Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
39
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2014
Unfortunately as soon as I tried to screw this alarm to my bike frame the first screw head simply pulled through the plastic (no washers are included with the nuts and bolts), and when tightening the second, even very gently given my earlier experience, the nut pulled through the plastic the other side! A circle of plastic simply popped out of the moulding as the nut tightened, and of course rendered the alarm useless since a thief can now simply pull the alarm off the frame! I appreciate this is about as cheap an alarm as you can buy, but I didn't expect the plastic to be so brittle. If it is this brittle then including washers would help avoid this issue, but the screws that come with it would need to be a tiny bit longer to allow for washers both sides (there are much longer screws included too, but so long they would look quite weird sticking out quite some way). No idea if the alarm does its other job well as never got that far.

For those unaware, this alarm also needs a 9v battery (not included), and if you want to change the code on your alarm to one of your choosing you simply take the battery out, then type in the default code ABCA and then your own. If the alarm was going off you could also just remove the battery, so basically this seems to offer a thief about £3 worth of aggravation factor i.e. the same amount as I've had already with it as the bike owner.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
If someone really wants to steal a bike - they'll find a way. But this is a great solution to making your bike one of the least attractive steals. By its nature a bike is an outside item and previous alarms I've had have suffered from the rain setting them off. This is a nicely sealed unit, which can be mounted discreetly and is highly effective in what it does.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
WARNING; I am very dissapointed with niceEshops, as i ordered two of these alarms but only one arrived. I contacted the seller, and was requested to send a photograph on the package but unfortunately i had binned it when the one had arrived. I cannot understand how a bussiness survives if it cant keep track of whats going out of its doors.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Good product. Bought for my bicycle. Fitted to rear tube. Very loud. It's just enough to give some come-a-long thief enough startle to move on to the next bike. It's a 9v square clipped-in battery, so even if they try and deactivate it or take the battery out - they can't do it in a few seconds. So it's all enough to deter. Instructions are not in clear English but just about understandable. It's 3 buttons (A,B,C) but a 4 digit combination, which will further confuse anyone trying to mess with it. Comes pre-set but gives a feature to change it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
This is truly amazing! Don't go paying through the nose for an expensive one. This does the job at a fraction of the price. You can even set it at 3 different levels of sensitivity too, which is brilliant. Definitely FIVE STARS!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Won't let me change default code, battery campartment too small( once in, battery has to be prized out with tools.
Even set to least sensitivity it's far too sensitive. Goes off if wind blows and causes even the slightest movement.
Will not let me change default code. Instructuins in very broken English, but understandable efter a few reads.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
The concept for this Bike Security Alarm is good and the electronics inside the device works as described. However, the implementation of the alarm unit is poor. This is because the outer casing & fitting is made from a brittle ABS plastic as a single piece. There is very little flexibility in the brittle plastic fitting - that trying to coax and fit it on the bike frame tubing could snap the plastic, rendering the whole device useless. Also the battery cover cannot be opened whilst the device is fitted on the bike. You have to completely remove the device from the bike frame in order to change batteries, which further increases the chance of snapping-off and braking the brittle plastic fitting. After giving it some thought, my work-around solition to fitting this on my bike frame tubing was to gently heat the plastic bracket part of the casing by standing it in a flat bowl of hot water. This gave the plastic some flexibility for the bracket to open out enough and gently work its way round the metal tubing of my bike frame before fixing the screws.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 17 March 2016
I live in South Kensington, a decent neighbourhood, yet my bike would occasionally lose a seat, handle, or have the tire kicked in by idiots.
After installing this alarm. I never lost anything again.
The alarm is loud. I can hear it from my 4th floor flat.

Other good points:
-Weatherproof
-You can set your own code
-The keypad will lock for 3 mins when the wrong code was entered 4 times. Stops thieves from guessing the correct code
-The plastic casing grips well with the seat post or bike frame
-comes with two sets of screws to fit all frames.

Tips:
-screws can rust (like all metal screws) a bit of Oil (WD40) will resolve this problem.

Note: The version I have has adjustable sensitivity levels - other alarms go off with every passing car or garbage truck.

Saved me lots of time and money for having to replace missing or damage parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Stopped working. Tried new PP9 battery; very strange behaviour and what more the noise mechanism has worked loose inside the sealed unit; in the rubbish bin it is consigned In afraid. Generous 1 star for the little use I have had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
It does perfectly its job!

I am very pleased with this purchased,
the only minus point are its bolts and nuts which get rusty if the bike is left all the time outside.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse