Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
80
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 October 2013
.. as much as it pains me to say it,the crown has moved,for many a year STATUS QUO LIVE from the Glasgow Apollo has been the jewel in the crown,my CD from the recent Frantic Four gig at the O2 academy, Glasgow,2013 ran it close,this however,well it eclipses it and i dont say that lightly.

From start to finish the band are on top form and the crowd just carries them forward,levelling everything in their way.The raw emotion from the fans just flowing from the speakers,the hair tingling reaction to Rossi introducing Lancaster and Coghlan,gets me everytime.

Yes there are a few bum notes here and there,its live ,what do you expect,this is a stunning album,compiled from the 2 Hammersmith gigs, captured forever for the fans.The set list is superb,the majority of the tracks were found on the original 'Live' album but its the little nuggets,rarely ,if ever played, from the past that stand out,listen to the groove on 'April,Spring,Summer & Wednesday,the blues of 'Railroad',the classic album tracks 'Oh Baby' and 'Blue Eyed Lady' and you cant possibly not warm to the crowd sing along on 'Most Of The Time'.

Live album of the year,absolutely, i cant recommend this high enough.5 stars all the way.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
For many fans of the band known as Status Quo this is the return of the definitive lineup of the band. A great rock band rather than the later version that chased the pop single market leading to the end of True Status Quo in 1981.
The band continue today but its a shadow of the True Frantic Four.
No crappy keyboards just a rock band. This is the remixed version of the highlights from the two nights at Hammersmith.
For fans of the band it's an electric recording. From set opener Juniors wailing to restored set closer Bye bye Johnny the number one rock n roll band in the land has returned. Previously unheard live songs mixed with classic live songs.
It's an absolute pleasure to listen to.
Is there a better way... I don't think so.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
There cant' be a Quo fan out there who hasn't been waiting for this for 30 years. With only one double live album from 1977 and the inexplicable lack of any release of the End of the Road stuff from 1984, it's been slim pickings as far as live albums go from the classic Quo. Well this takes care of some of that ( I want the '84 stuff issued, NOW! ) and in fine style. The band are in fine form and set list is outstanding, although no Roll over or Caroline, that was unexpected, but if it allows for lost classics like April and Oh Baby to be in the set, that's fine by me. A fine live album from one of the greatest rock bands of all time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Great to hear the Frantic Four back together again! all be it with slightly less franticness than the original 1976 Live album.
Rossi's comments about the band being slightly under rehearsed are true, but the atmosphere at the reunion gigs was amazing, with the Hammersmith crowds here belting out every word and riff!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
A fantastic album loved it all, hard and rocking. How could this band that can do this once degrade themselves to the VERY awful Coronation street dross programme, adverts and a rather embarrassing film ! This is where Quo are at. I look forward to getting the DVD now too !!!!!! More of this Quo no need for stupid things anymore
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
If you like Quo`s music this is a must, the old LIVE album re-visited.
It`s pure unadulterated Quo doing what they do best! Great to hear the original line up once again. And even if you don`t like them... buy it !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I have never seen these four of the band but hope to this year as they are touring again. A brilliant album in the old style of Quo.
I must confess as a Quo fan club member, I maybe a little biased!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
At last status quo have got back to what they do best playin foot tapping head nodding rock. Very good live album. Some mistakes but excellent. I love it, if you like guitar rock I think you will like this album too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A great cd with all my old favourites. Good to hear them back together again, voices change over the years, but they still sound good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I'm no die-hard Quo-fan to begin with. But I knew from way back in the 70s and 80's that they 'had some good songs'... But my brother-in-law in Norway had talked me into going a concert with the five-piece 'New Quo' in my hometown in Oslo, Norway some 5-7 years ago. And that was worth the money and the time - and the 30 minute trip by car.

But this time he was rather on fire about the frantic four reunion. Again i came along for the ride - and some more good songs. And again it was worth the time (two and a half day) and the money (altogether about £ 3-400) and the ride three plane rides ( via Copenhagen to Manchester coming in, six hours waiting in Copenhagen), hotel, walks to and from the Apollo queuing in the rain etc. etc.) - Coz the concert with the frantic four was just great rock music. Thanx guys!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)