and he's really becoming a favourite in our house.

It's something really quite special, I can't recommend it highly enough. Every once in a blue moon a comedy comes along that is a riot from start to finish and this film achieves this with aplomb.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
The comedy leanings are sublime and will ensure this film has a dedicated fan base. The usual mark for a comedy film to be funny is about 6 or 7 laughs, 21 Jump Street reaches that landmark in the opening 20 minutes of its 109 minute running length. The opening third might be manically funny and it might never reach that zenith again, however that's not a slight, the opening third is just that funny. Any film that makes me cry with laughter ensures it has a place in my heart. That 5 minutes sequence where Hill and Tatum have to take the drugs to prove themselves is the most I have laughed at a new comedy since Black Dynamite.

However funny, 109 minutes might be a bit long for a comedy and the middle third might not flow as easy as the rest of the film, but this is a dark horse of a film that came out of nowhere and won over many. This is an excellent film, directed with a perfect balance of the surreal and the touching by its directors and a dazzling script by Michael Bacall. The comedy might not be to everyone's taste and it might occasionally take the joke too far, but those who enjoy a weirder style of comedy will enjoy the hell out of 21 Jump Street.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Occasionally, among the lazily-made dross that passes off as comedy these days, you get a film that is funny because the stars are likeable, have a great rapport, a great range of emotions and expressions, can handle both silly and serious situations, and have a good plot to work with that's both believable and surreal. This is such a film. Most importantly, you like the two guys and actually care whether they work things out between themselves, and get their job done. You don't really get that in films like The Hangover. Because they are not 1-dimensional annoying man-children, 21 Jump Street feels like a brilliant mix of Superbad and The Other Guys (this last cop buddies comedy you must watch too, it made me laugh just as hard).
88 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Every year comedies are released that attempt to be clever or to do something different but they often turn out clichéd and doesn’t produce laughs. However 21 Jump Street is intelligent, very Meta and genuinely funny throughout. A reboot of a 80s TV show, it is as much a satire of Hollywood’s trend to reboot for money as it is a comedy about school life.

The story follows Schmidt and Jenko, two young looking cops, as they are sent undercover into a high school to bust a dangerous drug operation. This set up provides plenty of opportunity for school related comedy, police action and buddy cop action-comedy. Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum work well in the lead roles and their chemistry is what makes the film so humorous, in lesser hands some of the jokes just would not have worked. Their take on high school and what it means to be popular is actually quite interesting as well as being amusing. The film’s strength is that it knows exactly what it is and instead of falling into genre clichés it makes fun of them. This self-awareness is right at the heart of the film creating strong comic material which, when handled by the talented cast, really works.

21 Jump Street is simply very funny but it has interesting ideas that make it really stand out. It is a blueprint of how to make an unnecessary unwanted reboot. In modern cinema, this is very refreshing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
A brilliant film that is one of the funniest I personally think for a generation. As a 34 year old, upon watching it, I have rarely "lol" as the young'uns call it at new films, since the days of Austin Powers, Naked Gun films etc etc. I think it is up there with these classics. I particularly like, as someone who misses my school mates, the deep and unlikely friendship between the two lads who become police officers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I gave this film the highest ratings because it made me and my brother laugh so much. In my opinion this is one of the best comedies of 2012. The story is about two amateur american cops, who after nearly making an arrest get sent to 21 Jump Street. This when the action packed comedy filled with rib tickling humour really starts. I'm not going to say anymore about the film as it will ruin your enjoyment. But overall Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill made this my favourite film on release in 2012 because they played their roles so well also the witty humour what was used from start to finish.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
21 Jump Street is the funniest film of 2012 so far.
A true surprise, I wasn't expecting anything from this film and went to see it because the word of mouth was so good.
It turned out to be one of the funniest films in years, a film that made me laugh from start to finish and it has two very likable leads in Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill.
21 Jump Street is one of my favorite films of the year and one that will stand up to repeat viewings- its feel-good, funny and fresh.
I'm Looking forward to the sequel already and watch out for Ice Cube in a film stealing role!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
In high school, Schmidt was a dork and Jenko was the popular jock.

After graduation, both of them joined the police force and ended up as partners riding bicycles in the city park.

Since they are young and look like high school students, they are assigned to an undercover unit to infiltrate a drug ring that is supplying high school students synthetic drugs....

Yes it's the movie version of that TV show that hardly anyone remembers in England but made Depp a star.

This goes down the Starsky and Hutch route, and goes funny all the way. It works on many levels, and instead of this being a gross out comedy, which it could have clearly gone down, it goes for subtle laughs and action, and relies on the cast chemistry to make it work.

It's Tatums best performance, he shines in this movie and outdoes anyone on the screen. He is easily the funniest thing, which is odd, because Hill is usually very good (here he is slightly annoying).

The story is predictable, as is the special cameo, and this sometimes hinders the flow of the film, but although the plot and narrative can be convoluted, the spin on changing the two leads status at school is a great inclusion to the film, as is the set piece which involves the two expecting things to explode, which sounds silly, but is funny.

