Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2013
I Invested in this awesome double LP which also comes with the cd, so you can put it on your ipod or play it in the car. The artwork of the LP is excellent with a kind of worn, 'beat up' effect like an old Maiden or Priest record that's been kicking around for thirty years.
Every song on the album is filled with energy, passion, crunching riffs and Newsted's excellent gravel-voiced vocals. Everything convinces; Jason and his new band really mean business.
Whilst heavy and aggressive, there is a lot of positivity on the album. I can't recommend it highly enough. Along with Phil Anselmo's new record, this is one of the highlights of heavy music for some years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Im a massive fan of Jason Newsted, ever since his debut back in 1986 with Flotsam & Jetsam. That bass playing on their debut album was stellar, very similar to Steve Harris in sound although JN plays with a pick mostly as opposed to Harris' finger plucking style. We all know that Metallica to their detriment never made the full use of the man's talent and he was forced to jump ship (and no doubt lose a lot of cash) in order to fulfil his aspirations musically.

After intriguing spells with Echobrain & Voivod, this all lead to his latest offering; not so much a solo project as a band bearing his metal vision to the max.

The album is mostly mid to fast tempo heavy metal as the title really gives away. There's nothing fancy here but perhaps this is its strength; heavy & uncompromising but free of the excesses of much of the modern metal scene. Jason doesn't go for Dickinson or Halford highs, more of a Lemmy/Hetfield hoarse, aggressive voice and the bass playing is powerful in a Geezer Butler/Lemmy (again) kind of way - nothing overly technical but powerful & driving and up high in the mix. Soldierhead is perhaps a prime example.

I cant give it 5 stars as one or two tracks are filler standard and I also think the drumming and guitar work, although solid, could be a little more exciting. It does feel a little bit safe at times.

Still Jasonic himself gives it his all, the production is sound and there are enough good songs to give this a 4 star rating.

I would certainly like to hear more from the band!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Got to hand it to Newsted, this is metal. You can hear his bass in the music as well (Unlike most of the Metallica recordings where they seemed to turn it right down to almost non-existence!) Good riffs, cheesy lyrics but ultimately it does what is says on the tin. Suspend the need for faster or heavier or blacker or more shock...enjoy this metal first offering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
When I first heard that Jason Newsted was releasing solo material, I was apprehensive, half expecting disappointing material that sold because Jason used to be Metallica's bass player.

How wrong I was.

I initially bought the 'Metal' EP which contains 4 tracks in total, 2 of which appear on the 'Heavy Metal Music' album and left me waiting for the album to be released...

I'm so glad I bought it, there isn't a weak track on the album. There's pounding beats, heavy riffs, great solo's, complimented by Jason's gravelly vocals. What more could you want in a heavy metal album?

Probably 2013's best metal release, this has become one of my most played albums.

If you like heavy metal music, then buy 'Heavy Metal Music'. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Its quite fitting that the previous release was called 'Metal' and this release is called 'Heavy Metal Music'.
I say this because 2 tracks from the previous E.P are present on this album, Soliderhead & King Of The Underdogs and they have gone through a remixing process to give them the backing dirt effect that puts the Heavy in Metal, thus taking them from Metal to Heavy Metal Music, Louder and more dirty and above all else Heavy.

Considering Jason was a former Metallica star (and in my eyes still is) this album sounds completely different to anything Metallica has ever released, The Black Album comes closest to the Album but is still very far away. The only thing that sounds similar to the Metallica sound is of course Jasons voice, its quite pleasing to hear that Jasons vocals have not suffered since 1999s S&M, its only become slightly more brutal which is perfect being backed by the sound of the rest of the album.

Jasons seen as one of the Godfathers of Metal and he's produced an album along side Jesus Mendez JR., Mike Mushok and Jessie Farnsworth which clearly proves this fact. I personally find that this albums key is the shear amount of memorable riffs, both bass and guitar wise, Ampossible, Long Time Dead and Kindevillusion hold some of the most impressive riffs i've heard in a long time, it just goes to show that Metal is still going strong in the world of music and not everything has been done yet.

Overall this album should belong on every Metalheads shelf whether they be a fan of Metallica or despise them. Jason Newsted has hit the world hard and am hoping that his next release comes out just as good as Heavy Metal Music, because he's not just set the bar high for Metallica but he's set it high for himself too, if he can better this album then he is truly the King.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This is Jason Newsted's band, formerly of Metallica, Flotsam & Jetsom, Voivod, and Echobrain. It is heavy metal just as the title says, nothing new or fancy, just metal, but it's bloody good! Don't take notice of the negative reviews, it's a good solid metal album that thrashes out occasionally, you can hear a bit of Slayer and Metallica in there now & again, but it's mostly straight down the line heavy metal, and that's fine by me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
What an instantly enjoyable album. Jason does a fine job vocals. It reminds me of quite a few bands...Sodom/voivod/almighty. It sounds fresh and exciting but gives a nod to the old. And best of all, this album was done for fun and there is not one ounce of pretentiousness about it. Best thing ive heard this year!! Also, i bought it on vinyl and it comes with a free cd version of the album. Once again, great work Mr Newsted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Well you get exactly what the title says, there's nothing new here, but what you do get is a growling, grinding, crunching heavy metal glacier. Jason's singing reminds me(not sounds like) of Lemmy or Max C. there's no vocal gymnastics just gravel. Long Time Dead will give you a good feel for what you're going to get. This is a late night post pub soundtrack before one for the road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Have heard a lot of Jason work from the early days of F&J and Metallica but this album showed a different side to him as he can also sing.
It also shows how different Metallica could have been if he had been given more of a chance to contribute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Loved the E.P. and was excited about the full album. Wasn't let down. Great riffs, more Voi Vod than Metallica. You have to wonder why he wasn't given more writing duties in Metallica. Would have been 5, but I reckon there's better to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)