Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2017
great LP saw the show myself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
This Classic album from 1975 is a great introduction to some of Alice Cooper's earlier work that features a brief narrative by Vincent Price. All the tracks are great but standout tracks include the title track, 'Welcome to my Nightmare', 'The Black Widow', and the brilliant 'Only Women Bleed'. This version contains 3 bonus tracks that are alternate versions of 3 of the original album tracks.
A must have for any Alice Cooper fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2008
Absolute without question one of the greatest albums ever written!! from start to finish its classic! all tracks blend into each other with ghoulish ease, not a down momment just pure brilliance from the master!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2005
From the days when albums were an experience! The journey through takes your breath away. The diversity, songwriting and production is from a time when it mattered. Very rarely has there been such a complete album of superb rock, dark humour and unsettling undertones as this one. Others may try, but they will be pale imitations compared to Alice Cooper's masterpiece.
If you had the LP in the 70s, buy it again - it sounds just as good now.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2008
I was nine years old in 1975 and somehow I missed out on this great album (I liked the Wombles at the time).Now at 42 I finally get to hear an amazing piece of work.It never ceases to amaze me how some of my generation dismissed the 70's as a time of old dinosaur rock,hippy noodling and middle of the road soft rock tosh when there was such diverse and creative music around.Alice influenced the punks,the rockers,yet still manages to sound unlike anyone else here with a creepy cinematic rock opus of unparalled magnificance,or something like that.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
Alice's triumph. A dark,creepy, thrill a minute rock album which hits the heights at every turn.
A concept album of vaudeville horror, its camp, its scary & its superb. From the title track to the Vincent Price narration on "Black Widow", to the finger clicking "Some Folks",the raucous "Department Of Youth" & the eerie "Steven" this is a record that takes you on a journey to some unsavoury places.
This is not a record that is distasteful, its more like a 1950's monster movie or "Hammer House Of Horror" production, consigned to vinyl.
This is the album (& the show) that made the name synonymous with extravagance & excess.
There are a variety of styles on the album but it all seems to fit effortlessly,it really is a classic in every way.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
be carefull when ordering i ordered this by mistake not realising two albums with same name only diff one has to in titel other has 2 but never the less enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2002
When the remastered 'Billion Dollar Babies' came out, it was muted that the remastered 'Welcome To My Nightmare' was to follow, and here it is.
My only criticism of this remaster is, unlike the 'Billion Dollar Babies' remaster which had an extra cd, containing live material from the time as well as studio rarities, all we get here are three extra alternate version tracks.
What can't be understated though, is that quite simply, 'Welcome To My Nightmare' remains not only the best Alice Cooper album since the original group split up, but one of the best rock albums of the 1970's. An epic piece of concept rock featuring the musical macarbe character 'Steven', the climax of the album, but so much more in addition to one of the most disturbing songs ever written. Some of the finest guitar playing ever recorded from Steve Hunter and Dick Wagner, check out the riff on 'Devils' Food' and the solos on most of the tracks, with a production from Bob Ezrin to die for, (This man was to Alice what George Martin was to the Beatles!).
The black sense of humour on tracks like 'Cold Ethyl', boasting the lyrics "She's cool in bed, well she ought to be, coz Ethyls' dead!", provide light relief from really disturbing visions of insanity on 'Some Folks', and the previously mentioned 'Steven'. Ezrins virtuoso piano playing on both epics.
The title track sets the scene with haunting strings disorientating the listener, as if the lyric wasn't enough!, "We sweat and laugh and scream here, coz life is just a dream here, you know inside you feel right at home, welcome to my nightmare, welcome to my breakdown".Even the title of the ballad 'Only Women Bleed ' was shortened to 'Only Women' when released as a single, because the radio stations didn't like the menstrual connotations!
Alice Coopers' maelovance really scared the crap out of a lot of kids, and we loved it! It was like in the final track, an 'Escape' from the clean cut Donny Osmond, who gets a mention on the song 'Department Of Youth', which was the anthem for Cooper fans in 1975, just as 'Schools Out' had been three years earlier.
A horror movie on wax, even featuring the late great Vincent Price on 'Black Widow', way before Michael Jackson stole the idea on 'Thriller'. Now remastered on CD, a must for any lover of rock music at it's best!
11 Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
Something was different, Alice in a tuxedo,Alice without makeup.The band had gone taking some of their spark with them, but Nightmare had suprsing depths.
The guttral rasp of Devil's Food, the suprise of Only Women Bleed are the first indications that Alice Cooper MK2 was going to be worthwhile.
Nightmare introduced a hitherto lacking element, humour, into the music. Department of Youth, with it's unforgetable slant on Donny Osmond is the surely the best line i have ever heard in the midst of such heavy music.
Cold Ethyl needs just one play to suggest it was sure to become a stage favourite.The soundtrack trilogy Years Ago/Steven/Awakening requires classical music levels of listening to appreciate the true strength present.
The album closes with Escape, one of the most underated of all Alice tracks.This surely is John Lennon just back from his very first LSD trip and wanting to tell the whole world. A great song to close a fine album.Alice without his band could still be wild and interesting,and could still make great music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)