Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
In Your Room
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 31 December 2008
Having been a Yazoo collector for years, this box set sadly doesn't feature any tracks or remixes that I don't already own on cd. The biggest omission to me is the wonderful "Get Set" they recorded for a BBC show. With all the BBC performances featured on In Your Room, I was extremely disappointed to see that Get Set had not been included.

Having said that, I was very excited about hearing both Yazoo albums remixed in 5.1 stereo. These surround versions are very different in some places to the stereo mixes, to a point where whole notes are missing, parts are mixed into the background to being almost in-audible, and other parts that were background noises before, now become lead sounds. In some cases it works out beautifully, in others it is very annoying to find your favourite sound practically gone from the mix (the rhythmic, crispy synth sound right before "Hey baby!" in Walk Away From Love!). Also listen to the intro of Walk Away From Love; the drums and bass crash in quite crudely, where originally it builds up very smoothly.

Then, there is the overall extreme compression of the 5.1 mixes, making them sound extremely "in your face". This is especially obvious on Vince's voice in I Before E Except After C, making it almost uncomfortable to listen to.

So, are these mixes an improvement? I think they are a very interesting re-interpretation, and offer insight into the tracks, giving you the chance to hear certain parts for the first time, Alison's voice sounding very clear and crisp. You'll discover bits you didn't realize were in there (even extra dialogue in Ode To Boy, right after "that I'm in awe of his despair"!)

All in all, still a great buy, even for the avid collector like me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2008
It would be easy to underestimate the influence of Yazoo: only two albums and a handful of singles before they went their separate ways. Like all great bands, Yazoo was a combination of individually brilliant musicians. The juxtaposition of Moyet's powerhouse bluesy voice with Clarke's minimal yet funky electronics was a kind of proto-house music but a good three years before Detroit and Chicago took to the dancefloor.

However, it's simply great songwriting that underpins the Yazoo sound - 'Only You' being the best example - an instant classic when in was released in 1982. Personally, I love the soaring, exuberant pop of tracks such as 'Don't Go' and 'Situation' as well as the brooding melancholy of 'Midnight' or 'Ode To Boy'. If, like me, you're a fan of electronic and dance music, listen to Yazoo and you'll appreciate their influence on plethora of artists and producers who followed - right up to the present day. This is a sound investment for any self-respecting music fan. Even if you've got the original vinyl releases.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2008
Fall in love with Yazoo all over again with this wonderful package.

The DVD mixes of the albums bring a whole new life to the songs, and lift the keyboards and synths to another level not previously heard.

Lovely booklet with rare photo's, lyrics etc.

DVD Interview is a great telling of the Yazoo story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 June 2012
An incomplete history of Yazoo to the date of release, "In Your Room" presents the albums, as is, in their UK configurations, in remastered form. The audio sounds fine on all the discs - a third CD contains in chronological form the non-album material from their singles - though only five songs are on there, with five seperate remixes of "Situation" : it certainly is not a record to listen to. In perhaps a baffling move, many of the bands rare material - the TV theme tune for "Get Set", and the post split remixes of "Only You", "Don't Go", "Nobody's Diary", and "Situation" are absent. Also missing is the 1982 London show broadcast by the BBC. By definition then, this is an incomplete but still weighty guide to the bands work during its short lifespan. The DVD contain a 40 minute documentary, 20 minutes of promos, eight TV appearances, and the two LP's in 5.1 form. It's not by any definition insubstantial, but this release would benefit from the extra missing material. If you want a quick hit of everything Yazoo that is essential, this is it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 July 2008
This is a fantastic complete collection of the fantastic 80's syntheseiser duo Yazoo (Alison Moyet and Vince Clarke). It contains both of their albums, Upstairs At Eric's (No. 2 in 1982) and You And Me Both (No. 1 in 1983) and a third CD of A-B Sides and 12" Remixes and a DVD of both the albums in 5.1 Mix, Promotional Videos, A Short Film and Yazoo At The BBC.

It contains the classic "Only You" which made No. 2 in the charts in April 1982 and my favourite track of theirs "The Other Side Of Love" which made No. 13 in November 1982. The 7" and 12" mixes are on CD3 of this collection as it did not appear on either albums.

If you are a fan of the 80's then this is a must buy for your collection, you won't be disappointed. This is a fantastic value for money box set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2008
I can't wait for my place in the 5th row at wolves civic to see them live in the next few weeks, but in the meantime, this REALLY BRINGS OUT how brilliant the pairing of Alison and Vince were for a year and a half; especially in dts 5.1 surround.

The video to accompany the package, the package design itself, the two complimentary stereo remasters on seperate cd's AND the vids PLUS b sides and t.v. appearances....INCREDIBLE VALUE all round.

But as a musician/producer/soundtrack composer, its the 5.1 remixes that shine so brightly its unreal. It's ironic when you consider the material is quite dark and sardonic- especially for the second album- but these two albums are INCREDIBLE in themselves, and this anniversary repackage was MUCH NEEDED. Go out there and grab yourself a copy! :-D
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2014
When Yazoo disintegrated into a pile of ashes during the recording of their second album You and Me Both, music fans the world over were completely unaware of how bad things had become between Alison Moyet & Vince Clarke. It wasn't until the release of the album and huge hit single Nobody's Diary that an announcement was made that the group were finished. Kaput! It was a huge disappointment for fans that all the innovation in music recording, song writing and production that Alf and Vince had pioneered was over. I really got into the cold electronic plink plonk synth sounds coupled with brilliant lyrics that gave the listener a true electro experience with emotion. Take the lyrics to Only You for example. "Looking from a window above it's like a story of love...". Not the sort of words usually associated with 1980's electronic music.

