Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 August 2017
This is a substantial compilation of cliche words and phrases as used mainly by newspaper reporters and other correspondents, possibly when they are pressed to meet a deadline, but more likely when they are simply too lazy to think of something more original. Although some of the phrases given are a bit dated, others seem to live on for ever. I once saw a Sun headline "Boffin slain in love nest" (yes really!) and it would not surprise me to see it again somewhere. The entries are divided into sections with a common theme, such as Scandal, Foreign Correspondent etc., but mainly it reads like a dictionary with one-line definitions, and who reads a whole dictionary for pleasure. But if you dip into a particular section, or just randomly, you are almost certain to find something to make you smile. Keep it on your bookshelves for reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Nifty, brief and powerful writing that isn't meant to be anything other than a succinct digest. Helpful for media students and teachers without personal experience of the paper news world and its view: maybe the acerbic humour born of the media warfare state of mind may not be understood at first glance but I can sadly assure you it's genuine.
Kindle format works best in portrait setting and index is handy and functional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
An interesting book for any would be journalist or anyone who is interested in the phrases and language they use. Gym slip mothers and the like.

I picked up the kindle version for 99p, and I would not pay anymore for it, there are amusing parts, but most of the material is something you would read on a blog for free rather than pay for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I rarely take time out of my day to write a review on amazon but I must say this book is well worth picking up, if not for yourself then as a great stocking filler!

I never really gave much thought into the origin of phrases such as 'mad cow disease' or the fact that the scientific term may be something different.

Also love the fact that the language of journalese is never complete. I constantly find myself coming up with new phrases which I will be sure to pass onto Robert Hutton for volume II.

Get buying people.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
"'Coffers' – where organisations of which we disapprove keep their money"

Hutton has cleverly identified the way that newspapers use language (often language never found outside of newspapers) to suit their agenda, and provides an entertaining guide to decoding it. A great book to dive into occasionally, especially when irritated with the media! So always.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
This is simply the funniest book on journalism I've ever read and every journalist should read it.

If you are a journalist or a media studies student, buy it. If you love a journalist, buy it for them. If neither apply, I think it'll still make you laugh - and probably horrify you in places too.

Hutton has a brilliant ear for the language of news and an insider's knowledge of how newspapers work. So this is not just an exhaustive list of journalists' jargon: every definition is funny because it exposes, in our own words, the arcane or hyperbolic vocab we use to turn something into a story.

The book is divided into lots of short sections covering every part of a paper - from crime to the Royals to sport. This makes it very dippable, although I read it straight through in two sittings, thrilled to recognise my tribal language.

Can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Any follower of news is going to instantly resonate with Rob Hutton's brilliant explanation of the language of newspapers.

This is an affectionate book, written by an insider who clearly loves journalism while being highly attuned to its oddities and idiosyncrasies. The result is both illuminating and extremely funny. I laughed out loud on nearly every page.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I cried with laughter at Rob Hutton's best definitions of journalists' words. Romps, Tots and Boffins is very clever and very funny. Enjoy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Absolutely fantastic. So so accurate, been waiting ages for a book like this covering something that's irritated me for years.
Brilliant

I certainly wont be jamming any hotlines or launching a foul mouthed tirade!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Romps, Tots and Boffins is an amusing compendium of journalese, those idiosyncratic words and phrases that seem to only exist within the pages of newspapers and that are often multi-layered with peculiar meaning. Long-term newsman Robert Hutton has collated this excellent tribute to hyperbole and doublethink and there's bound to be something among the collected inanities to make everyone smile. A couple of favourite examples of journalese that I seem to have encountered a lot in this week's papers: "multimillion - what all developments are. Even a scout hut costs a million these days," "hellraiser - male star who 20 years ago could make women faint by taking his shirt off but who now is just a tubby drunk" and "Svengali - reference to an 1894 novel and a 1931 film. Now always preceded by `pop' and followed by `Simon Cowell'. It means, to those to whom it means anything, someone like Simon Cowell."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)