Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Highway Song Live
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 January 2010
a cracking live album from US rockers BLACKFOOT. i have waited years to get my hands on a cd of this album.there are some great BLACKFOOT tracks to listen to, such as, good morning,rollin'& tumblin',fly away, gimme,gimme,gimme,highway song and of course their anthem train, train. give yourself a treat and buy this album, it's BRILLIANT!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2005
This is probably the most exciting,raucous,loud,headbanging,soulripping piece of plastic(?) you will ever lay hands on.Genuinely....there is nothing like this around and unfortunately there may never be again..these guys were a one off.This album is one of the best live offerings around..I know 'cos I was there (at the Hammersmith recordings)and I left with more than my hearing shot....!!!iF YOU LIKE IT LOUD....BUY !!! and don't forget to TURN IT UP !!!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
Easy to see why this album is in the top 10 live albums in "Classic Rock". Simply stunning-out and out southern rock at it's best. Even more amazing, is the fact that it was recorded on a UK tour. Turn the hi-fi up to 11 for this one!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
With the passing of time and the mellowing of age it,s amazing how quick life can soon pass you by. Having recently decided to update my records to cd,s i looked around for the availability of some of the bands i had seen live in my youth ( late 1970,s / early 1980,s) and for about five years Blackfoot, after seeing them live at Donnington 81 where they blew the place apart, were "THE BAND". This cd was the first i had to have because Blackfoot also happen to be the best live show that i have seen still to this day. Highway song live shows how amazingly powerful the band were with there live performances. The four musicans stood out in their own right. Jackson Spires(RIP) is probably the best live drummer i have ever witnessed. Greg Walker,s bass hits you like a Tyson hook. Dual guitars courtesy of Charlie Hargrett and Ricky Medlocke, SUPERB. Topped off with Ricks vocals, i still say to this day if he did not have a mic you would still have heard him at the back at Donnington in 1981. On the cd you get a sort of pick of the best of songs from the Marauder, Tomcatting and Strikes records with all songs being standout songs for differant reasons. Why the record company had to destroy the soul of this band is beyond me. Buy this cd, lie back, close your eyes and listen to the best live band ever , or if you don,t agree it will surely be in your top five.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 June 2010
aah Highway Song - Live,stupid title,should have been called Too Hot To Handle:Live,as thats exactly what this band were,a blistering live performance is contained on this disc and on their day they were one of the best live bands around.

Opening with a scorching one-two with 'Gimme Gimme Gimme & Every Man Should Know Queenie' the two best tracks from TOMCATTIN(1980) this disc instantly grabs you by the throat and doesnt let up,that it also contains the 3 best tracks from STRIKES(1979),'Train Train','Road Fever' and an extended(naturally) version of 'Highway Song' then you know you cant go wrong,throw in the insanely catchy 'Good Morning',rockin 'Dry County' and singalong 'Fly Away'from the then current MARAUDER(1981) album topped up with a couple of excellent cover versions 'Rollin N Tumblin/Trouble In Mind' you have an incendiary live disc.5 stars all the way.

Surely that it only lasts approx 45 mins makes this ripe for a deluxe edition makeover? there must be other live tracks in the can,i hope and pray one day this dream will come to fruition
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
I saw Blackfoot live at Reading Festival in 1982 - and they absolutely melted the place. At the time of the release of Highway Song Live, Blackfoot had Britain at its mercy. Had they stuck with a similar southern style approach they'd have caned the place - and thus established themselves more solidly on the rock'n'roll map. Unfortunately, under pressure from an MTV-obsessed record company, they went in search of a different sound and lost their opportunity.

Thankfully we have Highway Song Live which goes some way to capturing the thrill of Blackfoot live at their peek. It is definitely up there with the best live rock albums of them all. Why? Because you can really feel the way the band feed off the audience. You want to rip your way through the record and be there yourself.

Ricky Medlocke is a fantastic front man, a natural communicator. I love him alluding to his granddaddy Shorty. It adds to the bluesy idea that music is a river that flows through the generations, albeit reappearing in different styles.

Ricky's definitely one of my big rock idols. Great to see him in Skynyrd, but being greedy I still miss classic Blackfoot. If they announced a tour I'd want to quit work and just follow them around. You can't underestimate the pulling power of quality rock'n'roll.

All the tracks smoulder and burn. Favourites include Road Fever, Train Train, Good Morning - well all of it!

I love live rock albums and this one is a must for your collection. Howay the lads!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
This is THE definitive Blackfoot album. From the opening track, gimme gimme gimme, to the closing rendition of 'Howay the lads' this album never lets up. Uplifting, fun, raucous. There is something for everyone here. If you like your rock 'n roll with a bit of a southern twist and a bit of boogie bubble then this is definetley for you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
Saw this lot at Monsters of Rock '81,and on the subsequent UK tour-They were HOT! This album captures them at their absolute best,particularly the first 4 songs-Real energy, passion and Good-ole-boy Southern Pizazz.Loud, Raucous, unashamedly crowd pleasing good time rock n roll,no time for subtlety just steamroller rock blues at a frantic pace, with more than a dash of humour and a slice of macho bravado thrown in.I still don't get "Highway Song"-it IS Freebird lite right down to the "what song is it you wanna hear?"- and some parts of this album do lose the momentum a little, but overall,and for those opening 4 songs,and the really fond memories, I love this record.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Replaced a vinyl copy from years ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
Probably the best slice of live 'Southern Rock' you can buy.....Slide guitar a plenty on all the tracks from the opening gimmie,gimmie,gimmie right through to the end..Including the classic song 'Highway Song'.Turn it up & enjoy!!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Greatest Hits Live 1983
£6.25

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)