Released in 2008, the Yazoo box set In Your Room does a pretty good job at capturing everything this genre defining duo recorded. Those hoping for a warts and all anthology style set may be a little disappointed. There are no outtakes or demos. What's collected here though is mighty fine music. The two albums Yazoo issued, "Upstairs at Eric's" and "You and Me Both" remastered for the 21st century sound the best they ever have on cd. There is a third cd rounding up the famous B-sides, remixes and the single only titles. But the real bonus of the set is the dvd.

On the dvd you have both albums in high resolution 5.1 dts 96/24 and PCM stereo as well as a Dolby Digital 5.1 if your A/V system can't decode dts. The 5.1 mixes, in particular the dts mixes are amazingly spacious for music that is not multi layered (the first album was recorded on only 8 tracks). Alf is front and centre but Vince Clarke's beats, bleeps and samples fill your room in all their 16 bit glory. The two albums in 5.1 are followed by A Short Film, "2 Albums, 4 Singles and that was it...". Great to hear from Vince, Alison and many others involved behind the scenes. The doco is followed by all promo videos and 9 appearances on various BBC programmes.

The two albums are housed individually in separate cd cases with original cover artwork and lyrics in the booklets. Cd 3 and the dvd are in a slim double disc cd case. This booklet has scans of the many alternate Polaroids featuring the mannequins photo shoot for the first Yazoo album and content info for cd 3 and the dvd. There are no lyrics for the B-sides or single only releases. The story of Yazoo is told by way of text and pictures in the cd sized 62 page soft cover book. There are many rare pictures and document reproductions inside this fantastic book that rounds off the box set experience.

Alison and Vince have both had successful careers since those two very brief head spinning years back at the start of the 1980's. Vince tried out a few other singers before he found Andy Bell by way of advertising in a local music magazine for a vocalist. They formed the hugely successful duo Erasure, a selection of their hits can be found here "Total Pop! - The First 40 Hits". They've just released their 16th album "The Violet Flame". Alison had success as a solo artist almost immediately after the Yazoo project had finished with her first solo album "Alf" and continues to record and tour to this day.

For a career retrospective In Your Room achieves exactly that. The added bonus of video content and stunning 5.1 mixes that can only be found on the dvd component of this set makes it an even more exemplary addition to the Yazoo catalogue and an essential fan purchase. Highly recommended.

"For The Times We Had...For The Good The Bad...For The Happy The Sad..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2010
I absoloutley love this set! Mute have always beenthe consumate label, striving to give a service, not always profit minded. This box set encompasses Yazoo's entire early output, apart from the theme tune to GET SET, it is a celebration and document of Yazoo as an inovative and pivotal part of the early 80's synthpop explosion.

The magic is in the melding of synthetics and blues voice, the combination ecstatic in the extreme.. the standout for me is the beginning of Midnight, from upstairs at eric's, Alf's unaccompanied peign joined in a few bars by Vince's arpegiated backing, it always sends a shiver etc..

I dont beleive it can be underestimated the impact of this group, the very fact they only performed something like 24 shows in there heyday highlights the fragile/volatile nature of the combination. The Re-connected gigs in 2008 gave a perfect ending to the story, fans including myself left moved by being in the proximity of something really special.

Some have commented on the cost of the package, but it is extemely good value for what you get, and the inclusion of 5.1 is my particular favourite icing. If you are lucky this package is sold for around the £18 mark, which is virtually giving it away..
Today I think we expect something for nothing, but everything should have a value, and this particular jem is priceless.. use your hard earned cash to own a near definitive box of delights, if you like Yazoo, or pop music from this era, this is for you in a big way..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2010
This box set can not go wrong. It includes everything recorded and released by Yazoo in their all too brief 18 month carrer from spring 1982 to the summer of 1983. So that's two brilliant albums and a handful of great b-sides re-mixes and one stand alone single. Aside from a few tracks (I Before E Except After C and Happy People spring to mind) everything here is suffused with brilliance, the type of which is not often found, two dissperate people from different musical viewpoints coming together to make some wonderful music, which, for me, is a wonderful reminder of the time from which they came from. Pure pop joy often infused with a darker undertone, Don't Go and Situation nuzziling up against Winter Kills, smiles to snarls.
The documentary on the DVD is fascinating and includes all the major players in the Yazoo story, the BBC apperences are a mind jolt back to the times for anyone of my age (although the BBC performance of the unreleased track Get Ready is oddly missing)the remasters are great, the 5.1 mixes on the DVD are interesting if not wholly successful. However if you love Yazoo you'll adore 'In Your Room', if you don't know Yazoo apart from a couple of hits, invest in this, you'll not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2011
I was originally going to buy just the 2 albums separately, but then I spotted this Box-set (I didn't even know it existed) and decided to buy this instead. OK it is a bit pricey, but In terms of content, the Box-set is great and I won't be-grudge it because of the price. The sound quality is excellent and the albums are a joy to listen to, (I had them on vinyl years ago). The 5.1 versions of the albums are weird but still great to listen to. The extra CD and DVD are great and Yazoo's videos are enjoyable to watch. I can remember the top of the pops performances and the cheggars plays pop one the first time they were shown. The documentary on the dvd is both interesting and informative, both Alison & Vince appear on it and talk openly about their experiences with Yazoo and how they got together etc, it's such a shame that they were only together for just over a year! I would recommend this item without a doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)