Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2013
A superb orchestra with a wonderful choir and a cast of great players all came together to help Steve Harley give the performance of his legendary career ( so far!).Birmingham is a must for any music fan who loves a true live performance with heart soul and passion.The Human Menagerie and The Psychomodo are to be played live again with an Orchestra and choir at Manchester's Bridgewater Hall in April 2014, well worth a visit to a brilliant venue and to hear two of the best albums of the 70's in all their glory!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel - Still recording and still performing great gigs, including this 'Special' the first two Cockney Rebel albums performed with choir & orchestra and with the original arranger on board too! Mr Harley in my opinion for so long has been underrated but once viewed, this DVD must surely put him up there with the greats - longevity, he's got it.... and there's more to come with new shows in this format being planned for 2014 including the Royal Albert Hall... bring it on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
I watched the DVD's last night. I was a bit dubious whether the Choir & Orchestra could compare with the original albums, but they all did a fantastic job. With Steve Norman's sax/percussion, and the excellent Barry Wickens on mandolin/violin this is a very good concert. I agree with previous reviews that the camera work could have been a little better, but the music makes up for this. Ok, so there is a couple of strained notes, but Steve being 62, his voice isn't going to be the same as 40 years ago, but he still does a great job. The stand out tracks, in my opinion, are Sebastian (as always, great live), Death Trip, Ritz & Cavaliers. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I first saw CR in 1973 and have seen Steve about 39 times since. I don't like the word fan but I couldn't think of anything else....

The DVDs are truly fantastic.

All SH and CR fans should have this in their collection

One song that I never really liked was actually a stand out here and that is "My Only Vice" along with the hits Chameleon and Death Trip were eerily like the album.

Thanks Steve. See you in Manchester 2014
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
If you have never seen this guy and his tip top professional band accompanying him spend £!0 of your hard earned pounds, or beg, steal and borrow from a friend who has exquiste musical taste. You will be hooked!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Wow, as a lifelong fan I thought I knew what to expect, but this was beyond my expectations. Sure, SH fluffed a couple of lines (auto-cue maybe too small), struggled a couple of times to reach the heights on certain tracks, but all in all, a superb effort from a master of the twisted lyric. Sebastien, Cavaliers, Black on White, and the truly remarkable Death Wish all performed to his usual high standard, supported by choir, arranger and musicians who all seemed to have fully bought into the idea and ethos behind CR.
As to the crowd, when they stood and started singing the traditional "oh dear look what they've done to the blues , blues , blues", even Steve was transported back to the heady days of 1974 when all concerts ended to the sound of this anthem.
I will try to get to see this live, but if I cannot, then I have at least experienced this on DVD, and enjoyed hearing and seeing a longtime hero recreate history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
In November 1973, myself and some mates gatecrashed a Southampton University gig to see Cockney Rebel, on their first tour dates ever. That group image and music has stayed with me ever since. Now exactly 40 years on, Steve Harley with the help of original musical arranger, Andrew Powell, has reproduced the first 2 albums seamlessly note for note, and it is exceptional. The orchestration is true to the original and even more powerful in the context of a Symphony Hall. Steve Harley still has a strong voice, and can still carry these songs as he did all those years ago. I will be hoping to see them live in 2014 when they play the Royal Albert Hall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
This a five star concert by a five star artist. The albums that contained the songs performed here live were written in the 70's. They sound as fresh and alive today. The performance of Sebastion is outstanding and when you get to Death Trip it will leave you speechless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I played this on my new region-free DVD player here in America, and was concerned that there was something wrong with the player, since the shoot of the concert is rather poorly done in many parts. The audio is great, but there seemed to a disconnect between the lighting designer and the camera crew! Many of the scenes seem horribly washed out, some to the point that you barely see what is going on onstage. A few preproduction meetings might have helped greatly, but perhaps the budget did not permit. Still - this DVD is well worth the money since the performances are outstanding!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Badly edited to be honest. I was actually there in Birmingham when this was recorded and 99% of Steves dialogue has been removed. I was expecting a nice reminder of the simply amazing night i had there and sadly thats not what i got. The personal touch that Steve adds to his appearences has gone.

What you get is pretty much a live version of the two albums. Nothing more. Nevertheless you need it in your collection.

Sorry Steve. Still love your work though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)