Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
37
Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£68.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 October 2015
Yes, it is a bit pricey. I was fortunate to buy this some time ago for a lot less. I was also fortunate enough to have grown up with Jon Pertwee & primarily Tom Baker as my doctors,in the 1970`s, at a time when Doctor Who really was at the height of its popularity - often referred to by critics alike, as the `Golden Age`. Which brings me to my point here, that this Boxset, i feel would mainly be of real interest to the fans in their forties and beyond, who,like myself, grew up absolutely adoring the man with the long scarf, and lived for those Saturday evenings at grans in front of the telly. If you missed it, it was gone for good, or at least untill it was released on vhs years later! Which brings me to my second point, in that, yes `Terror of the Zygons` is available with all the extras elsewhere, and `Genesis of the Daleks` audio has been available for years. But it is a nice boxset & the `Time Capsule` theme is a novel idea.Its different & unique,thats what people who buy it are really getting it for. One for the collectors or those old enough to remember Tom the first time around. The man was put on this earth to be Doctor Who !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
Fantastic set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2014
Nice item for a Doctor Who fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2014
verry good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2013
Look at the contents! There's a lot to see. The unique action figure is what originally attracted me, but there is so much else in the box I was amazed. (It takes a lot to amaze me these days!). The heavy card box itself is well made, with a foam lining holding everything in place. Everything inside is of good quality, relevant and, in my opinion, of interest to most fans. Even the DVDs are in special packing which can only be read through the provided filter. A sonic screwdriver, a novel, some other bits and pieces... I am so pleased with this that I can honestly give it 11 out of 10! I'd like a First Doctor set now please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2013
Now there are points of view from both sides on this set, indeed even before they were released there were negative reviews put up about it and then positive reviews put up to counter those. The following is my take on this set that I received this past week. As always this review is based on my own point of view and I encourage you to make up your own minds and if you disagree with it then that's fine. As long as you don't insult others for not conforming to your viewpoint then vive la différence :-D (apologies for the length)

Now the intro/disclamer is out of the way I'll look at what the set includes point by point and mention the good and bad on each point:

* Time Capsule case - this is a good, sturdy container that seals via a magnetic strip. It holds its contents in foam molding that is stuck into the case firmly. Looks very well, perhaps a bit large and bulky to fit easy on a shelf but otherwise top marks for presentation.

* 2 DVDs and 1 CD - Terror of the Zygons (vanilla release), Interview With The Timelord (30 minute interview with Tom Baker)and Genesis of the Daleks on CD. Again Terror will be released with all the extras later in the year but it is nice to be able to view it on DVD at last. The interview with Tom is also good, however I feel there was a missed opportunity to add more. Perhaps they could have included The Tom Baker Years (only available as a double VHS set up to now)as it was an interesting look at him viewing clips from each episode he was in, then seeing his reactions and hearing stories he recalled from on set. As it is, 30 minutes is not enough for fans wanting to know more and at the price of this set extra interview footage would have been much appreciated. Genesis on CD is good to have of course but again I wish they would have added the Terror of the Zygons album containing the score by Geoffrey Burgon along with his work for The Seeds of Doom.

*Tomb of Valdemar - original BBC novel by Simon Messingham set during the Key To Time season. Before Who returned to TV with the 9th Doctor books like these featuring each incarnation of the Doctor were all we had along with the Big Finish audio-plays and comic strips to give us new stories. I have not read this just yet but look forward to doing so. The new cover resembles the walls of the Lord Presidents quarters on Gallifrey that the fourth Doctor took over during The Invasion of Time.

*Photo of the Fourth Doctor and portrait cards of all the Fourths companions - An excellent photo of Tom and very nicely produced cards of his companions. Not much else to say on it really.

*Regenerated Fourth Doctor in Third Doctors clothes - from Planet of the Spiders/Robot. Not sure on the particular vitriol on this, it seems to have had some minor re-sculpting of the Third Doctors torso at least where the frills on the shirt are (though I may be mistaken)and I think that the Fourths headsculpt is fine even if it was used on a previous release. Some call this lazy and shoddy I call it part of the business in reusing molds to save money. They made an effort at least, in my mind, to bring out a regenerated figure and often the home attempts are not always better by any means. So thumbs up for the figure.

*Sonic Screwdriver - The Fourth Doctors sonic screwdriver model, previously released by Character Options. A fine toy of the sonic. Yes it uses the ninth/tenth Doctors sonic soundchip but this was always the case for this toy and not a new problem for this set.

*Red lense - used to decipher the text on the DVD & CD cases.

*Reprinted letter from Tom, double sided - a nice touch of a letter Tom has written the purchasers of this set back in April. Very cool to have in my opinion, just a shame they couldn't have had him actually sign a random 50 or 100 so that some buyers would get something extra.

All in all I feel this is a nice set (not a DVD release as such)and am happy to have gotten it though I do feel it is somewhat overpriced. I have mentioned above what I feel could have been added to make it worth the price so I shall not repeat that here. At the end of it if you don't want to buy it then I can see why and if you do want to buy it I can see why as well. Don't let anyone make your mind up for you but yourself. As well as that do not let other reviews make you feel stupid for wanting/not wanting this set. Do as you will and more power to you :-)
44 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2013
The time capsuls seems pretty expensive but it is just totally value for the money. The contenct is amazing and his letter is really really good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2013
bought this for my nephew who is doctor who mad and he is over the moon with it.
am satisfied.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2013
I like all the items in this boxed set. Nothing in it is amazing but put together you get a lot of fun stuff including some rare items. A good item for collectors and excellent for people who like Doctor Who and want a box of cool items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
Xxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse