Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
WWE: Summerslam 2013 [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 26 June 2014
2013 was both a great time to be a WWE fan, but also a frustrating time to be one. Summerslam 2013 is an event that encapsulates that. There are 2 match of the year candidates, yet there is mis-use of talent and an unfortunate example of an anti-climax. However, it is alongside WWE Payback 2013 as the best events of the year.

Ring of Fire Match
Bray Wyatt vs Kane 4/10

The debut of the "Man of a Thousand Truths" Bray Wyatt. The vignettes that led to his debut where captivating and once he arrived it was evident that he was the future. Now, that being said, i don't know if it was a wise idea to have his first match be against Kane. Also, although the match type may seem exciting, i am not sure a Ring of Fire Match was the best option. This match was slow, uneventful and a bit of a let down. I didn't want to feel that way, but it was impossible not to; the hype that Wyatt carried couldn't possibly be matched with such a poor opponent and a monotonous stipulation.

Cody Rhodes vs Damien Sandow 3.5/10

A feud with massive potential and despite this being given vast amount of build in the weeks to the match. And despite it being a story that was easy to become invested in, this match was given no time to shine. It was criminal and Rhodes and Sandow just couldn't hide the fact they where disappointed at the lack of time they where allocated.

World Heavyweight Championship
Alberto Del Rio (c) vs Christian 6.5/10

I wasn't expecting anything special from this one. I had seen it many times before and felt it was lazy booking on WWE's behalf. I am not a fan of either wrestlers. Although they are very impressive in the squared circle, they just bore me. My own preference aside, they did execute a very good match. It was full of intensity and energy; a match worthy of having gold on the line.

Natalya vs Brie Bella 0.5/10


No Disqualification Match
CM Punk vs Brock Lesnar 10/10

Now with the lackluster start to the event, one would be forgiven for feeling slightly robbed of the purchase fee, but after this match....well it suddenly seems worth every penny. This bout is incredible, it is brutal. It has everything. Both guys brought their very best and in my opinion it was the best match of the year, i would go as far to say it was the best match i have seen since MITB 2011 where Punk fought Cena. The crowd are hooked from the first second and that only adds to the spectacle. Easily Lesnar's best outing since his return and will be hard for him to improve upon. As for Punk, well when he is involved in a great storyline, when he is opposite a fellow world class athlete, then he shines; he always does....or did :(. Amazing.

Mixed Tag Match
Dolph Ziggler and Kaitlyn vs Big E and AJ Lee 4.5/10

Now when i said in my intro: "mis-use of talent", well this is why. Dolph Ziggler, suffered a concussion in the lead up to Extreme Rules, causing him to miss the event. At Payback in his first defense, he lost his title to Alberto Del Rio. He then lost his rematch at MITB and inexplicably found himself in a pointless, throwaway match at the biggest event of the summer. This could have easily been a World Heavyweight Championship match between Ziggler and Big E if they had just kept the belt on Ziggler, but no, they whipped it off him and he has been stuck in irrelevance ever since; a travesty. The match was very short and all tried their best to make it the best they could, but time restrictions caused it to suffer.

WWE Championship
John Cena (c) vs Daniel Bryan 9.5/10

The main event is almost every bit as good as Punk vs Lesnar. The violence replaced with added technical brilliance...on Bryan's part of course. Cena always rises to the big occasions and here is in no way different. They both put on a masterclass. Bryan deserved this match, he really did. And he didn't disappoint.

2 outstanding matches
1 very good match
And the rest had its moments, but overall it was a brilliant event, and well worth the buy.

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2013
On the whole I really enjoyed this show, it was let down in places but the big matches delivered in spades.

Ring of fire match: Kane vs Bray Wyatt 2/10
A clumsy, awkward big man match with virtually no action. The mood lighting was irritating as well.

Cody Rhodes vs Damien Sandow 5/10
I really like these two and they assembled a fairly good match considering the time they were allocated, but this match could have been a lot better if it had been longer. I found Sandow's leather Money in the bank briefcase amusing.

World title: Christian vs Alberto Del Rio 9/10
A thoroughly enjoyable match which should have been a bit longer. Del Rio and Christian made the best of the time they were given, it was exciting with many impressive moves and some good near falls. The story was also great with Del Rio working over Christian's shoulder.

Natalya vs Brie Bella 2/10
A poor match, marginally superior to the usual WWE women's shambles.

No disqualification match: Brock Lesnar vs CM Punk 10/10
What a match! Lesnar played the unstoppable monster beautifully and Punk excelled as the underdog. It has to be said Paul Heyman played the cowardly manager very nicely too. The match was brilliantly laid out and executed and the crowd were unbelievably hot for the last few minutes. Match of 2013 I think.

Dolph Ziggler and Kaitlyn vs Big E Langston and AJ Lee 5/10
Ziggler showed his usual big bumping, fast paced style and the two girls worked together well. It was sandwiched between the two main events and so the crowd were fairly lifeless for a lot of it.

