Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 October 2013
Absolutely brilliant - 12 Stops' grown up brother. Having struggled to successfully follow up their debut - Join With Us too messy in places, Together We Are made too polished - this is a welcome return. A triumph. The piano on Fall like Rain is a wonderful bit of musical imagery. Other standout tracks are Gloves are Off, Blue Murder and I Just Do - which has a wonderful dramatic build. Not a duff track on the main CD. And its so good that I won't mark it down for the bonus disc - in fairness, it does say its 'outtakes' but I didn't realise quite how rough and unproduced they would sound. Not worth the extra cash! So - buy the very marvelous single CD.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
There is no doubt that the Feeling produce some rollicking good tunes and from that point of view there isn't really a weak track on this album. In fact unlike some other reviewers, I find most of the tracks instantly memorable. After one listen I was singing along. There are some golden moments vocally as well. The rather controlled textureless vocals to which they are prone, give way to less controlled rock like gravel on some of the more soaring choruses. On other occasions they become quite intimate and fragile.

So why only 3 stars? Well, the lyrics are pretty mature and quite clever but they all seem to be of one theme - self pity after a relationship break up. After a while this starts to grate a bit and becomes quite annoying. So all in all, a pretty good effort but can be a bit too much to swallow lyrically.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
After a (too) long break the lads are back with their own blend of sounds and emotive lyrics. More hard edged than before, but another great album indeed. I bought the deluxe version, which has a bonus CD of studio "jamming" etc, which doesn't cut it for me. Actually switched it off mid play. I wouldn't suggested getting the deluxe version. That said the main album is TOPS!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This is a welcome return by The Feeling to their pop oriented sound which was so successful on their debut album Twelve Stops And Home. They've never quite produced an album as consistent as their first in my opinion. Join With Us had some great tracks but a lot of filler on there. Together We Were Made contained some very good singles but the change to a more dance driven sound was misguided. With that record, it almost seemed like The Feeling were trying to reach a different audience but by doing so, somewhat lost the very essence of what made them a great band in the first place. Their fourth studio album, The Boy Cried Wolf brings the piano to the fore a bit more and is a better album because of it. Standout tracks are Blue Murder, Rescue, The Gloves Are Off and I Just Do. There's hints of Supertramp, ELO and Queen with their keyboard driven songs, guitar solos and memorable choruses. The closing song I Just Do is reminiscent of Pink Floyd in places. Overall I think this is a great album which has grown on me with repeated listens. Would definitely recommend for anyone who likes proper pop/rock music.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Took a few plays from start to finish of The Feeling's new album to really appreciate it. Whilst not as commercial as their first two albums, there are still some clever, catchy songs which deserve to be radio hits. These boys deserve continued success.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
This review is for the boxset edition. It contains 2 CDs, 1 DVD and 1 LP, in a really beautiful package.
It has a full songbook, but only a few pictures. As for the CDs, while the album is really good, the second CD doesn't add much to it, as someone previously reviewed. Can't tell anything about the LP, because I don't own the proper equipment to play it. But what I liked most was the DVD. It's quite short, one acoustic session, one acoustic perfomance filmed in the desert and a few films. The acoustic session is really great and worth the extra price. Here's the full content for the DVD:

Off the Lead at the Doghouse:
- You'll See
- Rescue
- Anchor*
- I Just Do
- Blue Murder

Films
- Rescue Music Video*
- Blue Murder Music Video*
- Empty Restaurant
- Anchor (Fan filmed)
- Album teaser*

Acoustic from the desert
- Blue Murder

*Available in the band's official Youtube channel
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This album from The Feeling is a brilliant return to form after a few listens it's instantly become a classic. Timeless melodies and sublime vocals
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Listen to this 2 to 3 times and you will grow to love it. It is a beautiful album with heart felt and at times, heart wrenching lyrics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I was really disappointed with the 3rd album, but the boys are back on form with this one. A Lost Home and Hides in Your Heart are absolutely beautiful. The rest of the album isn't bad either!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
12 Stops from Home was a fantastic album. A classic in my opinion. This shouldn't mean that every future `Feeling' album should be compared to it.

The Boy who cried Wolf is very good CD in its own right. It's a much more sombre affair that relies heavily on melancholic piano and emotional vocals, but somehow manages to enrich their identity. This is definitely worth investing in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)