Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
JavaScript In Easy Steps
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£8.97


on 10 October 2017
Clear and concise but not enough in-depth explanations for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
It is well laid out, in colours which comes very handy with code, and short pieces of codes are used, which makes it quite easy to follow through.
However, this book has some drawbacks for which I cannot recommend it to a beginner:
- it takes too many things for granted
- examples are shown, the expected result is also shown, but there is no explanation of what they are trying to accomplish (e.g. local variables vs global variables)
- often there is no explanation of which are user defined classes vs built-in classes when they are used in examples
- no explanation given in relation to events used to populate windows with text (what is the sequence of events in a typical page load?)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
This guy really knows how to write books for programming in a clear manner. Get quick results and awesome websites using this book. I am a developer of over 20 years and I use this series as quick reference guides on my desktop
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
It's OK, but not great.
What is GOOD:
The layout is nice and short and concise, no huge paragraphs of text, and the code examples are short enough get your head around them.
The tips, and notes in the side bar are useful, and the step by step approach is short and simple.

However, what let this book down....
The instructions in each step are just commands that instruct you to "Do this,... then do that...".
They are lacking any explanation as to what 'this' & 'that' actually do, and any explanation of how the syntax must be constructed.

A little more "teaching" would have made all the difference.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
The good thing about this book is that it gets you writing programs quickly, i.e every two pages you write a new little program, the left side is the theory, the right side is the code required for the program. A problem with this book is that in the code required for each little program part (the right hand side of each double page), the book gives some explanation, but explanation is too short and therefore you can struggle to understand exactly what's going on in the example programs. This book could be improved in the next edition by including more explanation about the code in the programs, even if it made the book a third longer or even twice as long, it would be much better. I found another book with more detailed explanation and progressed much faster iwth that one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Helped a lot when I was learning how to program in Javascript. Good as a starter book with easy to follow directions
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Not a bad little book. It did take a little bit of googling at first to find out why my programs weren't working. I was reading the code wrong! Doh. But once I got into it and downloaded an IDE. Things went more smoothly. A good start for any prospective Jscripter!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
I have used a few coding manuals but this is the worst I have come across. the author explains very little and gives very few worked examples.Not a book to start JavaScript from scratch. Should have been written by someone more used to teaching or instructing than just coding. A very disappointing buy. I used an online guide to JavaScript and very quickly got the hang of the language. This book is off to the charity shop.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
I'm studying for a FdSc in computing and I needed to know a little about JavaScript and this was really helpful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Easy to read and understand, bought others in this 'series'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)