Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2013
This book is a little gem and worth every penny. I think Dan & Julia have done a great job in explaining much of the mathematics you will need in any introductory level astronomy class. Anyone doing GCSE astronomy here in England would be well advised to buy a copy, there are many examples and also a web site with much more, including video sections with helpful hints and examples. Work through the sections and your maths will improve and therefore, so will your understanding of astronomy. Steve Durr.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Superb overview of the basic algebra, trig, geometry and arithmetic required to acquire a deeper, non-trivial understanding of astronomy/astrophysics short of extensive use of calculus and other more advanced mathematics.
Tomos
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
A well presented and written book that conveys a complex subject in an easy and understandable manner. I managed to get through it cover to cover in a day with all the worked examples and succinct narratives on the concepts. I'm going through it again to further reinforce my understanding and work through the exercises. If one is interested in the astronomy and cosmology and want to understand the maths behind the ideas and concepts this is a highly recommended book. My only slight negative comment is the need for more worked examples per topics before embarking on the exercises at the end of each chapter. Also a summary of the formulas and their variations at the end of each chapter would be very useful. I would throughly recommend the book.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
This is a superb book which contains clear, straightforward details of the mathematics associated with astronomy. The first chapter explains in plain language a number of fundamental methods and techniques which are used in the following chapters about the mathematics associated with topics such as gravity, light, stars and black holes. The book is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in astronomy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I read this recently as a primer to a series of books on radio astronomy. I was delighted with the book. The selection and presentation of the material is first rate. I have begun ordering more books by these authors on the basis of this one alone.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
The book presents the most important astronomical observation methods and basic equation connected to them. This is done in a well thought and comprehensive way. The mathematics of the book is simple (no derivation nor integration), which is on the other hand the purpose of the book, but may dissappoint some readers wanting to see somewhat deeper. The book includes anyhow many excercises providing a good and concrete wiev - despite simple mathematics - to astronomical procedures and magnitudes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
This is a Gem of a book: it introduces the reader to the fundamentals of converting units, through ratios, scientific notation to full blown maths of Kepler's Laws, Light and Spectrum fundamentals, Angular size, Black Holes, Magnitudes, Stellar Parallax, to name just some of the topics covered. Well written in an easy style by two experts in the field. Each chapter ends with the set problems that test how much the reader has absorbed on that specific topic. This book is not just for the aspiring\amateur or casual astronomer but also for anyone with an interest in Physics and Mathematics or just to give your grey-matter a work-out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
My favourite book of the year so far! The maths isn't difficult ... just basic algebra really and anyone with GCSE should cope with the number crunching. There were no proofs and no advanced mathematical concepts.

But what really worked for me was to see the wide range of astronomical problem from Newtons Laws through to the expansion of the Universe via Black Holes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Just what I needed. Will help greatly with my university course.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
I learned much from this book. I'm not a university physics student and my maths is not very good, but the maths in this book is very clear and I found not all above my level. I would recommend this to any amateur astronomer who wants to understand the mathematics of astronomy. I definitely took a step further with my astronomy by reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)