Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
143
Rick Stein's India [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 December 2016
Enjoyed this a lot. Not quite as good as his DVD on Spain, in my opinion, but after watching this I splashed out on a couple more of his products. Must say, I thought the Dalai Lama came across as a bit of a fruitcake in the interview he did with him. I'm not sure what, if anything, that brief segment added to the program, but on the whole another great watch for a slow start to a Sunday morning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
Another fantastic series from Rick Stein, I have the book as well and it compliments the series, what you see on screen and what he relates to when talking about his experience in the book are sometimes very interesting.
The DVD is great to watch and compliments the two others I have previously bought, his Mediterranean Escapes and Seafood Odyssey; just great to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon, all of which I'll watch again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2015
I don't like spices - and therefore curry - and I also don't eat savoury rice, so this set of programmes might seem to be the last thing I would watch.

Wrong!

The photography is superb, the people and places are gorgeous, Rick provides a hugely informative description of the whole experience of travelling through India.

This is a series I know I will watch over and over. Well recommended - even more so, I imagine, if you like to eat the food.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2013
There hasn't been a bad Rick Stein dvd yet! In fact I wish they would put some of the older series on dvd! Anyway having been to India the dvd evoked memories and I had to go out and buy the book and have cooked from the recipes since! The dvd is great, Rick takes us through his journey in his usual way making us want more! Well filmed as usual, always nice to see Rick in a sweat and of course making a few blunders. Great entertainment, great food, buy the book and start cooking great Indian food!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 July 2013
This is a charming and gently informative six-part celebration of Indian food, presented in Rick Stein's usual affable and entertaining style.
If you've seen any of his previous series then you know exactly what you're getting: a tour of India which takes in all aspects of grassroots and traditional cookery - majoring on the people who prepare the food, as well as the fresh ingredients; where they come from, how they're grown, and how all of these influences have an active interplay with social history.
Don't expect exact recipes which you can follow step by step. Each programme does include several segments (three or four) of Rick cooking dishes in a fabulous lakeside bungalow, based around the meals, meats and methods he's discovered in each region. These are really useful demonstrations - I picked up a trick about swilling ground spices in warm water before adding them to hot oil, for instance - and occasionally quite comic, like when the ginger / garlic grinder kinda explodes and showers poor Rick with hot (if fragrant) masala! But if you want actual amounts, list of ingredients, cooking times and so on, then you'd best buy the companion book.

The TV episodes aim to represent the flavours of the Indian subcontinent - and when you watch several of them it really does become obvious that different ingredients are used in different areas, or combined in subtle ways to make dishes which sound the same - but obviously taste totally different.
Rick goes out of his way to try eating at small cafes and restaurants, even when he's obviously a little uncomfortable with the surroundings. You have to applaud his determination throughout the series to learn to eat rice with his fingers, in a country where cutlery is rare and where the plate is often a banana leaf.
Each episode includes a guest chef or cookery expert who acts as a guide to local delicacies, and behind-the-scenes segments where Rick snoops in the kitchen while a dish is being made. Hot oil flares on open fires: heaped handfuls of garam masala, chilli and cumin get thrown into the mix, and he scribbles it down in his notebook while the Indian chefs deftly throw or blend the bread speciality of the region. It's almost as if you can smell the spices...

There are some times where words fail our presenter and he literally can't quite describe what he's tasting. There are also other moments where he delights in tucking in to what looks like utterly inedible fishy things, and the occasional awkward pauses where communication between Rick and his guest stalls, as he stumbles to find something suitable to say about the flavour of the food they've spent all day preparing for him.
But in many ways that's the charm of this series: it's not wildly glamorous. There's no sweeping helicopter shots or romantic moments with Rick looking windswept on a mountain top. As with the very best factual TV, the series is more about the subject then the presenter. Sure, he's Rick Stein. But his enthusiasm for the feed and the cookery is what drives each episode and what makes it so watchable.
The Indian-based soundtrack is excellent, also. Not too loud so it never competes with the dialogue, but very atmospheric.
9/10
22 Comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Purchased as part of a present which I knew would be appreciated as the recipient had very much enjoyed the television programme. An ideal gift for someone who is either a keen cook or is fascinated with the colour and bustle of India. There are times when you almost imagine you can smell the spices cooking. This DVD is not only about finding the best Indian food but shows you the traditions and way of life in the various areas that Rick Stein visits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
Fantastic series, we avidly watched every episode, and then re-watched. It blew away my preconceptions of what Indian food is, and opened my eyes to an entirely new genre of food. Also bought the book to try the recipes. However, it's not just about food, Rick goes into the culture and history, making this a true adventure.

Now planning our holiday to Kerala.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
I have all of Rick Stein's DVDs and books. He had the best cookery shows, because they are not about just cooking. They introduce different cultures, peoples, and histories, the backstories on food and its preparations. He is so enthusiastic, so childlike in his discoveries, so open, inclusive, accessible that he can't help but win over people he encounters. He is not about fine dining but rather about discovering the real food that local people prepare and eat. He is not afraid to try anything on the street, in a village, on a boat, in search of food that is simple, down to earth, authentic. You can trust him to introduce you the the authentic culture and food of India, and before that Spain, the Far East, France, Italy, the Mediterranean. He is simply the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2014
If you like Rick Stein, India & all things Indian, you will love this DVD set.
I watched the TV series & enjoyed it so much I bought this & watched
it all over again. Full of great tips for those who enjoy making their own
curries taste even more like those you get in your local restaurant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2014
For those who love curries, this double disc DVD shows how some of the best and authentic Indian food is made. Rick Stein's presentation keeps you interested as he covers so much of India during his three months of filming. All six episodes are enjoyable and give you some very useful suggestions on how to cook some great curries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)