WWE title: John Cena vs Daniel Bryan (special referee Triple H) 9/10
Daniel Bryan was incredibly over with the crowd, who favoured him over Cena unsurprisingly. Cena gave a very good performance by his standards and Bryan carried the match very well. There was some of the usual Cena clumsiness. The red hot crowd really helped the match and Bryan cleanly pinning Cena to win the title was stunning.

WWE title: Daniel Bryan vs Randy Orton N/A
I can't give this a score because it isn't a proper match. I was unhappy that Daniel Bryan's title reign was terminated so soon after he won the title in such impressive fashion.

The Miz had been given the role of host of Summerslam, what this meant was that he introduced the show and conducted a backstage interview and appeared at several points throughout the show. Miz was repeatedly interrupted by Fandango and Summer Rae who danced around, I still don't understand what the point in this was.

There was also a panel consisting of Booker T, Shawn Michaels and Vickie Guerrero who provided their analysis or predictions for some of the matches.

Part of the Dean Ambrose vs Rob Van Dam Summerslam kick off match is included as a special feature, is was decent but nothing special.

Summerslam is a very enjoyable, and certainly very eventful, show with three great matches. Definitely one of WWE's best pay per views of 2013.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
This event was pretty good, with at least two match of the year candidates.

Things kicked off with Kane VS Bray Wyatt in a "ring of fire match" the concept was derived from the inferno match where the ring is surrounded by flames and one has to set their opponent on fire to win. Obviously in a family friendly era they had to adapt, so it was basically a normal match with the ring surrounded in flames. It was a little slow in my opinion but the crowd seemed to love it. Admittedly it probably would have looked an awesome spectacle in person.

Cody Rhodes VS Damien Sandow up next. This was pretty big standard. At this point Damien Sandow held the Money in the bank briefcase, and I think they were feuding over this if my memory serves me correctly. This match was OK, nothing to write home about.

World Heavyweight Championship match
Alberto Del Rio VS Christian

Despite Alberto Del Rio having a very long, dull, and foremost, forgettable title run, these two have always been able to pull off really good wrestling matches. I can't remember how or why Christian was granted a title shot, but I really enjoyed this all the same. Both excellent wrestlers who just seem to lack character.

Natalya VS Brie Bella

Sadly this was dull as dishwater. Very forgettable and probably worth skipping on the DVD. I suppose that's what happens when you put together a talented female wrestler with a glorified glamour model. This did nothing for me.

"The Best VS The Beast"
Brock Lesnar VS CM Punk

This match was my match of the year. I think the background story going into this match was that Paul Heyman had betrayed his best friend CM Punk at Money In The Bank and CM Punk wanted to get his hands on Paul Heyman, but had to go through Brock Lesnar first. This match was amazing. Lesnar, a former UFC heavyweight champion, using hulking brute force tactics against an underdog CM Punk, trying desperately to outrun, outsmart, and outwrestle the beast. Both men put their all into this match and their chemistry was off the charts. Fantastic. This was also the first match of the night to tell a story in the ring which I really enjoyed. Five stars.

Dolph Ziggler & Kaitlyn VS AJ Lee & Big E Langston

This match was obviously filler and a chance to give the raucous crowd a chance to calm down a little and take a break before the main event. While this was nothing spectacular, I still enjoyed it for what it was. It didn't get overly dull and didnt go on for too long.

WWE Championship
Daniel Bryan VS John Cena (referee Triple H)

I want to start off by saying how irritating it is that Triple H, despite being semi-retired and virtually running the business backstage, still tries to make things about him. This match honestly didn't need his input at all. The crowd already had a large portion of John Cena fanatics and the crowd ERUPTED when Daniel Bryan's entrance music hit. I haven't seen such a crowd reaction in a long time, they went nuts for him. Adding a third element to the equation, IE Triple H just wasn't necessary and took away from things a little. In any case, this was a really great match and they really clicked. The crowd was really loud and involved which makes it more enjoyable. The ending wasnt great in my eyes, but that's just my opinion. I think everyone saw it coming really.

The only real issues I had with this were firstly, the special features. The special features consist of PART of a match that was shown on YouTube counting down to Summerslam. Would it really kill them to throw in a couple of video packages and an extra match from raw or Smackdown?

Secondly the cover art. WWE seems to be in the habit of releasing DVDS and managing to spoil the ending with the cover art of the DVD. I don't know who thinks this is a good idea but it really grates on me.

