Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

F1 2013 (PC CD)
Platform: PC|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£19.27 - £99.99

on 11 October 2013
I should probably start this review with, if you haven't played 2011 or 2012, buy this game as the fresh new experience definately gives this a 4*/4.5*.

But to those who've played the previous ones, there's not really a big reason to go ahead and buy this one.
The big advertisement for F1 2013, is the introduction of old school F1 cars and drivers being introduced. Now initially when I heard this, I thought, what a great idea! It's not until you install the game to come to realize, it's only 5 cars, and 2 tracks you're given. (Legendary ones)
Sure as a Brit playing as Mansell is great, but does it change the experience? No, not at all.

The old school cars themselves do feel differently, not a huge amount. Of course the interior and exterior look completely different, and it's more careful driving. You can't attack the corners like you wouldn't in the modern f1 car or you'll spin out immediately. So I wouldn't say they was overly fun to drive in. Also there's no grand prix for these cars, you can only use them in exhibition and online (Which is probably where it is best used, online)

Other than that, a few minor tweeks changed, I noticed you're spin out easier through tight corners if you're keeping your finger firmly down on the accelerator. Game forces you to ease your way into it. Also a good feature added is the ability to save midway a race, seeing as the lap length is extremely long in career mode.

Everything else is the same. Does this warrant a release of an entirely new game? For me personally, no. The new stuff added could have easily been a cheap DLC added. There was a time a properly licensed F1 game would come out once every 3 years, and I think it should stay that way. Bringing an f1 game out each year is ultimately going to lose it's great feeling in time, and I think 2013 does that when you've bought the previous titles.

For those buying f1 2013 as their first F1, by all means, buy it! It's fantastic. For those who've played the previous ones, I wouldn't bother, you'll feel like you've wasted your money. (Although for 20 quid it ain't bad for the PC)
66 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
Great racing game. works well on Win 7 Pro x64 bit. An improvement over F1 2012 as expected. cars are easy to setup. AI difficulty makes for interesting racing and good on track battles as requested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
I am still playing this game until the new F1 2014 is released. I could parallel this to the Fifa series of football games in that it is evolving with each release rather than a revolution in gameplay. F1 2012 was epic when there had been no decent F1 game on PC for several years (I would consider Grand Prix 4 the nearest comparison) and it has improved each time. Gone are the silly TV interviews of the last two versions, in comes KERS and DRS overtaking aids. Out goes the unpredictable AI speed and in comes a consistent challenge that rises to your level.

The weather effects are amazing when it rains. The AI is capable of some quite unpredictable but brilliant actions. The extra game modes just cement this title as the daddy.

I would like to see a bit of variation in the celebrations when you win a race and a greater emphasis put on the experience of what it is like to qualify 16th after a bad session or the joy of winning your first grand prix or a masterclass in the wet sending everyone into raptures. I just don't think the emotion of the sport is captured well enough but it is still hugely enjoyable to play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2013
Having bought F1 2010 and F1 2011, I'm angry at myself for buying this rubbish once again. It's unfortunate as it has the potential to be a good game but is ruined by rubbish support and the fact it is full of bugs. Massive issues trying to run this game on a nvidia GTX 680. I would highly recommend you refrain from buying this utterly crap game.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2014
Pros: fantastic graphics, great interaction with the engineer, in-depth technical changes to the car, realistic weather conditions and tyre wear, and the possibility to go back a few seconds if you make a mistake (maximum 5 times per session). Also the scenario modes and the vintage cars and tracks are a great addition.

Cons: you have to have Steam - you can't simply install the game on your computer and play away like in the simple old days. Also the replay function is poor, nowhere near as comprehensive as in Grand Prix 2 or 4 (never played 3 so can't say). If you love statistics, you'll be disappointed - e.g. if you're in a season, there's no way of looking back over the season to see who scored what points in what race, etc. The penalties are bit harsh, e.g. 10-second penalty for a harmless touch at the first corner - you never see any AI cars get a penalty. And finally, no big crashes, rolling, etc., that's all gone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
Have not fully played all aspects of this game.One frustrating thing is you cannot just drive, it makes you jump through a few hoops first, such as having to hit certain targets before you are offered a contract. So unlike the other F1 games you cannot jump ino any car and start your F1 career. Also the time trials, which you were able to practice on in the old games,have limited tracks which is a little annoying. As I said have not yet tried all the game but the actually driving is very realistic, which means very difficult, so you will have to start with plenty of assists.Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
Good game, far easier to install that the 2012. The support for steering wheels is simple enough and overall it looks great at 4k 60fps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
Not a long review, just to say that is a DVD and not a CD as described in the title of this product.

Also to say that the game play experience has not changed much at all from the 2012 version of this game. Even the 'Young Driver' part was identical in every way to last year's version.

The career is also identical, but then, how much can they really change it ?

The overall experience is enjoyable. The quality of the visuals are slightly improved but not dramatically so. The detail in the car's, character's and environment are all slightly uprated but if you have any of the previous iterations then you won't be 'blown away' by the changes.

The only reason I bought this year's release was because of the release day price that was available here on Amazon. I would not have even considered it had it not been so cheap compared to all other platforms or retail options for the PC platform.

The game also ran smooth and with no real issue or bugs. Below are mys system specification for anyone interested.

System spec :

MotherBoard : Gigabyte GA-F2A85XM-D3H
Processor : Amd A-10 5800k Quad 3.8ghz
GFX : X-fire HD 7700D + Asus AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB
Ram : 8GB (2 x 4gb Dual) Kingston Hyper Blu 1600mhz
HDD : Kingston 120gb SSD
OS : Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
Though I have only installed it and got as far as my Garage, due mainly to my having to wait the arrival of my Wheel and Pedals. I am impressed with this Game and will edit this Review as I go along. The graphics are amazing.

I have Windows 7 on a fairly modern PC and a 24inch flat screen monitor

A word of Warning: You have to have a Steam account [http://store.steampowered.com/]. If you don't, then you will get an error message saying you must have an internet connection. No, it is NOT obvious! After 7 hours of Google searching and finding a whole lot of people with the same problem and the suggested solutions were varied and often dodgy, I was on the point of giving up. However, I decided to ask previous buyers for help and within a very short time I had the right solution and the Game installed with no problems. I have thanked them.

More to follow as I get into using this Game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
This is a great game. I would still recommend getting this over 2014 or 2015, particularly 2014 as that one has no career mode. Just get a mod to update to current rosters and cars, and there you have it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)