Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2014
This really was an unexpected delight and is a well written book about a fascinating subject. The book is very balanced and the writer displays a real sense of empathy for both the German airship crews and those who had to shoot them down. A short book, it is one of those books that leaves you wanting much more as it really did engage with me and draw me into the subject. Although the book focuses on the L48, a so called height climber Zeppelin, it includes a concise yet full summary of the German airship campaign against England and a basic history of the Zeppelin. The book is human centred and it is quite uplifting that at the end the three survivors were treated humanely and the graves of the dead were treated with respect. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
A very interesting and thorough account of the exploits of one German zeppelin over the skies of England during the First World War.. The book has been particularly interesting to me as I was brought up during the inter-war year in a Suffolk village only a few miles from Theberton. I remember being taken to Theberton churchyard when I was a little boy to see the graves of the German airmen who had died when the zeppelin crashed. I believe that the remains of those airmen have now been "repatriated" ti a military cemetery in Germany
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Not just the story of L48, but an overview of Zeppelin operations and indeed of airship design and operation generally. Filled some gaps in my knowledge - especially how inaccurate their bombing was, and how difficult it was to navigate these beasts. Not to mention the very high loss rates. It does seem however that the crews were not overly concerned about civilian casualties, and paved the way for the indiscriminate bombing by the Gothas that followed. For a Kindle the photos and diagrams were quite good, but if I'd bought the hard-back I would have appreciated more detailed drawings of the command gondola, machine gun positions and locations, and engines. There was no mention of the one-man observation capsule that I've read about, which could be lowered from the ship through the clouds below to get a navigational "fix". Maybe it wasn't used operationally?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
a good and interesting book about the zeppelin raids over england during the first world war when it was discover that england could be attacked
from the air and civilians were able to be killed at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Couldnt put it down, it was well written and when I thought I was well read up on 'recent' history opened up info I was totally oblivious to. Went into detail about crews and the run up to the war in relation to the development of the airships.
The sort of book you would want never to end...good read all around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
A very interesting read, I was not aware of the amount of damage they had caused on the East coast. It was an eye opener to read of the actual costs of the air ships and the heavy loss of life manning them. VERY informative reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
This was a very good account of the First World War Zeppelin bombing raids and how vulnerable they were. It also provides a fascinating account of the problems faced in trying to make them an effective weapon of war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
This book popped up as a recommendation when I was looking at other WW1 books. As I work in Suffolk and am interested in military history, I thought it would be interesting and so it was. It is easy to read, although rather short, and tells the story well. I shall have to make a visit to the crash site, local church and Leiston Long Shop to see the remains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Straight forward account of the German
airship bombing campaign of WW1 _well written with much detail,a good read and recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Not read yet in storage,for a cold night. Excellent book,especially for people who live or are interested in history of East Anglia,a nice short book,and I have learnt a lot about the area,and graciousness,of the people who lived and served in the area at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)