Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
133
4.4 out of 5 stars
They Flew Hurricanes
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 8 November 2013
As others have pointed out, this story needed telling. There has been so much hype about the Spitfire, that that aircraft has tended to overshadow its more workmanlike partner. The combat reports and the putting of the Hurricane's role in the wider context of the war are all fascinating. So it is, all in all, a remarkable collection of accounts, but I did find that reading combat report after combat report became just a little wearing after a time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
I read a review which criticised this book for its extensive quoting, and this is true, but not having read any of those texts I found it informative. It does read a bit like an A -level essay, but I still found the content interesting. Not really for the Hurricane expert,perhaps, but for a WWII and Battle of Britain fan like myself, it's fine.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
A great read. The Hurricane, always looked upon as the poor relation to the Spitfire, was in many ways a better aeroplane & it's traditional build was invaluable during the early part of the war. The anecdotes by men who actually flew them bear out Sidney Camms genius.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2015
Interesting and nice to see the Hurricane, which was more successful than the Spitfire during the battle of Britain, being lauded for a change. I always thought that the Hurricane was sadly overlooked. Mind you the Germans seemed to think that any aircraft encountered over Britain was a Spitfire. This is an interesting and informative book that manages to stay away from being dusty or dry. Well worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I enjoyed the book more than I thought I would bearing in mind it's chronological and factual style. Why the Hurricane is such a celebrated British Icon of WW 2 soon becomes apparent as does the bravery and sheer guts of the pilots who few the aircraft. A recommended read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
This book gives a comprehensive overview of this now somewhat under regarded aeroplane, and gives much detail of all the fronts the Hurricane fought on - Arctic to desert,
jungle to Battle of Britain. Many quotes from contemporary accounts helps the pace along, and makes the book most readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2017
This book gives many first hand accounts of this incredible fighter, that in some ways was overshadowed by the Spitfire. The pilots give "matter of fact" descriptions of their exploits throughout.
Enjoyed every page!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
Mor factual that an individuals story nonetheless a good read for anyone interested in WW2 history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
A very good and detailed account of the wonderful flying capabilities of the Hurricane with pilot views and combat reports.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very good account of the Hurricane and its fliers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)