Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2013
Some really interesting detail and personal accounts. Unfortunately the conversion into electronic format is not very good. Pictures are misaligned and often separated from their captions. Text either side of pictures does not always flow and appears out of order. All in all it makes reading this book a bit of a chore.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
A MUST FOR ANYONE INTRESTED IN THE PAL UNITS OF THE FIRST WORLD WAR. ALTHOUGH MY GREAT GRAND FATHER IS ONE OF THE SALFORD PALS KILLED ON THE SOMME, THIS BOOK GIVES AN EXCELLENT INSIGHT INTO WHAT THE LIVING CONDITIONS AND THE SOCIAL STRUCTURE OF THE TIMES WERE LIKE. THE MEN WERE HARD MEN DUE TO THE HARD TIMES THEY LIVED IN, THEY WERE ALSO LOYAL TO THERE MATES. THIS BOOK COULD BE ABOUT ANY INDUSTRIAL AREA OF THE TIME, AND AS SUCH IS AN IMPORTANT REFERENCE FOR ANYONE INTRESED IN SOCIAL HISTORY. A BRILLIANT BOOK WELL WORTH BUYING
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Really enjoyed this book, the statistics of the losses were so sad.
Was a book that had to be put down from time to time to contemplate the losses.
Enjoyed it as I know so many of the areas the soldiers came from. Will be reading about the Manchester pals next.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that I would have liked one or two more in depth personal profiles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
If you were brought up in the Salford area you may find this book more enlightening. On the whole a good read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Local history. gives a graphic account of conditions in the first world war and explains why so many men from one local area lost their lives. Friends regiments were not the best idea but then neither is war particularly when it is brutal as world war one. Fascinating to read and a lesson to ll of us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Although I have no personal link to the main characters in this history, I imagine the vast majority of Britons and commonwealth people have forebears who were involved in this futile conflict which ironically is now regarded as being in reality the first part of ww1and 2,because it wasn't finished until 1945.
Anyone like myself who had forebears who died or were injured in this conflict must wonder how on earth soldiers could put up with the horrors portrayed in this book. In particular, some of the photos show just how appalling were the conditions in which men fought and died.
All in all a brilliantly researched and written book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Fantastic insight into the Salford pals . The highs and the very lows. Brave as hell knowing they were walking into a storm of death
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
One of the most readable and well written unit histories I've seen. The Salford Pals experiences from inception to Wars end is fascinating and very revealing of the feelings and attitudes. We should not understate the courage and sacrifice of these men and the effect on Salford of the War and this book give a great and balanced insite into the World of 1914. All in all a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
For anyone interested in WWI and in particular the PALS battalions this is a very good book. It sets the scene of Slaford in the early years of the last century highlighting the social and economic conditions which were an important part of the rise of the Pals. The book draws on personal and War diarys to bring real detail to the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I found this book a very good read, although the events described were, of course, tragic. I did find that the detail of the Pals' recruitment and the happenings prior to moving to France was too lengthy and protracted, occupying as it did, 25% of the book. I skipped many pages until the regiments sailed for France.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)