So all in all, it's a film that shouldn't be funny, but it is, thanks to some great performances and a fresh feel to it all around.

Worth seeing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum rule in this politically incorrect comedy that had me laughing out loud. Jonah Hill shouting at a suspect running away, "I'm going to shoot you if you don't slow down." They go undercover to find the drug dealers at a high school. Having been out of high school for 7 years they find it hard to adopt to 2012. Ice Cube was great as the stereotypical angry black police captain who tells people to embrace their stereotypes. Jake M. Johnson is the principle. His first words are "I am just one more gay black kid being punched in the face from a nervous break down." The drama teacher tells his students, "I remember being in upstate New York doing cocaine with Willie Nelson's horse..."

The great one liners are seemingly endless. Jonah Hill tries out for the role of Peter Pan while Channing's chemistry teacher comes on to him. The guys forgot who they were and end up with each other identities. Jonah Hill is in drama and a "track star" while meat head Tatum is in the AP classes. The cops are bumbling in their roles but manage to get the job done. There are some social issues mentioned in the movie in a comedic fashion. One is the difference on how people view a black kid who dies from drugs as from a white kid. Another is the commercialization of education. Highly recommended comedy.

Frequent F-bombs, sexual humor, no nudity
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Based on the 80′s television series created by Stephen J Cannell and starring Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum, 21 Jump Street is the story of two undercover cops in high school. Is Hollywood really running out of fresh ideas, or is this adaptation actually worth seeing?

In 2005, Morton Schmidt and Greg Jenko were seniors in high school. Schmidt was the awkward, nerdy, Slim Shady wannabe in braces and Jenko was the cool, jock, prom king. They were complete opposites. Five years later the two find themselves running into each other as they join the police academy. Schmidt is book smarts and Jenko dumb as a box of rocks. Jenko is a prime athlete and Schmidt can barely run down the street. The two recognize their weaknesses and realize that with each other’s strengths they can forget about high school, become friends, and work together to graduate the academy. The two become officers and are excited about being bad asses… until their first assignment: bike patrol at the local park.

So anxious to be “real cops” and actually arrest someone, Schmidt and Jenko fumble an easy drug bust by simply not reading a biker gang member his Miranda Rights. In front of their captain for disciplinary action, he informs them they are going to be assigned to an undercover unit based in an abandoned Korean church on 21 Front St, that specializes in young looking cops as high school narcs. Jenko and Schmidt’s first case is to stop a new synthetic drug called “HFS” from spreading to other high schools by infiltrating the dealers and busting the supplier.From looking at the trailers and knowing the history of Hollywood television remakes, my next sentence is absolutely going to shock you. 21 Jump Street is an absolutely hilarious movie. It is so silly and goofy that I laughed from beginning to end. But it wasn’t just cheap physical gags or corny stereotypes that make the film funny. It is actually that the movie does not at all take itself serious. The flick is actually self aware by even poking fun of itself throughout the movie. For example, when Schmidt and Jenko are being yelled at by their Captain (Nick Offerman – Parks and Recreation), he makes it well known that the 21 Jump Street undercover unit is a rehashed idea from the 80′s and that the higher up from downtown just couldn’t come up with any better ideas. Sounds like Hollywood, right?

Another thing that makes 21 Jump Street not just some remake, is that the creator of the original television series, Stephen J Cannell (A-Team, Rockford Files, Hawaii Five-O) produced the film. The television show is his baby, so he actually had a say in the final product. The screenplay was written by Jonah Hill who has a history with Seth Rogan and Judd Appatow.

But the number one thing that makes 21 Jump Street funny is the pairing up of Jonah Hill (Super Bad/Moneyball) and Channing Tatum (The Vow/GI Joe) in this polar opposite, role reversal, buddy cop movie. Also credited as the film’s executive producers, Hill and Tatum make for a funny odd couple. What also makes the situation funny is that 6 years after graduating, the high school hierarchy has shifted. The kids who were once losers are now the cool kids. So Schmidt weirdly fits in as the new cool dude in school. And let’s be honest, it’s not that hard of a stretch for Hill to be a nerd and Tatum to be a jock. So you could say that it’s perfect casting.Rounding out the cast is Ice Cube (Boyz in the Hood/Friday) as the 21 Jump Street Captain in charge of Schmidt and Jenko, Brie Larson (Scott Pilgrim vs the World) as Molly, Schmidt’s high school love interest, and Rob Riggle (The Hangover/Big Miracle) as Mr. Walters the gym teacher. All three are fantastic in their supporting roles. A bit stereotypical at times, but let me remind you, the film doesn’t take itself seriously.

The audience I saw the movie with was filled with a wide variety of demographics that laughed the entire duration of the film. From the comedy, to the chase scenes, to the shootouts there is not a down moment in the film. It is non-stop laughs. There are even three huge cameos and one came with thunderous applause from the audience. I don’t want to ruin it, but my jaw dropped. So if you like comedies in the spirit of Super Bad, Police Academy, and Step Brothers, then you’ll love 21 Jump Street. I can’t recommend it enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)