Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£26.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2017
This is not a re-mix of the original Woodstock albums. It does include quite a few of the tracks from those albums, but also quite a few that weren't on them! You'll hear helicopters landing while the music plays - feedback - faulty mikes - fluffed lines! All the things that happen at "live" gigs, but normally wouldn't make it to the "live" album. Although, I wasn't there, I believe that this album is the nearest thing yet to the true sound of Woodstock. It's taken from the original recordings - no re-recording - no overdubs. The booklet that goes with it, is very good. It includes the complete running order of acts, and every song that was sung. If you want the Highest of Hi-Fi, then this is not for you - but if you would like to hear what the audience at Woodstock heard, then this is a must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Beautifully packaged with well written and informative notes.

The actual music content is ok, however some of the track choices are a bit obscure and there is a fair bit of filler.

The remix, which the notes seldom miss a chance to congratulate themselves on, is at best average and on some of the tracks is no better than listening to the 60s album. Some of the tracks are thin and reedy and others sound as if they are being played in a bucket of mud. All of the electronic enhancements available on modern cd players need to be employed along with a higher than normal volume setting to get an acceptable playback quality.

Overall a bit dissapointing
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
This is the first time I've felt impelled to write a review. Woodstock influenced my tastes in music at the time (I was 18) and ever since. I don't know about anyone else but one of the highlights of the original set was the spellbinding performance of I'm Going Home by Ten Years After. It was certainly one of the highlights of the movie; arguably THE highlight. Amazingly, for some reason, it has been omitted from this, what should have been the ultimate record of the event. There's no space for it on six jampacked CDs. Obviously perfomances by Quill (who?) , Sweetwater (who?) and Bert Sommer (WHO?) rate a higher priority. Nothing else seems to be missing from the original. I'm still shaking my head in disbelief.

That said, it's otherwise a package worth investing in, with some never-before released performances and an informative booklet which includes, for the first time, the playlist for the entire three days. Turn on, tune in, drop out.
1111 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The producers of this 6 CD set originally wanted to release music from every act at Woodstock. However, legal issues and the quality of some of the recordings made that impossible. So here we have a still-massive 6 CD set.

Let me start by laying a myth to rest: the music at Woodstock was not universally good. Some of it was brilliant: some of it was poor. But what made Woodstock was the atmosphere and its subsequent transformation by the Woodstock film, that successfully elevated it to mythical status.

This set captures the spirit of Woodstock. It contains sets from some of the 'lesser' artists as well as the big and about-to-be-big. I question some of the choices: the Jimi Hendrix set is inadequately represented here, in my opinion.

Stand outs for me: Hendrix, Crosby Still Nash and Young, Santana. I could go on, but really that's not the point. The point is that Woodstock is a piece of popular music's history. Warts and all, this 6 CD set gives a flavour of what happened there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
great value 6cd set of Woodstock recordings
includes some fine performances that were missed off
the original albums but some important songs that should be included are not
this is very frustrating, will there be a second collection?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
If you have Woodstock One and Two then you may not want this but it does have performances by artists not on those albums and extended performances by some of the ones who were. Good piece of nostalgia
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Nearly twenty years before I was born but for music these were the times. A stellar line up. For me personally, Bert Sommer steals the show with a superb vocal display! The bands here cover a music and a time that will not and can not be repeated. Again, for me personally the 60's early 70's bands/musicians were more about the music. Recording 2 albums a year was quite common for many bands, but the quality was still there. Woodstock epitomised so much to so many people. A wonderful collection, a wonderful time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
perfect for all the Woodstock lovers. relive a little history with the live recordings on this box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
As has already been posted - a truly great set that so outshines the original double album on vinyl that it should be a no brainer addition to the collection of anyone who likes the original.

☺ ♫ ☺ ♫
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
It's Christmas,I feel like a wallow in nostalgia,so for the incredible price of £9(!!!) I bought this.Perfect selection?Of course not,there are omissions and inclusions I would personally quibble with,but,on the whole,how can I complain about all of this(£1.50 per disc) for the price?Takes me right back,and remember folks,don't touch the brown acid!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99
£9.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)