Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
134
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2013
Not quiet as good as the original and somewhat lacking in a real plot in places.

However some of the "revenge" scenes brought several tears to the eye and not from laughter.

A bit of a predicatblel film really but enjoyable nontheless and was never going to achieve the "shock/horror" impact of the original
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Katie (Jemma Dallender) is a Midwestern farm girl who is in New York and desires to be a model. She does some free photography with some Russians and winds up abducted in Russia as a sex slave. If the title of the film has "spit" in it, we can rest assure it is a graphic gory rape/revenge film.

The film gives us some quick character buildup as Katie constructs a mouse trap from household items and then moves to the violent scenes. In the end she can readily go into and out off a berserker mode.

I loved Jemma Dallender from "Community" and it appears she will be stuck in the horror genre for awhile, which is great for us horror film lovers. She has conquered the American accent with ease, but did we really need the "You Betcha" line?

I liked this film more than the other films by this name, but be warned it is graphic in its rape and abuse.

DVD includes some lame deleted scenes.

Perv Guide: F-bomb, rape, nudity (Jemma Dallender + male frontal), urination, torture, sexual torture. 4 stars on the rape/revenge genre film scale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This film is more of a redo than a proper sequal. That being said i personally enjoyed this much more than the original remake because of better characterization and a slightly beefed up plot. Looks and sounds great on blu ray too! Overall a very enjoyable experience!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This film feels like a copy of the first film... some story line but with a few new tortures.. its ok but the first film is so much better! wouldnt recommend but would recommend the first installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 November 2013
Girl gets horrifically abused and left for dead. She comes back to exact revenge on her tormentors. It's basically the same story as `I Spit On Your Grave' (1) and about a hundred other similar revenge movies.

The girl certainly gets badly abused. You won't find it hard to sympathise with her plight and be rooting for her when it comes to her taking her (gruesome) revenge. If you like seeing innocent people hurt then there's plenty of that. If you like seeing innocent people killing nasty people in horrible ways then it has that, too.

But then so did the first one. And, if you've seen that, then you've basically seen this.

`I Spit On Your Grave 2' is what it is and nothing else. It's violent and nasty, but then you probably know that already. If that's what you're looking for, then look no further. If you're looking for something original then this isn't it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
THE MOVIE

The I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE Remake was one of the very rare examples of remakes actually being superior to the original. After horrible remakes of NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, FRIDAY THE 13TH and THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE and recently MANIAC I really had my doubts.
As it turned out I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE was a GREAT movie with a superb lead.
I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is even BETTER. Actress Jemma Dallender gives a striking performance (if not the best in any horror film up to date) and Hollywood actresses can learn a lot from her. She makes the most degrading scenes look real and not acted and by the time she gets her revenge the audience will doubtlessly be 200 % on her side. The transition from victim to avenger is more believable than in most movies of this kind. Sarah Butler's performance in the remake was fantastic, but Dallender's performance is even better, surely deserving an Academy Award for this.
I wouldn't consider I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 a real sequel - it merely shares the theme, but not even the characters are the same.
I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is grittier than the preceding movie and mainly plays in Bulgaria. Arguably there are some plot holes, as how to smuggle somebody from the US to Bulgaria, but since things like this do happen in real life, I found it easy to overlook some of these. The change of scenery sets it apart from ISOYG 1 and adds to her feeling helpless being in a foreign country. On a psychological leven ISOYG 2 works out very well, too, it is not an easy movie to sit through.
ISOYG 2 - like its predecessor - is not a movie for the mainstream consumer. It contains extreme scenes of violence, gore, sexual violence, rape and degrading scenes. It takes the violence to a new level, making the SAW and HOSTEL franchises look like rather harmless kiddie movies by comparison (which they actually were NOT). Needless to say it surpasses the level of violence of ISOYG 1, the SFX are very well done and realistic.
Steven R. Monroe (who also directed the I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE remake) once again did a fantastic job behind the camera. The movie is well-paced and throughout the 106 mins. runtime there is not a boring second.
Many sequels - especially sequels of remakes - are lame and tend to disappoint, this is certeinly not the case here. I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is probably one of the best horror movies ever made and definitely my personal favorite.

RATING: 12 / 10 (yes it really is that good!)

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2013 Starz/Anchor Bay US Blu-ray
Feature running time: 106 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 CUT (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish
Chapters: 12
Extras: Deleted Scenes
Region: A (LOCKED) - Australian Blu-ray is region B and completely uncut as well.

Picture quality: A sharp, flawless image
Audio quality: A great, flawless audio
Extras: Deleted scenes. Rather poor for a blu-ray in this day and age.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Aspiring model, Jemma Dallander, is beaten up and raped. then is held captive by some nasty types and raped some more. Until, finally she gets to kill a bunch people.

Euro sequel to the remake of I Spit on Your Grave. It's all very serious and grim and stuff and marginally better than the first remake. The main problem is that the lead character is not interesting and nor is anyone else so it's all a bit lifeless. Just a typically flat, unengaging straight to dvd job, really. Reminded me of films like The Hunters or the kind of thing Danny Dyer does to earn a crust.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This film was a let down for me as I really enjoyed the 2010 remake and was expecting the intensity to be the at the same level, but this was lame. I fail to see how those cut 6 minutes could make this any better either, so I have no desire to purchase the US uncut version as the story to this was boring and this film seems like one of those low budget remakes. The lead actress I found irritating and didn't have the same spark as the woman in the 2010 film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I am a fan of the original 1978 I Spit on Your Grave. I, personally, do not see it as an exploitation film and while I don't think I can necessarily extend that to this film I do think that it at least manages to convey the emotional aspect of the story better than the 2010 remake.
My issue with the 2010 remake was that Jennifer, when she was exacting her revenge, didn't seem like a normal woman who just got brutalised in the worst possible way. To me it felt more like the guys who did that to her just had the misfortune of pissing off a serial killer. In this though Katie's rage felt all too human.
I also preferred how she remained the focus of the film; you see her steps to recovery and her vengeance feels like it just happens to be one of those necessary steps (like it did in the original). In the 2010 version they didn't show her steps to recovery which I felt detracted from the film.
It is brutal. It is- if you use the term- 'torture porn' but you know what? I don't care. When Katie takes her revenge you feel her anger and if feeling satisfaction at the death of rapists and attempted murderers is wrong then so be it. Does it glorify vigilatiism? Yes, but it's a revenge film- that's to be expected. I never felt that emotional investment in the 2010 film and the emotional investment is what really matters in a rape/revenge film. This does it and quite honestly I think that that is the best thing you can say about a film of this genre.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Sequels rarely match the original (or in this instance original remake) and this is no exception. If you're hoping for any of the half-decent wait and bait of the first you won't find it here. This is a protracted torture vehicle and the screeching Jemma Dallender does her best but an hour and ten in before her first offing leaves little time or imagination for her vengeance before the credits (so to speak) roll. Fortunately, I didn't buy it, but even so feel cheated. Don't waste time or money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse