Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
An excellent recount of the famous operation Chariot. This book is fairly detailed with maps, pictures, and excerpts of the survivors' accounts. Great read. Very touching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A daring and heroic enterprise costing a lot of lives. Well written highlighting the difficulties and sometimes lack of communications
which I suppose are unavoidable in a breathtaking operation. Difficult to stop reading until the final chapter which lacked detail about how most of the men returned to the U.K
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
What a great book from start to finish very brave men and an almost impossible mission to complete brave brave men
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Good well written informative book. I thought the last piece on tourist information was unnecessary as people reading this book in a few years time will find the info. out of date.
Something that did annoy me, and it is not just this Kindle book, there are lots out there with the following afterthought / carelessness. The photographs and prints etc are either almost unreadable and or to one side of the page. More care is needed by the printers of Kindle books. I find it very off putting and spoils my enjoyment of the Kindle. I am considering going back to reading paper books once more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I did find that this book started of slow but when it got in to the raid I enjoy it you do feel that when our military do something like this raid we do it well .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Haven't quite finished this book yet, about three quarters, but is a book so full of information and detail it is sometimes difficult to take it all in in one go, but thats because of the complexity of this operation, a quite outstanding narrative of skill and bravery. It would have been nice to have further diagrames and photos allowing you to further appreciate the complexety of this opperation but of course you can't see them very well on a Kindle. A very good read, and a tribute to those young men who undertook it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
This excellent publication, detailing the daring British commando raid on the French, Atlantic coastal port of St Nazaire , is the latest title in the superb Elite Forces Operations series of books from specialist military book publisher - Pen and Sword,

Mainland France had been under Nazi occupation for almost two years as the Spring of 1942 approached and as successive months passed, the enemy seized the opportunity to reinforce its foothold in the region further by building up its defences against a possible allied invasion.

St Nazaire's excellent location and unique, vast dry dock facility at the mouth of the Loire, afforded Germany's Kriegesmarine the opportunity to operate and maintain the largest of warships in it's fleet (including the infamous Tirpitz), whilst at the same time, being able to monitor and subsequently attack Allied shipping, carrying crucial cargoes of personnel and supplies, as it entered the Western Approaches from the Atlantic Ocean.

Under the code-name "Operation Chariot", the large-scale commando raid, aimed at destroying the port's famous Normandie Dock was launched. Making use of HMS Campbletown - a converted US Navy destroyer, loaded with high-explosive as a battering ram, their target was reached successfully at the dead of night. As the ship deliberately hit the dock, our elite forces, swarmed over the surrounding port area, destroying key installations and facilities, causing the maximum damage possible. The determined efforts of this group of exceptionally brave men (five of whom were subsequently to be awarded the coveted Victoria Cross) paid off and the mission was deemed - successful, however the cost was high, resulting in many of our troops being killed, wounded or captured.

This splendid book makes interesting reading and will therefore prove invaluable to anyone intending visiting the area, studying the operation or researching the war service history of a relative involved. It includes many excellent black and white photographs and maps, plus a superb colour section featuring the weapons and equipment used at the time. The detailed eye witness accounts and citations for the five Victoria Crosses awarded are especially interesting and as a result, I am sure the reader will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I have not read the book as it was a christmas present it was well recived.a a a a a
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Not at all clear -- admittedly a deeply chaotic operation and perhaps not helped by reading it on Kindle and unable to enlarge maps !

I think it lacked detail about the men involved in the operation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Any person interested in the history of WWII would find this a great book. It shows both the true heroism in dark days of British sailors and soldiers and also the moving inspiration of their civilian allies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)