Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2014
You can't always get what you want...! This is the phrase, reiterated by The Rolling Stones, that springs to mind when reveiwing this box set album. The packaging is fantastic, and I like the artwork too - no complaints there.

My disappointment is one that I'm sure Terry Farley can relate to. In the sleeve notes Farley himself expresses his frustration with the cul-de-sacs that he found himself in when trying to contact respective artists, or management, or label bosses. Some were no more, either passed away, moved on to different things or just had no contact number or address whatsoever. This is a great shame, because it seems very clear that with all of Farley's chosen tracks, this 5CD would've been far more consistent & a more comprehensive example of the quality Acid & Deep House music of the era.

This is not to say that the tunes on this set are bad - absolutely not. There are some great tunes, some favourites, some forgotten gems & some timeless tracks - big names on the scene too. It's just that, one can't help feeling that there are more fillers than one would've expected from such a venture. This is the only reason for the 4 stars instead of the 5.

Good on him for doing this though. REWIND!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
What can I say? If you were going out in '88 through '91 ish, you'll know a lot of these tracks but what is incredible is how fresh they still sound - I think maybe that is partially down to the sequencing of the tracks and Terry in this respect has done an amazing job! This compilation just flows so nicely and you can leave it on without having to skip too many.

I remember going to early nights like Outer Limits in '89 and hearing Eddie Richards playing amazing tracks and never knowing what they were - well here we have at least three that I've listened to on recordings of those nights over the past 20 odd years and now I know what the tracks are! Awesome - highlights for me include School Hall M.E - Let your body talk - Ace and the Sandman and It's you - Mr and Mrs Dale

Get it on!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I had high hopes for this box set, not least because it is compiled by the legend that is Terry Farley.

61 Chicago acid tracks - they sound dated in a way, but played loud they still have that energy that made us fall in love with this genre.

I don't normally buy CDs but was attracted by this box set, and at this price it is an absolute bargain too.

A real gem.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
In 1989, I was in my early teens. I used to hang around in the record stores all the time. In one of them, they had managed to get their hands on a box set called "The History Of The House Sound Of Chicago". I was really into House Music at the time (too), and although I never read the track list, I really wanted to buy that vinyl collection. I expected it to be packed with hardcore Trax and DJ International stuff, records that never came to my home town in Sweden. But I simply couldn't afford to buy it.

I saw it in 2nd hand shops a few times afterwords, at even higher prices. Oh, I really wanted it.

Several years later, a friend got hold of an badly compressed mp3 version of the complete 15 CD version. It soon turned out to be quite a good collection of 80's dance music: Proto-disco Boogie. English/Dutch Collage House. House remixes of Pop songs. Italo. OK, there were some proper Chicago House tracks but they were a minority of the tracks.

What I really wanted to buy in that store more than 20 years ago, was this collection. This is 100 % proper Acid House and Deep House, most of it from the Trax label. It is a carefully made selection of both well-known (well, relatively) tracks like Mr Fingers "Can You Feel IT" and Frankie Knuckles "Baby Wants To Ride", and really obscure tracks. No fillers, though, all are quality tracks. Well, I do miss some tracks like Mr Lee "Pump Up Chicago" and a few DJ International songs. But you can't have it all.

Add a thick booklet with all the information you can possibly ask for regarding the songs and a in-depth look at the house scene in Chicago during the late 80's.

As always when Harmless makes a collection like this, the sound quality is great, especially since some of the songs are transferred from 12" vinyl.

Just one thing makes me slightly disappointed: The posters pictured in the booklet are from UK events in the 00's, not from the period in Chicago.

If you are interested in the original acid house scene, this is the box for you. And the price is just a tenth of that 1988 box set!
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
As some who caught the tail end of the UK Acid House seen this 5 cd collection provides an amazing introduction to some of the best tunes that were coming out of the motor city. The best thing is that Farley has found some amazing tracks that dont appear on your standard Ministry of Sound, best of, banging, hacienda, collections
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
An excellent collection of old skool acid and house from it's origin days. Split over five cds, each with a general - though generally vague - theme this is a must for anyone who was there, and for anyone who is interested in the beginnings of the acid sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
One of the best compilation ever assembled, five full discs and almost every track is a gem. A few classics are missing due to license issues and other problems, so let's hope for a volume 2!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Very much enjoyed researching the history of this story through the excellent essay in the booklet and the trax.
I ordered the tracks in iTunes via 'Year' order in view settings... and follow the history unfolding... great stuff.. lovely package
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
A compilation of the best acid house tracks put together by Terry Farley who has a vast knowledge of the scene and was involved in it from the start.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Some absolute classics, along with some lesser known ones, but this typifies the period just after Chicago House got hold of the UK. While I have most of the vinyl anyway, it's cool to have a single box with it all in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)