Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
12
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2017
Mexican horrors always make me happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Didn't know that the DVD was Spanish. I thought I could change the language. I can't. Just bad luck that I didn't read about it first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this on impulse as the blurb said it was from the Producers of The Innkeepers [DVD] which is one my favourite recent ghostly movies and it was worth it.
It is in Spanish with English subtitles but if you are Ok with that you will hopefully enjoy it as I did.
There's plenty flesh visible as our sexually liberated couple Felix and Sol are making out in their car when children Sara and Adolfo head off into the hills to explore.
When the children don't return the couple panic and report the disappearance to the local police, the next day the children are found by the Police and are reunited with their distraught parents.
The children however are somehow different and the parents fear they may have been molested and suspicion falls on a local oddball but the truth is far stranger.
It's a brilliant well paced movie that builds the tension up well and throws more than enough curved balls along the way to maintain interest. I guessed part of the main plot twist but the ending goes one step further.

There are no extras at all.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I saw a clip of this film & as previous Spanish horror films I have seen have been good I bought this DVD.

To be honest I am struggling to find anything good to say about the film. The storyline is good but the way it has been filmed & acted is not good.
The English subtitles are generally on light backgrounds so impossible to read & that is where I shall leave it for fear of swearing.

Not a film I can recommend.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
This is truly a terrible film, the first 15minutes is just pointless nudity and sexual reference and the rest of the film is badly shot with what is honestly the worst acting I have seen in my life, seriously give it a miss people...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I found this film disappointing the story was confusing,maybe it was me, but
It was muddled and not at all like. What I expected,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
Again another film that's hard to describe without spoilers. Yes the first 10mins are sex for a reason. While the parents are going at it they re 2 children go missing on a mountain. After 12hrs of frantic looking for them they suddenly appear.
From here on there's a weird mix of euro cinema and normal commercial. The parents demise comes with the twist. Still its a remarkably odd, different but understandable twist, connected with the need for sex over a Childs safety (ergo ANTICHRIST).

The kids are excellent, sufficiently creepy, and suspense starts from word go.
Unusual and original I have it a sufficient 8/10

kids are e,cell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
So what didn't I like?
It took a while to really grab me and draw me into the story line.
Starts out with some tacky sexual scenes that make you wonder what the rest of the movie is going to be like
The spanish speaking with english subtitles can be a bit distracting and frustrating
It was obviously low budget with only a couple of locations used and only a few actors

What I did like?
Once you get past the first 30 minutes it does start drawing you into the storyline
It has a twist that is good and interesting
It was blood and guts horror but more of a "think about" it type approach

Overall it wasn't bad but I wouldn't rave about it.
If you can get it for a cheap price and are running out of movies to watch then this is ok.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
First of all, I must admit that the region 2 dvd cover looks awful and makes the film look like it might some awful and cheap straight to dvd low budget horror, it's better if you seek out the region 1 edition from Magnolia Home Entertainment, plus it has lots of extras. Perhaps we are seeing a revolution in Mexican horror cinema today. Along with Jorge Michel Grau's excellent We Are What We Are (2010), a story about a family of inner city cannibals, who must also like the Mexican horror film industry face change or disappear. After a jarring opening of sex and blood, Here Comes the Devil is a unnerving, taunt and tension filled tale about a family that starts coming apart after a family trip to the outskirts of Tijuana. Felix (Francisco Barreiro) and his wife Sol (Laura Caro) are holidaying with their children, Adolfo (Alan Martinez) and Sara (Michele Garcia). Their vacation is pleasant but uneventful - at one point, it seems that it will mainly be remembered as the place where Sara first had her period.

However, events soon spiral out of control when the kids are encouraged to go exploring local rocks on a nearby hill so the parents can chill. Felix and Sol take the peace and quiet as a chance to indulge in some heavy petting in their car, and fall asleep afterwards. When they awake, it's getting dark and the kids are nowhere to be seen. Panic sets in as the police instigate a search of the area while Felix and Sol argue over who's to blame for this turn of events. It hardly helps when the attendant at the local garage tells them those rocks are said to be cursed.

Eventually the police return with the kids in the back of their car. Panic over, the family retire to their home. But Sol soon notices how withdrawn Adolfo and Sara have become. Neither will speak of what happened to them in the cave where they were found. So, their parents determine to find out the truth by other methods. A child psychologist is employed. Through a series of gentle interviews, he ascertains that Sara suffered a sexual trauma of some description while in the cave. When the kids are coaxed into drawing pictures of their experience, all they offer are crude illustrations of a red pick-up truck. Felix remembers spotting one nearby, on the night the kids went missing. A spot of local sleuthing puts Felix and Sol onto the truck's owner, the creepy loner Lucio (David Arturo Cabezud), and they set about exacting their revenge.

But the kids are behaving increasingly odd at home, lying about where they spend their days and sharing silent secrets between one another. Sol is still not convinced that they know the truth about what happened in the cave, or how it could possibly tie in with the legend of a serial killer who vanished among the rocks. But she's determined to find out ... The real star of this film is the direction of Bogliano. From the very opening of this film he creates an atmosphere of tight slow unwinding tension that builds to the perfect closing shot that like the master Mario Bava is a very subversive wink at the audience.

You can tell instantly that the film was heavily inspired by 70's euro-cult horror with it's zooming in on peoples faces and it's intense atmosphere. Bogliano's script ensures that Felix and Sol are realistic characters, easily identified with and therefore our empathies are with them as they sink deeper into their emotional abyss. Performances are uniformly strong, with Caro taking top honours for her fine balance of vulnerability, sexuality and resolve. The child actors are basically required to adopt a permanently cold, detached stance and do this with skill.

Local landscapes are used well to give the film a look that is simultaneously warm and foreboding: the rock-covered hills that the kids vanish into are a character unto themselves: all sinister, inviting beauty and threat. Spattered with a couple of decent gore scenes and a persistent chill in the air, Here Comes the Devil is an intelligent and technically accomplished horror drama that builds to a satisfyingly chilling twist climax. It didn't go unnoticed, either, that the film boasts its fair share of pretty outrageous muostaches. When it comes down to it this is a smart fun horror film that recalls those classic European grindhouse films that were cheaply made in the 70's & 80's without much fanfare. No doubt it's a Fantastic film and my pick for Horror film of the year.

Magnet is good to their Blu-ray buyers, usually packing their discs with as much extra material as possible. This disc includes an audio commentary, featurettes, an extended scene, a photo gallery, and trailers. The audio commentary with director Adrián García Bogliano is energetic and full of demystifying information if you want to know more about the film. Extended nightmare scene is exactly what it sounds like. "Behind the Scenes Comparisons" is a featurette that runs for 6 minutes and 26 seconds. Footage of the actors blocking out shots on set are shown while a small picture-in-picture window shows how the shots look in the finished film. "Rehearsals" is a featurette reel of the actors running over their lines. "Behind the Scenes Photo Gallery" featurette is a series of shots from set."AXS TV: A Look at the Here Comes the Devil" (1080i) is a featurette that runs for 2 minutes and 55 seconds. Director Bogliano and the cast talk about the film's plot, some of its meanings and hit the expected marks in this EPK. And finally we have a bunch of trailers for other films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Great concept and so much potential to be an amazing film. Just felt like it could have been executed better !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.92
£3.95
£2.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)