Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
122
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2013
I though it would be good, but it was even better.
Storyline was interesting and as a ,,of the sea'' person I enjoyed every moment.
Cast was very good and all actors have done excellent performances.
It was all so real and natural.
Gerard Butler was in this film brilliant.
Thank you all.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 November 2013
Okay, I only ordered this film for the heart-pounding surfing scenes (which were indeed fantastic AND real), barely hoping to also enjoy the script and the acting. Based on a true-life story of the legendary precocious surfer Jay Moriarity, played with boyish appeal by Jonny Weston, who, I thought, did a great job. Generally, the whole cast were very good and all actors performed excellently. I have a love-hate (more hate) relationship with Gerard Butler, but he was very organic and natural in the role of Frosty, this film was made for him.

"Chasing Mavericks" simply follows one young boy's extraordinary determination and training to conquer the legendary Maverick waves, at the same time touching on breaking and mending hearts, philosophical musings, high-school romance and father-son bonds. Sounds cheesy, right? Nevertheless I really enjoyed this film. It ain't The Endless Summer Collectors Edition (2 Disc) [DVD], but it is not trying to be. It is simply a good surfing movie.

What I did not at all expect is the tears at the end. What a story (and I am referring to the actual story of the life - and death - of Jay Moriarty, not the narrative of the film).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This is a true story. Gerard Butler,Frosty, is a strong yet humble character who trains a fatherless boy to surf the most ENORMOUS waves......the wonders of creation !. The photography takes your breath away,the awesomeness of the sea and surfers. There is everything to like about this film,nothing to dislike. Top marks
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
This film is worth watching for its great cinematography. Even if you are not a surfing fan, see this movie. It is really worth it. The waves are real!!. Gerard Butler is also very good as Frosty Hesson and Johnny Weston has also given a good performance as Jay. This is a true story about Jay Moriarty who rode these great waves at a very young age proving how we can do whatever we really want to!!
Great movie.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I will admit straight away that I am possibly the world’s worst surfer! If I manage to get through the surf at all, it inevitably leads to multiple wipe outs. Those I am a leading expert on, but hey if you can’t surf then the next best thing is to watch a decent surf film, and they are pretty thin on the ground. John Milius’s elegiac coming of age hymn to sixties surfing “Big Wednesday”(78) has to be my favourite. That film also features some big wave action! Then there is Bruce Brown’s seminal “The Endless Summer”(66), with its quirky narration and great sense of fun. Aside from those and a few good documentaries there has not been anything of real quality, which probably indicates how hard it is to make a surf movie. Fans want to see a decent chunk of surf action in the film, which makes it hard to squeeze in a meaningful story. In truth this one is not very different in that respect, but that said it is genuine and honest in its attempt to dramatise the life of surf legend Jay Moriarty. It also happens to contain a lot of adrenalin fuelled action on monstrous waves.

In the film we follow young Jay, played by newcomer Jonny Weston, as he learns the skills needed to survive the huge waves at mighty Mavericks in northern California. He is mentored by his surfing neighbour Frosty Hesson played by Gerard Butler. Young Jay has a lot to learn before he takes on the big one when El Nino blows. In between the surf action there are growing up issues, and tragedy also rears its ugly head. It is easy to shoot the story down in flames, but to be honest it provides just enough framework of a story without taking away from the surfing which is rightfully at the heart of the movie. A love of the sea and surfing is the overpowering theme that drives the film, and it also gives us an inkling of what drove Jay Moriarty to take the risks he did. The highlight of the film is of course the beautifully shot action on the waves. Those big wave surfers working on the film simply gave their all and put their bodies on the line to jump the rides of a lifetime. The film is worth waiting for just for those final scenes, just as it was in “Big Wednesday”. It is then you forget all about the paper thin story and just get caught up in the action. Those scenes are better than anything I can remember seeing! Butler is much better than I expected and young Weston acquits himself well. The film unsurprisingly failed at the box office. Trying to stay true to the subject matter and appeal to a mainstream audience is a very tricky juggling act. Perhaps like “Big Wednesday”, which was also a flop on its release, it will gain a cult following in time. I hope so! As a tribute to the memory of Jay Moriarty it is a heartfelt one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Came across this Movie while browsing for 3D films. Three years since its release so was going for a great price.
What a great choice as this is a great movie, based apparently on a true story.
Well worth the purchase and the soundtrack, especially the tidal wave scenes, had my wireless sub-woofer working overtime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
A captivating and autobiographical account of the life of the large wave surfer, Jay Moriarty, and his mentor, Frosty Hesson. The movie describes the inherent dangers and thrills of riding the waves at Mavericks, in Half Moon Bay, in northern California. Jay was a young man with great courage and integrity. I recommend this movie to a teenage or adult audience, and to those thrill seekers who have a keen interest in large wave surfing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
A really great and moving film about a young lads obsession with learning to surf, and his mentor a top surfer teaching him slowly so he will succeed in the end in surfing the biggest waves, the Mavericks. Based on a true story, well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
chasing mavericks is an excellent film based on a true story im not into surfing but i admire the skill involed, the filming of surfing is absolutely amazing, story line is good and keeps you interested throughout, gerard bulter is fantastic as frosty hesson one of his finest performances to date, the rest of the cast are all excellent in their roles giving very convincing performances, that you actually care about the characters,moving,uplifting and inspiring movie well worth watching suitable for the whole family you dont have to be a surfing fan to enjoy this, watch enjoy you wont be dissapointed.[ did nt write description of film as thats posted above]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I absolutely love this film. Moving, inspiring, deep, just great. It is my new favourite film, on par with if not 10 times better than Point Break. I don't know what success this movie had I was a year or so behind finding out about it - but I was incredibly moved and inspired by it - I hope it and everyone involved got the success and accomplishment they wanted from it because it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.16

Need customer service? Click here