Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2016
This is one of those albums that doesn't come along very often. Alison's Goldfrapps breathy pitch perfect soprano voice compliments the range of melodies and simple instrumental arrangements on this album. The result is a breathtakingly original and enchanting album. One where it's clear the people involved are seriously talented. I won't go on about the sound goldfrapp create, because that's down to you but anyone who likes modern music should have a good thing to say about this album.
I was listening to this with a group of friends on a ski holiday in Switzerland on a portable iPod speaker sitting on a balcony opposite a mountain with the sun going down whilst drinking wine. It felt like 'felt mountain'. A number of them hadn't heard of Goldfrapp but all said the album complimented the scene and they all went out and bought it on returning home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 November 2015
I just repurchased this as had misplaced the original and wanted it in CD quality. Still beautiful and captivating all these years later and the bonus disc is worth getting for the alternate tracks if you haven't heard it before. Easily Goldfapp's best album in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Their first album, an enigmatic avant garde work which gets top marks from me. Alison Goldfrapp has a really great voice and the composition of each of the tracks is outstanding. I can listen to this a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Chilled, lovely, always will be their best album BUT a must for any music fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
This album is gorgeous, powerful. Goldfrapp at their best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Very please with this album love it love it and very speedy at receiving it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
I had never heard of Goldfrapp before their 'Ooh La La' single release, I had heard their name popped around, but never knew exactly who they were. My sister bought me their 3rd album 'Supernature' this Christmas and I really enjoyed their upbeat, disco and dance/electronic sound, I was curious to find out what other albums they had released. I came across this album and read all of the reviews and was captivated just by reading them through, people couldn't explain this albums sound and were mesemerised by it's melodic beauty. I bought this alongside their 2nd release 'Black Cherry' just yesterday and am totally enchanted by the songs and Alison Goldfrapps gorgeous vocals enveloping all of the songs. Stand out tracks for me are: 'Lovely Head, 'Human', 'Pilots' and 'Utopia', the others are also gorgeous, I'll have to give them all another listen and I'm sure they will also become my favourites! It is true what another reviewer has said, you may be scared to try such a different style from what you like, but I'm sure this album could have a place in anyones heart, roll on their 4th album!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
What a beautiful recording, and so evocative. The presentation is very pretty indeed and you will be dreaming of snowy forests and mountains before you know it. The lush vocals from Alison Goldfrapp lend the songs a haunting, seductive edge and the music blends electronics, whistling and classical instruments to create a piece of genuine beauty. There is only one track I would choose to skip, but most are brilliant. The best numbers include Lovely Head, Human, Utopia, Paper Bag and Pilots.
One small quibble would be that the production lets it down in places. You want to turn it up loud but the whistling can be a little piercing, so you may find yourself turning down the treble. This is only a minor whinge though and certainly does not detract from the beauty of this record. If you like seductive, cinematic, relaxing music then buy this now.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
A Beautiful and unique collection of Rich music Golfrapp style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2001
Bristol has yet another reason to be proud of its musical talent. Comparisons have been made between Goldfrapp and other Bristol-seeded artsists (Tricky, Massive Attack, Portishead). Members of my family still think Iggy Pop sounds like Lou Reed sounds like David Bowie -- and I think it's the same thing going on here: Goldfrapp may come from the same family as their peers...but they look different, they sound different, and they definitely THINK different. As a long-time fan of movie-music maestro Ennio Morricone (he wrote the scores for THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE UGLY... ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST... and THE MISSION among many, many others) it's so exciting to find a band that not only openly acknowledges his influence (both Ennio and spaghetti western director Sergio Leone are thanked in the sleeve notes) but use it in such a creative way. (There's nothing wrong with hommage and reference - and if you're gonna steal, steal from the best!) People have heard and commented upon the spectre of the great John Barry in Goldfrapp's work, but the whistling, the string arrangements, the lyric-less vocalisations - they all reach out to Morricone's best work. I was smiling non-stop through the album's title track - FELT MOUNTAIN - which is like a 21st Century companion piece to a track Morricone wrote for Leone's spaghetti western DUCK YOU SUCKER (or A FISTFUL OF DYNAMITE)...a perfect match in many respects, and a joy to hear. In the same way, UTOPIA contains elements of Morricone's theme to the French 60s crime thriller THE SICILIAN CLAN, and Alison Goldfraps' vocals share a dream-like quality with Morricone's work alongside 60s Italian chanteuese Verushka. It's great to be reminded that today's artists not only possess profound talent, but also demonstrate exquisite taste!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)