Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
50
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2014
Directed by the talented Kon Ichikawa ,this is a outstanding version of the legendary story 47 Ronin.The violent action is confined to the final stages of the film with emphasis on the planning of the vengeful attack by the ronin .The 47 ronin are the samurai of a disgraced lord, who is forced to commit suicide after being goaded into committing an unpardonable action by a jealous rival. .His faithful retainers vow revenge and are led by Oishi Kuranosuke(brilliantly played by Ken Takakura who also appears in The Yakuza(1975)starring Robert Mitchum and Black Rain (1989)starring Michael Douglas). This is a film that must be seen by anyone interested in Japanese or samurai films.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
At the start I was quite optimistic, despite poor reviews, that this was going to be a reasonable effort at relating the magnificent tale of the 47 Ronin. I could see how those not familiar with the story might find the beginning ponderous and confusing, but I persevered. As a window on life in Japan of the period it was quite convincing. As the film progressed I became less enthusiastic, waiting for the key elements of this truly wonderful tale of Japanese loyalty, devotion honour and self-sacrifice to be revealed. Sadly they are not. Anyone who reads either Lord Redesdale's quaint 19th century version or that in the excellent eponymous book by Barry Till will be disappointed by this film. The efforts made by Oishi Kuranosuke to throw off suspicion that he might be about to avenge his master by sinking to drunken depravity and debauchery are not here, Where is the man from Sakura who kicks his drunken body and spits on him (who subsequently committed seppuku at Oishi's grave)? It matters not whether these key elements of the tale are historically accurate - they are key to weaving the true brilliance of this great tale of the way of the Samurai. Very disappointing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Love it, I,m a fan of these style (don't like the gen.. word) Samurai films and happily added it to my collection of Toshiro Mifune and Tatsuya Nakadai films. No leaping or twirling or flying through the air, just good old fashioned swording and 'chivalry'. You needn't be put off by initial start about the clans and their geography as all comes apparent as the film progresses
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
At last, the Ken Takakura 47 ronin on region B, not to dis the Mizoguchi version, well it was very dull (as much as I really wanted to like it), this is the version I've been waiting to see, in colour, great actor's (takakura), the real story (never mind the rubbish in the cinema right now), the real deal about the 47 ronin. Only downside, no blu ray conversion. 4 and three quarters then instead of the full 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Though not a full-on action Samurai outing, this film slowly builds up to a realistic fight as the 47 Ronin seek revenge on behalf of their former master. A well done true story of Japanese honour and culture, taking its time to create the background to the final act. I very much appreciated this well crafted film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
such a major disappointment of a great piece of history . its a slow burner as one would expect with the plotting and setting up of the final assault to restore honour to the clan, the assault happens and then .............nothing! the film ends without the most important aspect of this story......seppuku, the honourable death for a samurai.total let down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This is not the original version from way back when, but a slightly newer version. No less as violent as the original one and in my opinion still a great movie. Looking forward to watching the Hollywood version soon as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Loved to watch this movie. It is better than the american version with all kinds of magic!!. This one is more down to earth!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This did not seem to be the story of the 47 that know. didn't see them all commit seppuku but there was a big fight at the end, so I found it a little disappointing, but then I am used to Akira Kurosawa directed films which has rather spoiled others for me. But as a samurai fan it is still good to see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
While the film is watchable it looks like an episode from the History Channel ,people involved are identified as they appear on screen and dates are mentioned often .Also takes a bit of time for the action to kick off as the story unfolds but this can make the film a much better tale .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)