That aside, this was a really good show with a few outstanding matches. Certainly worth picking up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
Further proof that WWE does still care about wrestling,most of this event is impressive.
Kicking off with KANE vs BRAY WYATT in a ring of fire match and it's an interesting one. It's great to see the inferno match back,or a variation of,in this one you win by pin fall or submission. It does what it has to do to tell the story of KANE and the odd threesome headed by BRAY. A lot of the match is centred around Bray's mates trying to get into the flame engulfed ring to help out. The wrestling action is okay,but it really is more so about the storyline,which gets even more sinister after the match,so quite a way to start off the night of surprises and impactful moments.
Next up is CODY RHODES seeking a little revenge over DAMIEN SANDOW after the money in the bank incident. It's good enough for a filler without being anything great. Onto CHRISTIAN vs ALBERTO DEL RIO for the heavyweight title that RIO has a tight grasp on. This is a very impressive,fast paced match with plenty of action and moments to keep you guessing as to whether CHRISTIAN can win the big one. My one gripe is it could've done with going for another five minutes or so. But a lot did happen in the time given,so this one gets a thumbs up from me.
Finally NATALYA gets back in the ring in an event,taking on BRIE BELLA. Sadly,the match isn't up to much,but it's passable.
And now for the match of the night,every bit as good as i'd hoped it would be. C.M. PUNK takes on the girth and power of BROCK LESNAR in a no DQ match.
Once this gets going,it's one heck of a match,with the crowd really getting into it. It's fairly brutal,considering this is PG era and the wrestling action is very impressive from both sides,it tells a good story too. This really is a brilliant match.
Now DOLH ZIGGLER teams with KAITLYN to face BIG E LANGSTON and AJ. It's a so so match to tell the story this match is centred around and it works as a breather for the next match,the main event.
DANIEL BRYAN finally takes on JOHN CENA for the wwe title and it's a top main event,as it should be. Some really impressive action,with Bryan on top form,with things I've never seen him do before. Cena plays his part well,regardless of the hatred he receives from a fairly large percentage of the crowd. A fair bit happens in the match and an injured CENA works well with bryan. This a great match for showing what a mega talent DANIEL BRYAN is and the end,though fairly sudden works well. But don't leave the show there,something else takes place for some more shocks and impactful moments. This is something some loved,but others (myself included) felt a bit miffed by,but it does it's job of getting a reaction quite brilliantly.
So here we have a top event with a few not so good moments,an event well worth buying. So sit back and get ready for a hot night!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
1. Ring of Fire Match (PG era Inferno match) Kane vs Bray Wyatt
Was an ok start to the show, but not good enough for an opener to one of the big four PPVs of the year. Pretty average, but it made Bray look good in his PPV debut. 5.5/10
2. Cody Rhodes vs Damien Sandow
Good match here, probably the only good lower card bout in the show. The match would've made a good opener. Only thing wrong with it was the time it was given on the show, I would've happily watched the match for another 5 mins. 7/10
3. World Heavyweight Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio vs Christian
Great match between these two here, sadly one of Christians last world title matches but you gotta give it to him he makes it count. 8/10
4. Natalya vs Brie Bella
Average divas match here, pretty quick and painless though. N/A
5. No DQ Match Brock Lesner vs CM Punk
WHAT A MATCH, these two put on an epic brawl that should be a candidate for match of the year. Punk works well trying to take Lesner down and Brock looks like an absolute machine during this match. 10/10
6. Dolf Ziggler and Kaitlyn vs AJ and Big E
Not a bad match here but certainty not a great one either. Ziggler worked well as always, but the match turned out pretty average. 5/10
7. WWE Championship Match: John Cena vs Daniel Bryan
Fantastic main event match here and worthy to be called a classic, Bryan proved that he belonged in the main event and could pull of a great match against Cena who I'm surprised worked well against the quickness and unpredictability of Daniel Bryan. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
I was at this PPV live and it was incredible the atmosphere was indescribable

1st Match Ring Of Fire Kane vs Bray Wyatt 3/5 Good match and was awesome to see in person

2nd Match Cody Rhodes vs Damian Sandow 2/5 nice match but nothing great

3rd Match World Heavyweight Championship Alberto Del Rio vs Christian 4/5 Great match crowd was very into it very good technical skills on display from both wrestlers

4th Match Natalya vs Brie Bella 1/5 It is what it is

5th Match The Best vs The Beast No DQ CM Punk vs Brock Lesnar 5/5 Match of the night awesome match great mix of wrestling and hardcore styles The crowd was into this match the most and were chanting match of the night and that is exactly what it was

6th Match Mixed Tag Dolph Ziggler and Katelyn vs Big E Langston and AJ Lee 1/5 Dolph deserves more than this

Main Event WWE Championship John Cena vs Daniel Bryan 4/5 Awesome match and I am a huge Bryan fan and I loved this match great match and a great ending to this match but once the match is over another match happened which i did not like at all I wont spoil it if you have not seen this PPV but It put a damper on the main event
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
Possibly the best summerslam ever. Featuring Daniel bryan John cena cm punk and Brock lesnar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2013
I bought this for my 4 yr old who has just discovered WWE. An expensive like but the book kept him occupied for most of the afternoon as we cleared up from dinner. A nicely presented book. Good quality and it's started the tradition of an annual at Christmas. Would recommend this to anyone who has youngsters interested in WWE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2016
An excellent show with an unexpected twist at the end... Just a pity the photo on the cover ruins it. A must for all collectors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
SummerSlam has been a hit and miss pay per view for WWE over the past decade, but the 2013 edition of SummerSlam stands out as the best SummerSlam since 2002. The show was headlined by 2 outstanding matches with CM Punk vs. Brock Lesnar, in what was CM Punk's last great match before his sudden departure at the beginning of 2014 and John Cena vs. Daniel Bryan for the WWE Championship which would start Bryan's rise to the championship; even if it wasn't exactly what WWE wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)