Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
188
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£43.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2013
I still can't believe I have only paid £25 for the the complete series 1-7 of Lewis. I absolutely love Inspector Morse and was delighted when Inspector Lewis was made, it is a terrific tribute to the original series and is wonderful in its own right. My next buy will be the brilliant Endeavour series. The outer box is not as robust as the inspector Morse box set however that is a very minor gripe. The actual DVD cases are the standard plastic type and are well presented as are the discs themselves. This is too good to be true.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
this is a must for any fan,bought as a present its very good to watch again and again.
i'm sure this will be out again in a few months and watched from the first to the last
highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Excellent entertainment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
As a sequel to Morse, I did not expect it to be as good, but Lewis has proved to be a great series. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like there's going to be any more.
If you like Lewis, and Morse, the prequel Endeavour is worth a look as well.
Great value for money and fast delivery. Recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Detective Inspector Morse was such a figure in the annuals of Masterpiece Theatre, particularly the Mystery Division. Since his death, DS Lewis his partner, has gone through one crisis after another. His wife was killed, his partner died, but on the bright side he was promoted to DI. He is still with the Thames Valley Police Department, and their turf is still Oxford. His new partner is a junior partner, Detective Sgt. James Hathaway, played by Laurence Fox, who is the epitome of DI Morse! They have the same sort of class rivalry, but it is upended. DI Lewis finally married his Pathologist, and they are happy. He returned to work after retiring several series ago, but he is on the edge of leaving, again. Hathaway became DI, and is is brilliant.

In this series, they deal with murder and mayhem and crimes of retribution. The series is separated into 6 episodes, with 2 episodes related to the same storyline. Lewis is much darker and his life is more complicated than the more frivolous Lewis we knew of yore. The murders in this series are incredibly complex, the stories much more updated and modern. DI Hathaway is from public school and Cambridge, so he seems to fit right in with the characters in these episodes. He smokes, was an athlete and once studied for the priesthood. He is tightly controlled , and he does not reveal much if anything of his background.

Lewis and DI Hathaway are the epitome of opposites attract, and they make the best pair of detectives. Masterpiece is known as giving us the best in performances, and once again, they deliver! Will Lewis leave for good, stay tuned.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 03-18-17
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Just wonderful! Not for the murders, they are incidental (and I supposed essential to our jaded, violence-obsessed "culture"), but
for the incredibly witty, clever dialogues between Lewis and Hathaway, the interesting plots, the beautiful music (worth buying Lewis just
for the music!), and the scenic views of Oxford.. I suppose that as an Oxford graduate I am biased, but well done, the author & producers,
they have enticed the must-have-a-murder lot into what is essentially high art. And don't drift into conversation, or like Bertie Wooster
let your eyes glaze over watching THIS series. You need to follow closely to get the maximum pleasure from the episodes.

Can only be compared to Barnaby & his "Midsomer Murders", These series are sheer qualty. Midsomer is, I feel, slightly ahead, rather
wider in scope, though Barnaby's sergeants are not quite as erudite as the wonderful, pensive Hathaway, but if Amazon allowed I'd give both
series six stars out of five.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
love the series which is as good as Morse ones were for me. Seven series for £25 what a bargain. Happy to be confined to the house for a week or so now!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 27 November 2013
Following what was most likely the last ever episode of Lewis, this is the DVD set we have all been waiting for. It contains all 27 episodes in the six seasons of Inspector Lewis including the original pilot.

It is hard to believe that the pilot show was broadcast as recently as 2006, as it seems that Inspector Lewis has been part of our viewing lives for so much longer. I think this is to a large extent, because the character of Lewis first appeared in Morse as long ago as 1986 and has been played by Kevin Whately throughout. Few would have imagined initially that Inspector Lewis would be as successful as Morse, but it has certainly achieved at least as much as that series. Just as the chemistry between Sergeant Lewis, as he was then, and Morse (John Thaw) was a defining strength in that show, the bond between Lewis and DS James Hathaway (Laurence Fox) has increased with time and has been one of the main strengths of Inspector Lewis.

To my mind the other factor which has made Lewis such a success is the excellent script writing. The stories are varied and complex. This is not the sort of drama which you are going to be able to watch with one eye on something else and still pick up all the detail of the plot, as you can with much of what is shown on TV. However, the stories are clever and satisfying and well worth the effort to follow them closely. They are also the sort of show which it is worth returning to again and again, and we often revisit the earlier episodes.

There are some bonus features included with this set including `The Making of Inspector Lewis' and an interview with Kevin Whately. Although there was a certain finality about the final episode of Lewis at the end of Series 7, there are some faint grounds for hope as a spokesperson for ITV, the production company, has stated that the series `may' return in 2014 either as a one off show or a series. I imagine it all depends on the willingness of Kevin Whately and Laurence Fox to continue as they both seemed keen to move on to other things.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
a bit dated .still good entertainment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Outstanding. Love the characters and stories. Need to have 3 or 4 murders in each but not offensive,fit the story. Great follow up to Morse series. Highly recommend. Good price.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)