Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 February 2014
An excellent book all about the guys who flew these evocative aircraft. It is beautifully written and gives a fabulous insight into the daily lives of our brave fighter pilots. Well worth reading and we must all keep history alive through books like this to ensure that these guys are never be forgotten.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2013
Some interesting explanations of the role the Hurricane played throughout the 2nd world war. - not technical, not sensational, this book gives an overview of events by assembling in one place the reports and recollections of others who has some involvement with the Hurricane in the war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
I enjoyed reading this book to remind me of the various roles and exploits of the Hurricane in WW2. I particularly liked the anecdotes from the pilots about their experiences with the Hurricane in all the theatres in which it served. The different marks, engines and wing configurations were explained well, and also how well suited each mark was to the different roles assigned to it. Compared to the spitfire the Hurricane was a bit of an unglamorous unsung hero, which prided a stable gun platform and could absorb a lot of damage, but these statements were repeated again and again and got very repetitive. I also thought it might have been worth a chapter explaining why the Hurricane wasn't developed to over 20 marks like the spitfire, but in effect was developed into the typhoon and tempest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
Really opened my eyes to ' the other British' fighter of WW2. Unfortunately, I found the presentation a little uninspiring. Too many facts and figures of ' who did what' and when. It was like reading a railway timetable at times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2013
The book included lots of information on hurricanes, battles and airfields, that I was not aware of before reading this book. Excellent read for anyone interested in Second World War aeroplanes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2013
Mainly repetitive extracts from squadron diaries, no real insight into the men. Seventy years on, there is a need of more personal reflections/recollections before the protagonists are all gone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 February 2015
The Supermarine Spitfire was more glamorous, but the Battle of Britain wouldn't have been won without the workhorse that was the Hawker Hurricane. This book pays effective tribute to the plane and the men who flew it. There are plenty of tales to tell, as the aircraft was in service throughout the war, in almost every theatre and in a wide variety of roles. For example, the Hurricane proved an effective tank-buster in the Western Desert, its relatively thick wings allowing 40mm cannons to be fitted and used to great effect.

Recommended for all WWII aviation enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
An easy to read, fascinating and affectionate account of the extraordinarily tough and adaptable WW2 fighter's contribution to just about every theatre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
I as an old airman have always argued the odds for the hurricane, my brothers all go for the spit. They will be getting a copy of this book for Xmas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
a bit biased toward the Hurricane (from other books I have read about the aeroplane.) but a good mix of facts and stories
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)