Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Mynd
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2013
Make room for a new favourite folk LP.

It contains a sound that is uniquely English, natural and honest yet dynamically eclectic. Packed with melody and verse crafted to perfection and finely produced.

The storytelling spanning the centuries and allowing you to follow its journey effortlessly with its evocative accompaniment. Scoping from ambient serenity and pastoral beauty, through to haunting and mesmerizing and leading well into foot tapping and head bobbing territory, all tinged with an energy of contemplative experimentation.

Anyone who has seen them play will already be aware of their uniquely skilled instrumental-ism, including Phil's sublime Dobro & Guitar playing that is perfect down to the subtlest levels, and his simultaneous harmonica and beat-boxing has to be seen to be believed. Hannah's fiddle playing is wonderfully layered and adds a varied and sometimes orchestral depth, and her guitar and banjo playing are equally effective.

Hannah's beautiful yet powerful vocal, and Phil's cool soft singing voice give the album further variation. Likewise, the vocal harmonies are notably varied and well-constructed. This album sees that musicianship and vocal charm reach new heights.

I expect this could, and should be a landmark album for the British folk scene, strengthening the roots and bringing it into full blossom.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I had not been aware of this duo, but bought this after hearing a track on the BBC Radio2 Folk programme. It is fantastic! Beautiful vocals and brilliant musical accompaniment. There are several outstanding tracks, but to write a stunning song about Caroline Herschel ( sister of the astronomer Sir William) is a real tour de force : it would be my nomination for 'Folk Song of the Year'. I am hoping to get to see them soon!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Along with Josienne Clarke/Ben Walker and Lisa Knapp the 2014 Radio 2 Folk Awards have brought my attention to some outstanding acts with this album being one of them. Brave, original and innovative with some unusual offbeat songs in terms of arrangements and subject matter. Both artists are fine multi-instrumentalists and singers who perfectly complement and harmonise with each other. The future of folk is definitely in very safe and capable hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Phillip Henry is a superbly inovative contemporary Folk singer/songwriter, hailing from Lancashire and on this album he teams up with the Devon based multi instrumentalist Hannah Martin and it soon becomes evident that they were meant to make music together.
"Mynd" which means rememberance, is a recording possessing Intelligent and imaginative storytelling combined with superb musicianship by both artists.
Henry's artful playing of the atmospheric Dobro
along with Martin's skill on the fiddle, banjo and guitar and their expressive vocals, makes for a recording of the highest calabre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
We all know the established names in English folk. It's hard for a young musician to escape the looming ghost of, say, Fairport Convention. Phillip Henry and Hannah Martin have actually succeeded in creating a soundworld of their own, despite tackling a song like 'The banks of the Nile', famous in its rendition by Sandy Denny.
There are practically no negatives here: great voices blending perfectly, wonderful arrangements, a wonderful mix of selfpenned songs and traditionals and a very 'natural' sound. And it's growing on me - out of my quite extensive folk collection this is a cd I regularly reach for. More, please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
The talent these two have between them is amazing and the CD is fantastic. To hear it is to love it. These two will be around for a long time - they deserve it. Looking forward to the next CD already.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2014
This album is good don't get me wrong but not as stripped down and raw as I hoped it would be. The songs have some good lyrics and are well sung although sometimes I feel a transatlantic vibe that doesn't really do it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Every now and then you come across artists that break the mold and add a new dimension to their art. Mynd is one of these albums. Great stuff. I especially like the nailmakers strike 2 - excellent harmonica work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Phillip and Hannah play beautifully together and are well supported by Matt Downer and Robbie Burgess for this studio album. Phillip's slide guitar and harmonica playing is refreshingly new and blends perfectly with Hannah's incredible deep, warm voice, fiddle and banjo playing.
My introduction to them was through their utube clip of 'the boy that wouldn't hoe corn'. Spine tingling stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
This has to be one of the best folk albums of the year!....full of hauntingly beautiful melodies finely played.This is testament to the duos continued growth in both composition and performance.I find Phil Henry's harmonica playing really outstanding and contrasts well with the strong playing and singing on the album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99
£8.90
£7.99
£13.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)