Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
5 Albums Box Set
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 October 2017
Hit the North
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
Great release! Ties up the hard to find Hit The North mixes and finally gives a much needed (and very good!) remastered version of both Frenz and Oranj. The previous versions of these albums on CD were awful!

Whoever compiled this set really knew their Fall!

Amazing box set!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2015
All this for less than 12 quid! Worth it for 'Frenz' and I am Curious Onranj alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Keeping this brief as I have only just got this, and it deserves a ***** star rating now.

What more could you want?

The Beggars remaining albums - minus Bend Sinister, for now - in a neat box.

Well mastered, this time...the original CDs were best avoided as the vinyls sounded better.

Beggars, with the Wonderful and Frightening World of The Fall and This Nation's Saving Grace box sets - and now this new one, have finally delivered.

True, there were carps from some (yes, me) about the lack of live tracks / shows when this release programme first started, but they've done their best within budgets to get these to the market in a viable form.

You have here the vast majority of The Fall's recorded work from 1987-1989, including rare and unreleased tracks, different mixes from vinyl. The odd track given away on scattered compilations / music magazine freebie EPs from back in the day may have been skipped but licensing or lack of availability of masters may have scuppered them, and by and large the essential stuff is here.

At thirteen pounds or so no-one can rightfully complain about the price, and the 'missing' items I allude to circulate amongst fans or can be picked up largely for a couple of pounds or so on a well known auction website.

Don't miss out...even if you own the vinyls, at this price, this compact set (5 CD's in less than the space of one of the old 'fat case' double CD's) is a treat.

If anyone from Beggars or who has any sway with them is reading, I did notice this comment online - "Spin This Web beggars Adult Net album that got canned" about the lost Adult Net sessions...well having heard the original Spin This Web (on one of the music paper EP's of the time), I for one would love to hear that. Also I've heard rumours that Beggars *might* be planning 5.1 / DVD Audio releases of some of their catalogue...while some may laugh at the suggestion of any Fall in '5.1' I think some of the Beggars Fall material - much of which had high production values - would be ideally suited to such treatment.

In the meantime, get this box, and enjoy!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
Three out of the five are worth having but two are throwaways ie the live cd and the hit the north cd but i suppose still good value. not the best of the fall but half decent stuff, always a few nuggets to be discovered.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2013
The best days of this seminal band that I love so much. I think could include Bend Sinister in this collection, but all the records are amazing and I am enjoying it a lot!!! Recommend to all The Fall Fans!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
Good price and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2015
Great box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2015
Great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)