Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
7 Classic Albums
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 20 October 2015
This is a great way to get into an underrated star player
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Great value set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2015
very good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
Not so long ago Tubby Hayes CD's were as rare as hens teeth. Indeed, for years the vast majority of his Tempo and Fontana discography was more like a backwater than a back catalogue but recently there has been a small windfall of useful reissues, often at budget price. Proper have released two excellent box sets (with great booklets and photos), Fantastic Voyage put out a great triple CD set, Acrobat issued a six-CD set of his complete Tempo sessions and Avid have weighed in with one of their Classic Albums compilations. There is an overlap between all these issues, but each has its merits. However this new Seven Classic Albums set from Real Gone Jazz might well be the ultimate and desperate final slice of the salami.
It provides exactly what is says on the cover, plus a couple of tracks lifted from Equation in Rhythm, but virtually nothing else. The booklet gives scanty recording details, with the All Night Long personnel not quite ringing true, but by far the worst aspect of this set is the variable "remastering", with albums clearly lifted from other recently issued versions. The worst offender is the Jazz Couriers in Concert material - never the best sounding album in the world - but seemingly taken straight from Avid's muddy remix. It's now close to unlistenable and there appear to be speed problems during the piano solo on The Serpent, leaving the listener feeling like he or she is seasick! The Couriers of Jazz album also now sounds somewhat claustrophobic, but the remainder of the material is in far better shape.

It would be churlish to complain too vociferously about something offered at budget price but whilst Real Gone Jazz may superficially be doing novice fans a service, the handling of the music could actually be devaluing the end product. To conclude on a positive note, this is the sort of set you can buy as a second choice for the car and among its virtues it does at least provide the full All Night Long album, hitherto in and out of print on CD.

Three stars for the concept and packaging. As for Tubby....it's got to be five every time.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2014
OK, I'm biased, I knew Tubbs, his Dad and my Dad were friends but this IS the best British jazz from the 1950s to the 1970s. Tubby Hayes was an exceptional talent and he played with the very best in the UK and (too infrequently) the US. Unlike some of the other recent Tubby releases, this compilation of studio recorded music with the odd live performance thrown in is good audio quality and despite the rather odd configuration on the CDs, is excellent value for money as is the second volume. If you want the very best in British jazz of that period with the very best musicians this is a must buy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2015
Great music, good to a master who would have 80 this but for tragic circumstances, Glad that I was able to hear him live in my youth.
Played the discs, marvellous immerse myself earphones unable to hear wife, what bliss.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Tubby Hayes was born Edward Brian Hayes on 30th January 1935 in England.

I seem to recall the name and his orchestra appearing on all those variety shows that seemed to abound in the 1960s - but being so young I never took much notice.
Tubby died 8th June 1973.

So Tubby Hayes "Seven Classic Albums"

Includes the albums
"The Jazz Couriers In Concert (1958)",
"The Jazz Couriers - The Couriers Of Jazz (1959)",
"Tubby's Groove (1959)",
"Tubbs (1961)",
"Tubbs In NY (1961)",
"All Night Long (1961)" and
"Return Visit (1962)".
Plus (as if That wasn't Enough?)
2 bonus tracks - Jack Costanzo with Tubby Hayes "Equation In Rhythm (1962)".

You get a whole load of LPs and those two bonus tracks! for a really good price.
True there is minimal information in the double wide jewel case's inners BUT
the LPS have been digitally remastered which gives superior sound so we should not grumble.... much.

The Label: Real Gone Jazz has gained a lot of praise for the enhanced sound..

There is now a volume two which means you can get12 of Tubby's Lps/albums for a cheap price on CD.

5 Classic Albums

The main thing is that Amazon, at the time of writing have not given us the track listing so here it is.

Track List:
[Disc 1]
The Jazz Couriers In Concert
1. What Is This Thing Called Loved
2. Some Of My Best Friends Are Blues
3. The Serpent
4. Guys & Dolls
5. Time Was
6. Speak Low
7. Cheek To Cheek
The Jazz Couriers - The Couriers Of Jazz
8. Mirage
9. After Tea
10. Stop The World, I Want To Get Off !
11. In Salah
12. Star Eyes
13. The Monk

[Disc 2]
The Jazz Couriers - The Couriers Of Jazz (cont.)
1. My Funny Valentine
2. Day In Day Out
Tubby's Groove
3. Tin Tin Deo
4. Embers
5. Like Someone In Love
6. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
7. Sunny Monday
8. Blue Hayes
9. The Late One
10. Love Walked In
11. S'posin'
12. Tubbsville
13. R. T. H.
14. Cherokee

[Disc 3]
Tubbs (cont.)
1. Falling In Love With Love
2. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
3. Wonderful! Wonderful!
Tubbs In NY
4. You For Me
5. A Pint Of Bitter
6. Airegin
7. Opus Ocean
8. Soon
9. Doxy

[Disc 4]
All Night Long
1. Overture
2. Noodlin'
3. Sapphire
4. Scott Free
5. Wingate's Spot
6. Dedication To Johnny Hodges
7. Skin Fever
8. Sax Reference
9. The Chase
10. Frenzy
11. Finale
Return Visit
12. Stitt's Tune
13. I See With My Third I
14. Ballad Medley - If I Had You/Alone Together/ For Heaven
15. Afternoon In Paris
16. Lady E
Bonus Tracks
Jack Costanzo with Tubby Hayes
Equation In Rhythm
17. Southern Suite Part 1 (Penitentiary Breakout)
18. Southern Suite Part 2 (Chase & Capture)
19 I Want To Look Around (You Do To Me Tubby!)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
really enjoying this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)