Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,034
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2015
Absolutely amazing!! I started watching the series, and within a week had finished all episodes! Very addictive and you will find yourself instantly a part of the 'Sherlock Fandom' once you start watching. Suitable for all ages, although there is some non-gory violence which younger children may not want to watch. You will find yourself watching the episodes again and again with the same interest and excitement as when you first watched them as each episode is so detailed that you notice new things when you rewatch them. Incredible acting by all characters which you will fall in love with and grow an emotional bond to. The filming is of good quality, and the sound quality is equally excellent. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This 3rd series of Sherlock starts in a very unusual and unexpected way: it doesn't seem to be focused on a case to solve, because the case becomes, more and more, focused on characters relationships.
But don't worry: there'll be mysteries and murders and menace (personal and collective). And witty dialogues, brilliant scenes, fantastic twists.
With some more room for characters (not that they lacked of definition in the previous series) like we got to a point that we (and they) all need to take stock of the situation, before a final, unbelievable twist.
Well, double twist: to solve the case and give the series a new challenge waiting to be taken in season 4.
Visually the blu ray is excellent and the sound design powerfully sticks out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm assuming you've seen the previous couple of series of this (otherwise it's probably best to start at the beginning) and this is pretty much more of the same. The same fun blend of humour and elaborate mysteries loosely based on various works by Arthur Conan Doyle. There's three more episodes this time out,

The Empty Hearse - This of course deals with Sherlocks return after the nose dive he took at the end of series two. This is where you find out how he did it (kind of). The rest of the episode deals with a terrorist plot in London.

The Sign of Three - A bizarre but entertaining episode with Sherlock in the alien role of Best Man - recounting recent cases during his eccentric speech.

His Last Vow - Sherlock and Watson take on arch blackmailer Charles Magnussen after a game changing reveal in the early going.

The plots are typically convoluted and likely to keep you on your toes. The relationship between Sherlock and Holmes is at the forefront as always, bringing a healthy dose of heart and humour to proceedings. Cumberbatch and Freeman are as good as ever and most of the supporting cast are present and correct. With Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat on writing duties it all adds up to another neat little package. Recommended.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is a brilliant series with great actors. Episode 3 has a fantastic new villain, ie, "Borgen" and "The Killing" star Lars Mikkelsen, who is amazing as master blackmailer Charles Augustus Magnussen. The character really seems to enjoy watching the effect he has on them, which is very chilling to watch. I hope Magnussen is brought back in future series because a Moriarty / Magnussen team would be awesome!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
BC is my favourite Sherlock! The two main characters are brilliantly matched. I think Watson deserves a medal for putting up with Sherlock.Great acting. Great stories. Can't wait till the Xmas special becomes available on Prime! I hope there'll be a whole new season.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
I like this perhaps because i got attached to the first two series. Somebody said here that it was a good example of style over content - a bit too far up its own ... shame. That I think is spot on. The deep dark atmosphere of Conan Doyle's books is increasingly lost as the directors and producers step into the foreground and take over from good, firm actors. i want to watch the protagonists play it out, not bear witness to how many gimmicks the programme makers can introduce to make viewing more difficult. Compare this with Elementary, the American version. Great acting, simple, punchy story lines and a very decorative Watson.
I am still attached to the English version, even if its because I admire the actors struggle to overcome the gimmicks of production (they are still a whisker ahead.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Sherlock is the BEEB at its best. Each episode needs to be watched in total silence and with no interrptions. You might miss a vital clue. It is charming,witty and absorbing. It's easy enough to focus on BC but the supporting cast are great. A fantastic series.My only complaint is the time between each season.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I'm not entirely sure why people seem to be so divided on this season; I assume it's because it involves a lot of character building and focus on the relationships in the show. Personally, I think that it's a fantastic turn for the series, and I also think it was extremely important. The books, of course are more crime filled that the last three episodes, but it still does have a lot of focus on the characters and specifically the friendship between Holmes and Watson. As much as it is a crime show, it still needs to be developed every season - it can't be, and (with Moffatt and Gattis behind the show) it won't ever remain the same. Personally, this is my absolute favourite season due to the wittiness and the flawless script. I don't feel much of a need to mention the acting as if you've seen the previous six episodes you're aware of how fantastic the whole cast are.
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Started watching from Series 1 -3 in a couple of days, sleepless nights but it kept me glued, wanting to watch more. I close my eyes and I see flashes from Sherlock Holmes, can say the best TV series I have ever watched. The characters are brilliant love the fact that intelligence and emotions are so nicely blended. The relation between Sherlock and Mycroft. Sherlock and Watson / Mrs Hudson or the girl from the lab.
Simply love it and need more of it..its something you never want to end !!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Excellent as I expected. It is more addictive than coffee and much more entertaining. The down side ?
The cost. It really grips my colon to have to pay for something I and millions of others have already paid for via the licence fee.
It's only £3.99 or whatever, per episode but the principle is there. I shall be purchasing more but will need time to save up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse