Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
4.4 out of 5 stars
Live In Athens 1987 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 November 2013
After having the POV release for many years, and seeing the DVD I was looking forward to getting this wonderful concert in full HD. The 1987 fully restored footage is absolutely stunning, there is no other way to describe it. The 5.1 audio is also excellent.

Additionally it is great to see the entire concert which includes 'Intruder', 'The Family And The Fishing Net' and 'Here Comes The Flood'.

Some people complain about reissues and re-releases however when the quality is improved to such a standard it really is worth seeing. Pictures will be improved vastly again very shortly and we'll all be buying 4k TV's so I really don't see the problem with such releases. Anything that makes Peter Gabriel's thirtysomething face clearer to me is very welcome. I'm extremely happy with this release in this point in time, it is superior to other blu rays I have with more recent footage. Progression in technology should always be appreciated, I just wish that other releases of that period could be reissued to this standard, sadly however many companies claim they don't find this cost effective.

You also receive Play The Videos DVD with this release which is a great bonus. Other bonuses include Youssou N'Dour and Le Super Etoile De Dakar support set, a 1986 interview with Peter and the 'Sledgehammer' video with 5.1 audio.

The Blu Ray is region A,B and C and the DVD is region free 0.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
I pre-ordered this dvd mainly because, in my eyes, Peter has never released anything that he would consider below par. There was another reason, however, I remember going to the concert when he played the set at the NEC Birmingham, if my recollection is correct. Although the quality of the picture is not as fine as his later dvd releases, you get a real feel of the atmosphere and the appreciation of the crowd. The huge highlight is 'Lay your Hands on me', always a favourite of mine and the track that Peter seems to enjoy thoroughly especially after his intimate contact with the crowd and the trust he shows by leaning back and letting them carry him. Although he loses his shirt in the process the joy on his face couldn't possibly be acted. The sound is as good as you will hear, easily cd quality and the mix (I presume from the original sound desk) shows the technical brilliance of the band. All Peter Gabriel's fans should buy this dvd because it is genuinely a great reflection of the power of the artist at its highest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I've been wishing for this for years, having seen him on the tour. The quality of visuals and sound is superb and really captures the atmosphere. I remembered being impressed by Youssou N'Dour and this reminded me why - a pretty hard act to follow in itself - I'm so glad they included his opening set on the DVD. Peter Gabriel's show is as impeccable as you would expect with some emotional and uplifting moments (his fall back into the audience - an amazing moment when I saw it - "Don't Give Up", Youssou joining him for a joyous "In Your Eyes").
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Plenty here to be happy about.
Bluray is crisp and clear..Plenty of worthwile extras.
Dvd picture is mixed but sounds good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Just arrived yesterday, I had been looking forward to this one since pre ordering a while back. I have to say that it's a totally different experience and much more rewarding when compared to the original POV release, a concert video that I always frustrating. It's now a straight concert bluray without the extra bits of backstage and archive footage shown over parts of songs. It also features the whole setlist which is very nice. I can only imaging what audience members who were unfamiliar with PG's work prior to the SO album must have thought when he broke into songs like The Family And The Fishing Net or Intruder. One question though, why almost edit out the electronic drum sounds out of The Family And The Fishing Net ? very strange. Anyway, this Blu ray looks lovely given the age of the footage and it sounds pretty sweet too. On top of this you get the rather nice support show from Youssou N'Dour too, and if this wasn't enough you also get PLAY, the dvd of promo video's. This has the error fixed that the standalone release had where the DTS soundtrack didn't play correctly on a lot of players. great value package really. 5 stars from me for turning what I thought was a fairly poor concert video (POV) into a stunning document of an important point in PG's career.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
This is a fantastic blu-ray that includes a suberb performance by Peter Gabriel. The only thing I can say is buy it. I am aware that some reviewers have complained because a DVD version of the same concert has come out not long ago, and assurances had been given that no blu-ray version was forthcoming (and instead here it is!). Most of these reviewers gave the present blu-ray one star. But, while I do not wish to dispute their point, the occasional customer should be re-assured that the one-star evaluation has noting to do with the concert as such: the sound and video quality are top-notch, as are the recorded performances.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Peter excels at putting images to his musical creativity when he's on stage. The audience remains enthralled from start to finish. Great camera work makes you feel part of the audience and part of the extraordinarily talented performers. This concert version of Biko is without equal, Peter telling his enraptured audience near the ending that "it's up to them where this goes" and leaves the stage while they sing on: what an inspired idea! What a risk! A risk that paid off, big time. Peter was a genius... and still is.
Youssou N'dour has an infectious voice and style that transcends language. You don't need to know the lyrics to appreciate his passion. Peter was inspired when he chose this talented man to work with.
Don't overlook the extra material on the concert DVD. I wanted this Athens concert to keep going... I wanted more. Getting all the Peter Gabriel videos is a massive bonus.
If you like Peter's work, get this. If you love true creative musical genius, get this. Enjoy the Peter Gabriel experience time and time again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I've followed Gabriel since he left Genesis and we once caught him as he pioneered 'crowd-surfing', falling backwards into the Bradford fans. So I'm old and totally biased.
Considering this gig is from 1987 the sound and picture are awesome. I've got the blu ray disc by the way. The menus are easy to navigate, the Senegalese warm-up band is astonishing but, let's face it, we want to hear Gabriel. He has his band: Manu Katche, Tony Levin and guitarist Rhodes, who are fun, choreographed (!) and so so accomplished. We get all the key songs from the albums up to that time, including Solisbury Hill, Sledgehammer, a tender Don't give up and San Jacinto. Biko at the end makes you weep.
But frankly, the performance of 'In your eyes', where he gets the Senegalese back on stage, is worth the purchase alone, for sheer vibrancy, joy and crowd ecstasy !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
Segments of this concert were originally released on a VHS called POV. Songs in the concert footage were separated by short video grabs of backstage and other scenes presumably shot by Peter on his handycam from his own Point of View (hence the title perhaps). Like most concerts that are shot on film, the VHS suffered from really poor vision quality, but nevertheless provided some fabulous insight into one of Gabriel's best concert performances.

This new version, is basically a remaster of all the film footage shot at that concert, which with the advent of HD screens and Bluray enables us to see for the first time the concert in brilliant vivid detail and with wonderful high fidelity sound. It is an exceptional performance from an exceptional performer. The Bluray disc also features the full concert from support act Yossou N'Dour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Mr. Gabriel started to show maturity. A mature performance still patched with some rebelliousness. Excellent performance. Brilliant performers. Manu is undoubtably the best drummer is ever played with, not to mention Levin's bass and Rhodes guitar. A must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)